We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bears Went Over The Mountain

2 Church Street, Geeveston, Tasmania 7116, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bears Went Over The Mountain
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    6
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
350 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

This B & B has three rooms. The two that were allocated to us were quite small but both had en suites, which once again were rather small. Upon arrival our rooms were warm as was the welcome from our host. Included in the $120 per room tariff was a continental breakfast which was adequate, without being anything special (limited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
leanne m, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback. We were sorry to see room size did not meet your expectations, the rooms each have a private ensuite and are similar if not larger than the average hotel room. We think they are quite comfortable and were sorry to read of your disappointment. WiFi is available in all areas of... More 

Greater Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Booked a romantic weekend (Easter Sunday) for wife and I. I became very ill and was required to proceed straight to hospital. Called in to inform owner knowing full well no refund would be forthcoming, only to inform them of my situation and they may then be able to re rent room. gave them our paid up paperwork at that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Made to feel very much at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Bit of a different set up which meant the women in the party could shop whilst the men had a glass of wine! Rooms were comfortable, showers hot and good continental breakfast. Ross was very knowledgeable about the area and gave good advice on where to visit. Well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
leanne m, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and for the feedback, it is most appreciated. More 

rotherham,england
Level Contributor
112 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Due to family problems Ross had to look after us while doing his normal daytime job,and a grand fist he made of it.His father-in-law let us in and showed us to our room and explained about the teddy bears.We were just about to have a sandwich when Ross came home and said hello,and after telling about the crash we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
leanne m, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind feedback. More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Good base from which to do the Tahune Airwalks from. We dined at the Kermandie pub 5 kms or so for dinner as meals weren't available at that time at the B & B. The rooms were very nicely decorated & bathrooms equally so. I am not normally too keen on B & B's as I am 60 & prefer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

This was my first B&B experience and I loved it. Great hostess - Leanne - who was friendly, informative and welcoming. The room was cosy, clean and private with a pleasant sitting area on a covered verandah. So much potential here and looks like the right people are working toward making it a successful little business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We have just spent 3 nights at 'The Bears' in Geeveston in the family room (Steiff). We would highly recommend it to others. Our room was immaculately neat and clean, the beds comfortable and Leanne and Ross were excellent hosts; going out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, and to help us when one of our children was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We chose Geeveston in order to access the Hartz Mountain National Park, which has some stunning walks. We stayed in the Chiltern Suite at the Bears...as with many old homesteads the natural lighting was low in the room, however the modern bathroom was well lit, spacious and pristine. The room was cosy but fine for our purposes, I suspect the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We loved "the Bear" and highly recommend staying and dining. Our room was cosy and warm, the bed was divine and the spa bubbled beautifully. Great location - artisans, craftsmen, op-shop aiding Cambodia and platypus watching in strolling distance. We had a delicious Tassie produce and wine driven dinner, ready at a tap on our door, provided with expertise and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diamond Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stopped in at the cafe for lunch today and had the tastiest home cooked food we have had in a long time. Great hearty servings of locally produced foods at a reasonable price. A great addition to Geeveston, friendly owners. I wish them well in their new business. We will be back again for a feed and will recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geeveston
0.2 mi away
Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast
13.1 mi away
Huon Bush Retreats
Huon Bush Retreats
#2 of 5 in Huonville
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Port Huon Cottages
The Port Huon Cottages
#1 of 1 in Port Huon
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Donalea Bed & Breakfast
Donalea Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Castle Forbes Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
11.6 mi away
Smugglers Rest
Smugglers Rest
#1 of 1 in Dover
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
10.6 mi away
Walton House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay