We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Shipston on Stour hotels

George Hotel

3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added George Hotel to your Saves list
George Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
64%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
HJL03 England
  • Overview
  • Reviews (391)
  • Photos (56)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (127)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    141
    73
    41
    25
See reviews for
15
293
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The George has bags of potential but is totally let down by poor presentation and a complete lack of any basic customer service. What was meant to be a romantic 2 night’s away ended up being a break we couldn't wait to come home from. We had no acknowledgement or greeting upon arrival, our room (as most of the hotel)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights over the bank holiday weekend. This hotel has the potential to be so much better but as other reviewers have mentioned it is in need of some TLC. Our duvet cover was ripped, the ends of the blinds were poking out of the side and the mirror in the bathroom was so high we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adriana F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing The George hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations and I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. Rest assured that all your comments... More

Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at The George for a one night mini break, on their Sunday night eat & sleep deal. We had to spend a minimum of £70 in the restaurant, to stay over for £20 (including upgrade & breakfast). On arriving we were a bit disappointed with our room, as it was really tatty. The carpet was stained, there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adriana F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing The George Hotel for your recent stay. We appreciate the time you have taken to post your review on Tripadvisor and we are very sorry for the disappointing experience you have encountered. Rest assured that all your comments have been noted and we will look into them when we review the... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a very good stay - for the amount paid the room was excellent - you can't expect giant sized rooms in an old coaching inn and despite what some others say the room was not tacky at all. Nice view over the high street. This is a town centre hotel and you cannot expect complete peace and quiet -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Adriana F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing The George Hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we appreciate your kind comments on our hotel and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future. If there is anything that... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked at the George for a two night stay. Only stayed one night! Cannot fault the staff one bit. They were great. Also the breakfast was brilliant. The hotel itself lets the whole experience down. Tacky themed rooms dark dingy. Honestly who want to look at giant asparagus above your head!! Felt like we were in a restaurant not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Adriana F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing The George hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed. Please be assured that we have taken good note of all your comments. I look forward to welcome you back so that we may restore your... More

Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this short break deal as it was a good base to explore the Cotswolds. The staff were very friendly and the food and service were excellent. The hotel was tastefully decorated in keeping with the age of the building. Our room was very hot, but this was probably due to the heatwave at the time of our visit.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The most memorable thing about the hotel was the staff. They were welcoming, friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel and rooms were full of character - OK, so the floor sloped like a hillside, but that added to the old-village-inn charm of the place. As the hotel is right in the middle of the town and facing some shops, there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just visited this Hotel last day of July and first day of August 2014. We had the most wonderful time - for us, the third time we have been here this year!!!! Delicious food, friendly and professional service and a real buzz to the whole Hotel. Our cousins from the USA and our friends also enjoyed this special... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed in the Raspberry room for three nights in August. The bed was comfortable but we found the bathroom very inconvenient. There was no shower but a roll top bath with a hand shower that was not working! We wanted to be moved to another room with a shower but none was available as it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff are absolutely amazing, gosh they work so hard always making your stay fabulous!! Our 5th visit to The George we just love everything about it, seems to get better every year we visit! Chocolate room is a must! By far the best room! Food in the restaurant was amazing both nights great value and huge portions! Such a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Shipston on Stour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Shipston On Stour, Warwickshire

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (25)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Shipston on Stour with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
16

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer