We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Shipston on Stour hotels

George Hotel

3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added George Hotel to your Saves list
George Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
65%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
John C Manchester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    143
    73
    42
    25
See reviews for
16
296
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Have just enjoyed a warm,friendly Friday/Saturday /Sunday stay. We were in the best&most spacious room (chocolate)and 2nd night Chilli Pepper. If I have to add a minor negative it would be the too dim lighting in the attractive bathrooms. The packed pub atmosphere of the Friday night Happy TWO hours was a good start! Saturday we had an excellently cooked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was a KGB two nights b&b with dinner on the first night. My wife kept saying she was looking forward to our stay in Dorset - the reason being she'd picked up the wrong voucher! No worries though all the information would be on my tablet. I could find the voucher so sorted. Except that the George had no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Adriana F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing The George Hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience that you experience with your booking reservation, rest assured that your comments has been well noted. I am glad to read that you had the best meal at... More

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful location guarantees customers, but our stay was most disappointing and thank Goodness we only stayed one night. Our room, Strawberry, is tired and unclean and the bed most uncomfortable. Basics like dusting are not even performed well so there is no hope for proper cleaning especially the bathroom. Lighting in Bathroom very poor, the shaving mirror is broken and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adriana F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing The George Hotel for your recent stay and for taking your valuable time to share your experience on tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations this time, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Rest... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Upon check in we were greeted by pleasant staff who showed us to our room. Unfortunately we were initially given the popcorn room. Not a bad room for one person but what I would describe as pokey for two. We were prepared to overlook this and began to settle in, however the room was unbearably hot. After struggling with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adriana F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place your comments online via Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to The George Hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience that you experienced with you room during your stay, your comments... More

Redditch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 days at beginning of September 2014. Exceeded expectations. Had a lovely time, room was really clean and comfortable. The food was excellent and very good value. The staff made us feel very welcome. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adriana F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place your kind feedback online via Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to The George hotel. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that I have shared your kind feedback with all my team here, as it acts as a great... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having recently stayed at The George for two nights, I would have no problem recommending this hotel, especially if you take advantage of the various deals on offer. We asked for a cot bed for our six month old and a spacious room if possible to accommodate all the extra baggage, the "Green Olive" room was more than adequate. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adriana F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing The George hotel for your recent stay. I am very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured your comments have been well noted to be off better service to you. I look forward to welcoming back in the near future. Regards, Adriana Forlizzi Operations Manager... More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The George has bags of potential but is totally let down by poor presentation and a complete lack of any basic customer service. What was meant to be a romantic 2 night’s away ended up being a break we couldn't wait to come home from. We had no acknowledgement or greeting upon arrival, our room (as most of the hotel)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adriana F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing The George Hotel for your recent stay and for taking your valuable time to send us your feedback. I am very sorry to read that your stay was disappointing and I would like to take this opportunity to apologize if we did not meet your expectations this time. Rest assured that... More

England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights over the bank holiday weekend. This hotel has the potential to be so much better but as other reviewers have mentioned it is in need of some TLC. Our duvet cover was ripped, the ends of the blinds were poking out of the side and the mirror in the bathroom was so high we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adriana F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing The George hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations and I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. Rest assured that all your comments... More

Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at The George for a one night mini break, on their Sunday night eat & sleep deal. We had to spend a minimum of £70 in the restaurant, to stay over for £20 (including upgrade & breakfast). On arriving we were a bit disappointed with our room, as it was really tatty. The carpet was stained, there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adriana F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing The George Hotel for your recent stay. We appreciate the time you have taken to post your review on Tripadvisor and we are very sorry for the disappointing experience you have encountered. Rest assured that all your comments have been noted and we will look into them when we review the... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a very good stay - for the amount paid the room was excellent - you can't expect giant sized rooms in an old coaching inn and despite what some others say the room was not tacky at all. Nice view over the high street. This is a town centre hotel and you cannot expect complete peace and quiet -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Adriana F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing The George Hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we appreciate your kind comments on our hotel and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future. If there is anything that... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Shipston on Stour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Shipston On Stour, Warwickshire

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (25)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Shipston on Stour with
any amenities