We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake St Clair Lodge

Lyell Highway, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lake St Clair Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in a cabin near the lake for two nights. The location is beautiful - and it was the perfect place to rest after completing the Overland Track. There are plenty of daywalks around the region and in good weather these would be amazing. The cabin is beautiful, modern and spacious and has a wonderful gas fireplace. I'd give... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a lakeside cabin - which made the stay worthwhile. Was expensive, but is worth paying the extra so you have the view. Otherwise we may have been disappointed I think the Lodge needs to be a bit more flexible. For example breakfast doesn't start until 8.30 and the Lake cruise (booked at the hotel) departs at the same... More 

Helpful?
Thank David P
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently visited this lodge on the spur of moment mainly because the bushfires stopped us going to our other location. We were truly delighted to discover this part of Tasmania. The lodge is well appointed. We stayed in a single room near the lake edge. There are several bush walks. There is a restaurant in the lodge for meals... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Linda S
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After reading the reviews on here I must admit I was a little concerned about what was awaiting us when we arrived, however we were very pleasantly suprised. Originally we booked a Loft cabin but after purchasing a camp-trailer we changed our booking to a powered site. Maruly was very professional and more than helpful, answering all my questions and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Julie B
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm the other guy that ordered "scotch fillet". I also support what the previous author said. We had to share our table with a variety of flying entomology which was very uncomfortable. During our very long wait for food, a single guy came in fifteen minutes after we had ordered, was delivered his food and left before we got ours.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Dottorenzo
LSCLManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience. We will be discussing this with the wait staff that were serving on the night concerned. In regards to the quality of meat you were served we have contacted the butcher to provide them with the relevant feedback. The singer present asked us to pass on her... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the price paid I was disappointed with the level of service. The cruise was advertised as including commentary but there was virtually none, our evening meal was served by a waiter in white gloves (not what I imagined for a wilderness experience) whoever the 10 or so dead March flies on the windowsill next to my table reminded me... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Gwyneth A
LSCLManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review

Gwyneth, thank you for taking time to provide feedback. It is surprising to hear that there was no commentary on the cruise particularly because a lot of effort actually goes into the cruises. As you may have noticed the plates that were delivered to your table were quite warm, so the young lady that wore a glove did so as... More 

Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to eat at the restaurant to as a change from camp food. Usually I will give stars if one aspect of dining was good however, it was all horrible. - The restaurant layout was crowded and full of insects ranging from flies to wasps. - either invest in a bug zapper or advise guests to bring areoguard - They... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank guestdude
LSCLManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review

Guestdude, thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay within Lake St Clair Tourist Park and that you believe that the restaurant has five star potential. We agree. We also often find that the attitude of the guest on arrival does affect their experience. We recall that you had no issue with your medium-rare steak... More 

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The cabins are very well finished. The level of luxury is as you would expect being that the cost was $540 for one night. We had 4 adults and two children and needed two cabins with interconnecting door. The area was too small for this many people and required the sofa bed and a gold out bed to be brought... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephen_barnes007
LSCLManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad that we were able to be part of your recent holiday experience. If it is space that our guests re looking for, then we would recommend a Bungalow or Leeawuleena House for 2 adults and 2 children as that then provides ample space for... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely cabins and very clean and modern. Such a beautiful location set out in the wilderness. I would fully recommend staying here if you’re up for some stunning scenery and wilderness hikes as there are plenty of options. Unfortunately the restaurant here was a disappointment. When we checked in we were asked if we would like to make a reservation... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stepho333
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Lake St Clair Lodge is magnificently situated in the Tasmanian Highlands, bordering the lake of that name. The staff of the lodge are a polyglot bunch, which can lead to some misadventures in translation. The rooms are opulently appointed. The views are outstanding. A very reasonably priced highlight ($60 per head) is the two-hour cruise from the southern to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
41.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
40.3 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,544 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
41.1 mi away
Discovery Holiday Parks Cradle Mountain
Discovery Holiday Parks Cradle M...
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
#1 of 1 in Derwent Bridge
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay