We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George Hotel

3.0 of 5 High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
George Hotel
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    162
    82
    48
    31
See reviews for
25
331
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (454)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (118)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (108)
All months
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a Wowcher bought for Christmas for an overnight stay - it was lovely - staff really helpful and rooms didn't have numbers, but were names of food - so signs were foods and little things in the bedroom (cushions etc...) were of the food. Breakfast was included for us and the full English Breakfast was spot on. Definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanklin, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the George Hotel in May 2014 for 2 nights and we are about to book another 2 night break this May. The George is a lovely hotel, the rooms are very nicely decorated with good facilities, all the staff we met were very friendly and the food in the dining room was good value. Check in was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having grew up in the area and recalling the George from then I was impressed with the transformation. The hotel is stylish but not pretentious,the room was clean and well appointed but was a little tired in places (a touch of mould in bathroom and mattress a little lumpy), the food was excellent both evening meal and breakfast. Good value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel for a surprise for my husband, the deal is received directly from the hotel was just such a bargin. We arrived at the hotel on the Friday, shown to our room, the chocolate suite and were compleatley over the moon, what a beautiful, clean room and the bathroom is just beautiful! The staff are all extreamley... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, General Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at The George Hotel and I hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards, Marcus Kain More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here on a business trip last minute, it was a quirky place with a warm atmosphere. The staff were lovely and the room was very cosy. I will definitely go back with the family for a weekend away

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, General Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at The George Hotel and I hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards, Marcus Kain More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've put off writing this review for a few weeks but have decided to approach with a clear head. My partner & I decided to get away and stay for two nights for her birthday weekend, after a 3 hour drive we arrived at our destination, waited in reception for a few minutes so I went to the bar on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, General Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor user, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and will look into all of the issues you have highlighted in your review. If you would like to contact me to discuss your stay further please do so by e-mail at Marcus@episodehotels.co.uk .... More 

South Molton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a voucher which meant we were in a small room - but it was cosy, well fitted with nice touches. It was an attractive hotel which lovely features and the bar/dining room was lovely. We ate in the restaurant one night. The food was good and the menu really interesting. Our bill was made up wrong (extra alcohol... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, General Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at The George Hotel and I hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards, Marcus Kain More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as a family of 4 (two children aged 6&2) for one night during half term using a travel bird voucher. For the low cost of the stay (inc dinner, drinks and breakfast) we went with an open mind and didn't bother checking reviews before we went as it was just a stop over before visiting other places.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, General Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about The George Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your comments on to the team. I look forward to welcoming you to The George again in the future. Kind Regards, Marcus Kain More 

Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has such a grand Georgian exterior that i had high hopes, however i was disappointed by the service. We stayed for one night using a red letter day voucher, i rang to confirm our booking on the morning of our visit and was met with confusion down the phone and a disconcerting conversation about not being able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcus K, General Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations at this time and I will look into the issues you have highlighted. If you would like to contact me to discuss this matter in more detail my email address is Marcus@episodehotels.co.uk . Kind Regards, Marcus Kain More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Far too overpriced for what we received, one nights stay was a similar price to what you would pay for a night in the centre of London. The rooms were quirky and clean. Unfortunately the service was appalling. There was no one to check us in, the reception was messy and during breakfast I had to wait 40 minutes for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Marcus K, General Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations at this time and I will look into the issues you have highlighted. If you would like to contact me to discuss this matter in more detail my email address is Marcus@episodehotels.co.uk . Kind Regards, Marcus Kain More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Shipston on Stour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, EasyToBook, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Shipston On Stour, Warwickshire

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (25)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay