We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hills of Gold Motel

Corner of Jenkins and Oakenville Streets, Nundle, New South Wales, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nundle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hills of Gold Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
O'Connell, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

Front office greeting typically country friendly. Rooms are tired but basically clean. Mozzie spray dated from the dark ages and is the most basic no frills....get some mortein!! Bed and linen comfy and clean. Local pub is very good, OK wine selection and truly superb local trout dish, very , very good. Nundle is a gorgeous stopover. Some locals just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey P
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Rooms were ok, no hot water when we arrived mid afternoon is really unacceptable, we were offered to use the facilities in the B&B next door however we paid for a motel room with a bathroom and that's what we expected. No offer of a discount of any sort and not what I would call friendly service. Chances of using... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
Jim_A_222, Owner at Hills of Gold Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we were pleased you were happy with the room and we do understand your feelings about the hot water situation. As we explained to you and your partner we had been having difficulties with our system that day and the hot water was starting to reheat just after your arrival. We apologise that you were... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

Right in the centre of town and across the road from the Pub, but sooo quiet! This little town is delightful, and the country around it beautiful. Rooms are fine, no kitchen available when we visited, but there were alternatives nearby. An easy going and pleasant stop.

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry O
Nelson Bay, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

With delightful hosts, we enjoyed visiting the interesting sights around Nundle - the Woollen Mills, Hanging Rock Lookout, the Trout farm - as well as enjoying delightful meals each evening - Cafe Nundle and Mt Misery Gold mine Cafe. Well rugged up at night, we had a fantastic time looking at the stars. Wonderful weekend.

Helpful?
Thank Anne H
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

Marie was a wonderful host to myself & 14 other weary bikers on the 29th November. Everything was perfect and bikes were even put under cover in the carport. Rooms were clean, roomy & beds were comfy. With the Peel Inn across the road for drinks & dinner an the Cafe Nundle just down the road for breakfast, it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Sydney
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

A very comfortable motel in a lovely, friendly country town. Immaculately clean. Fresh milk in the fridge. Heating on for our arrival. Very comfortable beds and perfect for our family of three. Extremely friendly and helpful owner. You'll have a great night's sleep.

Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyofthreeSydney
Tea Gardens
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Being the only motel in Nundle, it needs to be very good, and it was! It is not a large motel, and I suspect there are mid-week occasions when it may have negotiable vacancies. Two of us stayed for 2 nights over a weekend - our room was lovely and clean, and with a comfortable bed. We also had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Motel proprietors own a number of accommodation properties in Nundle including this recently renovated cottage next to the motel. The cottage is newly refurbished and tastefully decorated both inside and out. The room I stayed in was very well appointed with a very comfortable queen bed and rather nice cotton linen. The en-suite bathroom is spacious and includes a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wal916
Jim_A_222, Owner at Hills of Gold Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. We have obviously achieved our aim of old worldliness and comfort with our B&B as this cottage was purpose built as the Birches B&B in 2010. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just spent a night in wonderful Nundle to pick up our new pup. Lyn at the motel was very welcoming and hospitable, nothing was too much trouble.. She cooked the best poached eggs I've ever eaten ! The bed was dreamily comfortable and it was so peaceful. Great to have the outdoor table in the garden. We enjoyed the food... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank BS1105
Inverell, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had an overnight stay in Nundle with two other couples on a motorbike ride of the New England. Host was fantastic, warm and welcoming and very accommodating. Organised to put our bikes under cover which is always appreciated. Rooms clean and comfortable and just across the road from the Peel Inn which is a lovely pub in which to have... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheSearchEngine
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities