We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake St Clair Lodge

4.0 of 5 Lyell Highway, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake St Clair Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lake St Clair Lodge
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    41
    27
    35
    50
See reviews for
31
101
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (210)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (95)
All months
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here rather camp another night after walking the Overland track in a cabin by the lake. Although the bed was huge the pillows were like boulders from Cradle Mountain, I had to resort to sleeping on a rolled up towel to finally drift off to sleep. As noted in other reviews there was no information on how to use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The poor reviews we read about the lodge made us very nervous that we would have a bad experience but we had excellent accommodation and service. The cabin did not have cooking facilities but the camp kitchen was clean and fully equipped so that was not an issue seeing we knew to bring food with us. Everyone went out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tasmania
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sadly our recent stay at Lake St Clair Lodge ruined our first and more than likely last experience of Lake St Clair. My Husband and I had only been in the room (which was reasonably nice) for around 30 mins when I noticed a few dirty marks on the wall behind the bed, on closer inspection it was bodily fluid.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Over promise and under delivery. Definitely not worth money and breakfast quality/presentation would not be acceptable from 3rd rate truck stop. Vacuum being used during breakfast. Slow meal delivery and others in dining area not happy either. Great location- cabin pillow cases so tight the cases made pillows like drums. Our other stays in Tassie were very good to great-... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we visited this lodge during our trip from devonport to hobart during january. Derwent Bridge is no doubt a natural and beautiful place but when me and my mates decided to have a coffee early morning at this cafe we were completely shocked by the service. This service staff with a name badge Reza was so unprofessional. we wanted to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a two bedroom cabin which is actually two interconnecting cabins. Both are self contained supposedly but actually only one is fully equipped. I imagine if they are let seperately they would kit out the other one properly. Our rooms were excellent in almost every way and we were very comfortable. One problem was the television. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review

It was good to hear that your room was comfortable and you enjoyed the facilities. I understand that the salmon ordered was at first cooked to the usual standard which is slightly pink, but when we were asked to cook the fish further, it resulted in a piece of salmon that in our opinion had been requested but was overcooked.... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the house properties & were blown away with the set out & finish. Sadly only one night but we had forward bookings, otherwise we would have stayed longer. Very clean & the beds are amazingly comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent as well. Could not recommend more highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and everything was to your satisfaction. Feel free to ask reception for some sightseeing tips if you stay again. All our staff are passionate about the area in which we live and work so can help you with any questions about great things to do and see whilst visiting. I'm... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been to this most beautiful place many times over the years and could not wait to return this trip. What greeted us was so disappointing and nothing like we remembered. Firstly the lake has been completely built out with cabins where only those with money can afford to stay. It used to be sooo beautiful to see the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review

We understand that you have stayed at Lake St Clair Tourist Park, as opposed to Lake St Clair Lodge. We apologise that Lake St Clair Tourist Park didn't meet your expectations. It was a condition of lease from the government that a development be implemented on a pre-approved footprint (i.e. approved prior to the incumbent owners). We do not agree... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family of four stayed in a lakeside wilderness bungalow for three nights in the post Christmas (2014) period. The bungalow consisted of two interconnecting bungalows each with a bedroom and bathroom and a full kitchen and dining room. The bungalows were serviced to a very high standard daily and were clean, comfortable and luxurious. The bungalow was set in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review

I'm pleased to read that we were able to play a part in making your holiday an enjoyable one. Thank you for recognising the quality of service provided by our housekeeping staff lead by Danny. We truly appreciate this feedback and he is delighted to have been able to be of service to you on your recent visit. We have... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only been to Lake St Clair once before on a short 2 hour visit so only visited the café/info area and did a short walk. Stayed in one of the new cabins, which was beautifully presented and fine for a one or two night stay. If staying longer and using as a base I think the cabins would need to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review

We were pleased to hear that you chose to return to this unique and beautiful part of the world. We are also glad that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay that met your expectations. I understand that you stayed in a wilderness guestroom, should you choose to stay for longer periods there are several types of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Lake St Clair Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake St Clair Lodge

Address: Lyell Highway, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake St Clair Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lake St Clair Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake St Clair Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay