We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3718 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Cradle Mountain Hotel to your Saves list
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Brenda F Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (349)
  • Photos (95)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (88)
  • More
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    137
    83
    34
    24
See reviews for
43
209
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Waking up to a beautiful snowy vista was magic for my grandchildren and we would have loved to stay a 3rd night, but unfortunatly they were booked solid so we could not extend our stay. Reception was friendly, housekeepingwas most obliging when we needed extra towels for the children and along with that came extra soap, shampoo,biscuits and hot chocolate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Once again we visited this wonderful venue for a winter Xmas. Bitterly cold outside about five degrees when we arrived but blazing log fires inside. The staff are all so helpful and never lose their patience in spite of being rushed off their feet with something like 140 guests to feed and keep happy. We particularly like the lounges where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We truly value our returning customers, and so I am very glad to hear that our staff were able to assist in making your stay an enjoyable one. We'd be more than delighted to welcome you back if (or... More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for my 4th wedding anniversary. The location here is great, it's about a 5 minute drive from the entrance to the national park, and only a two minute drive to the visitor centre at cradle mountain if you want to catch the shuttle bus down to Dove Lake. The hotel has a few common area's situated throughout the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and in particular that you were pleased with the service delivery of our staff. I'll pass your kind comments on to the team. We'd be delighted to welcome you back to Cradle Mountain Hotel if you ever decide to... More

Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really nicely laid out hotel. There is an awesome and huge gallery of wilderness photography that is a must see. The food options were good in Quolls and the pizza from the bar. We were lucky enough to wake up to a thick blanket of snow on our second morning. Sice to have a view of wilderness outside every room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and am pleased that you were able to experience Cradle Mountain in the snow! We will definitely take on board your comments regarding the speed of our wifi. If you ever return to the area, we'd be delighted... More

Taree, Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying somewhere else and had forgotten to bring along anything for an evening drink in the room. The big 4 caravan park will not sell any of its bottle shop wine or beer to people not staying there. So they directed us to Cradle Mountain Hotel. The staff were very friendly and we bought beer and wine to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of our property. I'm glad to hear that we were able to assist you on this occasion, and that you were pleased with the service delivery of our staff. Kind regards, Greg Astell GM Cradle Mountain Hotel More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 1 night. Upon check in we were greeted by a lovely lady who was friendly & very professional. The room was pretty out dated but VERY clean. We had dinner in the bar and the food and beer selection was great. The staff in the bar were really unprofessional. One staff member was complaining about a payroll... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your visit to Cradle Mountain Hotel. I’m delighted to hear that you were pleased with the cleanliness of our Hotel, and that you enjoyed our food selection and were well looked after by our passionate staff. However I do apologise that some aspects of your experience were not up... More

Launceston, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic place to stay, warm and cosy. Food was good and wine was great. Rooms were fine but gather we were down the kids ends of the hotel. 6am wake up was not great as the rooms have paper thin walls and gathering wooden floors which makes it very noisy when you can hear kids in the adjoining rooms jumping... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel. I'm glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay, and will pass on your compliments to the food & beverage team. I do apologise that some aspects of your stay were less enjoyable. I'll definitely take on board your comments regarding the sound proofing issues you encountered,... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and hubby stayed here for 3 nights for our first year anniversary. It was beautiful, hotel set in the bush, just a very short drive to the Cradle Mountain walks. We had dinner here all of the nights as there isn't anywhere else, it was fantastic each time. The open fires were always going so we were always warm.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and will certainly pass on your compliments to the chef! Kind regards, Greg Astell GM Cradle Mountain Hotel More

Hunter Valley, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really nice accommodation and very warm and cosy with the fires going, however we were not notified that the restaurant was closed for renovations and as a result we found ourselves travelling up the road to Peppers for meals as their temporary CAFE at the visitors centre was sub standard. The hotel itself though was lovely just could have had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property, I’m glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We do apologise for the inconvenience caused by our current renovations; we have identified areas within the restaurant that required urgent upgrading, and unfortunately that lead to the temporary closure of the restaurant while renovations were completed. We understand the inconvenience... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely spot to stay although the lack of notice of the restaurant not being available for meals or energy from management to create a satisfactory alternative apart from the cafe up the road after we confirmed our booking was disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us at Cradle Mountain Hotel. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused during our recent renovations, we identified areas within the restaurant that required urgent upgrading, and unfortunately that resulted in the temporary closure of our restaurant. We understand the inconvenience this has caused our... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cradle Mountain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Address: 3718 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Pure Tasmania's Cradle Mountain Chateau sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with a soothing massage and outdoor hot tub at Calm Day Spa; and enjoy hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Chateau is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer