We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Holiday Parks Cradle Mountain

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Special Offer
Journey of Discovery
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Holiday Parks Cradle Mountain
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    107
    51
    13
    8
See reviews for
66
79
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (224)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
sydney
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had booked 2 campervan sites for 2 nights stay during July 2015. One of the draw cards that is highlighted on the website is the amazing Camp Kitchen. As we were staying for 2 nights in the middle of winter, this seemed like the perfect place to stay, as the camp kitchen looked most inviting with the fire etc,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Please contact us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au so we can discuss this personally with you. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We stayed in a 'family bunkhouse' which had barely enough room for the double/queen? bed and bunks, and hardly anywhere to put down our luggage, and nowhere other than the beds to sit on. As we were only staying the one night we decided to make do. There is a large kitchen/dining area at one end of the bunk house,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Thanks for coming to stay and sharing your review! More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
163 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Cradle Mountain isn't cheap but the cabins here are very comfortable for those who don't like camping but want to experience the wild. Great hiking trails nearby! Stock up on food before you come here, then cook your own meals in the camp kitchen. Stay was actually March 2014, I forgot to post here although I posted on my blog.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review! More 

Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

The cabin we stayed in had a terrible smell almost like dead fish or urine and was very run down. considering we were charge $184.00 a night is was very shabby and not worth it. Cradle Mountain Hotel charges $170 a night and this includes a buffet breakfast ?????? Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. If you would like to discuss your concerns further in person please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Compared with the other alternatives up on the mountain, this is a good choice in terms of value. Even though the cabins may be basic, the heaters, showers, and kitchenette, were sufficient for our needs. There's a basic convenience store at the entrance, but best to bring your own supplies if you are cost conscious. Our breath was taken away... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015 via mobile

Comfortable and cosy cabin though a little rustic with the interior and kitchen amenities. Staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. Saw lots of animals, snow fell one night and walk around Dove Lake fabulous. Would happily visit this place again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review and photos Vicki! More 

Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

We were arrived the site around 17:45, office closed at 17:30, at the time there was another vehicle driving in. We called the house phone, 5 mins later the senior lady rep came over to the front door with rude attitude said: you were late, you don't have any choices, and she only let one of us to get into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Hi Angela, Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and felt that you were not treated fairly. Please contact us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au so we can look into this further for you. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

The cottage was well maintained, facilities such as heater, TV, shower were all in good condition. We cooked some of our meals as the kitchen utensils were clean and sufficient. It was nice that there was this good travel book in the cottage, which has nice photos of the area. Overall we enjoyed our 2 nights stay here, will definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Bernard! See you next time! More 

Gloucester, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Sites here are just soooo different. ..natural vegetation surrounds each site...birds, paddymelons (small wallaby like mammals) wander around. ..can't really see your neighbours. Amenities amazing. ..large & spacious. Short walk to Cradle Mtn visitor centre where you can catch the shuttle bus to explore the park.(Park pass is required to gain entry to Nat Park) There is a small shop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review! More 

Narre Warren, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We were sharing a Cabin with another couple and this cabin was very suitable. It had two bedrooms both with a double bed. It was lovely and warm with cooking facilities and plenty of room. A possum came up to our door which was nice and the lakes are only a short drive away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Sandi! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
0.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
39.8 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
41.1 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#5 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
3.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay