We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Copyhold Lane | Lindfield, Haywards Heath RH16 1XU, England
Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
40
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Doncaster
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I haven`t stayed at the Copyhold hollow for some time, however I was working in the area and was glad to stay here, nothing has changed it is still lovely both the house and garden, I am looking forward to semi retirement then myself and my wife will have the leisure time to have a regular weeks holiday here as... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarbaraHaywardsHeath, Owner at Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

So glad you thought to stay here whilst working locally and that you and your wife will be returning for holidays once you retire. Meanwhile, if work brings you this way, I shall look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Frances is a wonderful host and her B&B is unique. We were comfortable and enjoyed the lodgings, food and guidance to the many gardens and local pubs. Why would one stay in a bland hotel when places like this exist? We will go back and felt we got great value for our money in a convenient and lovely place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarbaraHaywardsHeath, Owner at Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Copyhold once you arrived home from your extensive travels. When you were here and we walked around the garden together your wife, a well respected gardener, made some very kind remarks for which I thank her. Hope some of the snow had melted whilst you were away and the spring flowers are... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was comfortable, clean, cosy and in such a beautiful location. Frances (the owner) is friendly and accommodating. It is excellent value for money and in such a wonderful location for walks, drives and local pubs and restaurants. The room was big with everything you might need too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aartselaar, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Copyhold Hollow is the most lovely B&B I have ever seen. Even in winter, when there are no leaves or flowers, it is still magical. You remember the cute cottage from the film 'The Holiday', well, that's what Copyhold Hollow is, but then even more beautiful. The room was neat and tidy and the hospitality was superb. We have just... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

I shall be leaving copyhold hollow tomorrow to return home after some training in the area. I have had a wonderful 4 days staying in the single bedroom. It is spotlessly clean and beautiful very quirky and restored amazingly! I am normally a travel lodge type of girl but I can definately say I shall return here! The welcome is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wisborough Green, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

In November I stayed in this lovely B&B and when I opened the curtains in the morning I saw the most beautiful view. It was lovely and quiet.I had a four poster bed, en-suite bathroom and a delicious breakfast served by my friendly hostess. Frances has the most beautiful garden, well worth exploring. The local gardens such as Nyemans, Borde... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarbaraHaywardsHeath, Owner at Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much and, particularly, that you liked the room. Although the headboard in the double room is magnificent - 15th century carved oak backboard to a half tester - I should mention, for the information of future guests, that it is not a four poster, although it felt like one to you. I... More 

Assisi, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

It is a delight to return here as regularly as I do. Friendly, clean and typical English B & B. I have stayed in all the rooms and all are extremely comfortable, quality linen and good mattresses. Very strange to read a previous review because an excellent breakfast is provided (not sure why L Scott thought differently) - its perfect.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

This has been my fourth stay at Copyhold Hollow and my first in Autumn. I love staying there. Frances is a kind and generous host who is very attentive to detail and unfailingly helpful. The house is a step back in time with loads of charm. This visit I had the benefit of a large open fire to sit by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Received a very warm welcome and enjoyed the hospitality. Thought the house charming, comfortable and so much history behind it - something we don't often experience in Australia. The garden was quite magical with so many interesting plants and shrubs - just loved the tree house and the amazing view from there. Frances was a mine of local information and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarbaraHaywardsHeath, Owner at Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Copyhold Hollow and I am glad you enjoyed your time so much. I hope I get the chance to welcome you back next time you visit your sister. More 

thornton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Just returned from a two day stay at this B/B.What a disappointment. The gardens are very run down and in need of a great deal of attention. There is no way to secure the bedroom door and is open for all other guest and who ever else is in the house. The toilet did not flush properly and we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BarbaraHaywardsHeath, Owner at Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay in Lindfield but you made not one mention of your unhappiness whilst you were here so I could not put any matters right for you. You did not like the garden but a guest who arrived the same evening as you told me it was "paradise" and loved it. Beauty is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question