We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Lower Beeding hotels

South Lodge Hotel

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added South Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
South Lodge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
90%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lower Beeding
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Carys C Eastbourne, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (713)
  • Photos (225)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (193)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

713 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    527
    118
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
103
380
10
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for one night and had dinner in the Camellia restaurant for our wedding anniversary. The service was wonderful from the moment we arrived and the hotel is beautiful and tastefully decorated. We had a Traditional Junior Suite and it was pure luxury; views over the South Downs, feather pillows, huge walk in shower and a TV in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a 2 night stay this week and wish it had been longer. The ambience is great - calm and relaxing, but with lots of attentive and professional staff at hand if required. We loved our room with the large TV and very comfortable bed (the choice of pillows available is a nice touch). The bathroom was fabulous. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is rare for my wife to say that she would really like to return to a hotel - and we've visited a lot in our 45 years together - but she would like to return to South Lodge. We spent two nights there. As we walked through the door, the welcome was warm and professional although I was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roggo46, Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent stay. It really does set the tone of a stay by delivering a memorable welcome at the door. I am pleased we did this on your visit and we had a delightful bouquet of flowers awaiting your arrival in the room. I am delighted too that your... More

Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

South Lodge is a lovely hotel. I stayed here for one week during a conference, and only left the hotel on a few evenings. The service on the whole is very good, with many members of staff passionate about their position. I would say that on some occasions the service was slow. My room was excellent, with great views over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mikeydenn89, Thank you for your kind words following your stay. I am pleased you found South Lodge to be lovely, the service provided by the passionate team to be very good with an exceptional eye to detail and you enjoyed your bedroom and the excellent views. I am sorry you felt the food was inconsistent. We focus relentlessly on... More

Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel for a special birthday treat for my friend and I after looking at many others. This was the only one in this class in this area that apparently could "twin" a good room (other hoteliers take note). The grounds are lovely and invite a long walk round, there is a lovely vista from the terrace and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CamilleWiltshire, Thank you for your charming and comprehensive review of your stay at South Lodge. The team and I are delighted we were able to exceed your expectations and deliver a memorable stay. It is always important to create the warmest of welcomes on arrival which I feel sets the tone for a guest’s stay. I am pleased dinner... More

London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here on Saturday night. I knew when we booked the night that there was an event (assumed a wedding) but you don't really expect this to affect your stay. We got there at 2pm(check in is at 3pm) but we were fine to get some afternoon tea in the lounge. The lady looking after the bar was great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tex2009, Thank you for your review following your stay last weekend. I am pleased that so many aspects of your stay were positive, such as your lovely bedroom, our 93 acres of grounds, as well as dinner in The Camellia. That said, I am sorry breakfast let us down somewhat. I will be sure to share your feedback with... More

Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a celebration afternoon tea Saturday 23rd August Service was appalling, was told there was a back log when we asked for more coffee.A backlog in a 5 star hotel is totally unacceptable. The sandwiches were sparse and also had to ask for more of these. Not a very enjoyable service at all. Far better hotels to enjoy afternoon tea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karenrr, I was sorry to read your review following your experience of afternoon tea on Saturday. We do appreciate constructive feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve the service we offer our guests. I do feel it is important to communicate any delays to our guests. That said, I do share your frustrations in their being delays... More

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've just spent a night at this hotel and we had a fantastic time. The staff are lovely, friendly and very helpful. Our room was so luxurious and the bathroom was huge. I've never seen a shower as big as this one. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a beautiful meal. If you have something special to celebrate then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Declan K, Thank you for such a wonderful review following your stay at the weekend. It means so much for the team and I to read your review and to learn of your stay exceeding your expectations. It is kind of your to praise the team here and for you to describe them as lovely, friendly and helpful. I... More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I enjoyed the hotel experience, and would book again. Objectively, starting with the positives: Ultra attentive and well trained staff, friendly and supportive Excellent location and sympathetic extensions from the older country house Excellent dining facilities and good ambiance Pleasant modern rooms with good facilities Very nice to see the dog and children acceptance, great to see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Baileyarabians, Thank you for your review and for joining us for a night away. I am delighted your enjoyed your time with us and you would return in the future. I am pleased there were so many positive aspects to your stay, such as the highly trained and friendly team here as well as the food, service and ambience... More

london
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there as part of my boss's golf party along with approx 60 others and what a wonderful time we experienced. A very different kind of hotel in the sense of its location, quality and service. Every staff member interacted with you whilst passing and it makes such a difference. Nothing seem to be a problem. I happened to meet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Showst3r, Thank you for your kind words following you stay. It is so very kind of you to praise our quality of service and the fabulous team here. I am delighted the food and golf were exceptional. It was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to have met you. Please do come and visit again in the future.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage South Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to South Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Address: Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
South Lodge Hotel Lower Beeding, West Sussex, England

225 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (203)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (55)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner of the silver award for 'Hotel of the Year' at the Visit England Tourism Excellence Awards 2010, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house – it’s the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
89

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of South Lodge Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from South Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer