We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Carlton Hotel

#3 of 11 Hotels in Rugby
Certificate of Excellence
130 Railway Terrace, Rugby CV21 3HE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Carlton Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    86
    48
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
39
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here in December for a training course nearby. The hotel is basic with a small restaurant and tiny bar. The staff were very nice and the rooms were clean. It was absolutely fine for what we needed. Wouldn't expect much better in rugby (no offense). Would stay again in the slim chance I ever went back to Rugby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not your average budget chain hotel where everything's the same. It is a nice and well run, cosy hotel with great attention to detail. Delicious breakfast served in the morning, including smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Dinner was also fab, consisting of fresh home cooked food and a lovely selection of desserts. All reasonably priced, we cannot wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice place , nice breakfast , nice people . Clean and tidy . Just when they cleaned the room we didn't get any loo roll, no clean towels and no milk. 😕 . Parking is very tight . But yes nice place . It about 10 minutes into town , and the black swan pub is the busiest place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. I'm very sorry that your towels, toilet roll and milk weren't replaced - our room staff work very hard every day to make sure all of our rooms are up to the high standards our guests have come to expect, however sometimes mistakes do happen and I do apologise. We hope to see you again... More 

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at The Carlton last week and wow - what an amazing experience we had! As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the cheerful staff who were extremely helpful and appeared more than happy to be there. The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated with a decent sized bathroom, a TV and strong... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We work very hard to make sure that people enjoy their time with us as much as possible - and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. This time with dinner! Best wishes, Jaspal More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a backwards, stuffy and pretentious hotel. The staff/manager are ignorant about card security and the member of staff I spoke to on this topic on checking out was rude and dismissive. The cooked breakfast was the among the worst I've had: undercooked bacon, cold baked beans and burnt toast. I only ate what I did on the general... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

I was very disappointed to read this review. As I recall your issue at the time was with card security - as mentioned above - however I believed that we had addressed this matter promptly by email at the time. To read that we had been 'rude' and 'dismissive' of your concerns is very hurtful and frankly, I believe, untrue.... More 

London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Great restaurant and a pretty little bar. All very compact with a couple of rooms. No outdoor space. No lounge. Room was small, as well as the bed, but had a pleasant atmosphere and an OK bathroom. We didn't have a good sleep in the room by the busy road, but should have closed the windows. Partially our fault. Watch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive words regarding your stay with us, it's always great to hear when people plan to make a return visit. The rooms at the front of the hotel can get a little noisy occasionally - unfortunately this is one of the factors that come with a town centre location. And I was very sorry to hear that... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Very nice single room in rear annex, good quality decent size TV, nice bed and desk etc. quiet and secure with parking right outside, only downside was bathroom which although was clean and functional could really do with an upgrade / refurb. Restaurant always looked nice and the food smelt good when passing but as we were on nights never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your room, I can only apologise for the areas in the bathroom that needed some attention. Unfortunately some damage was sustained at the hands of a previous guest but it has now all been fully restored. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future - maybe you'll have time... More 

Kyneton, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the Carlton Hotel, Rugby. The room was small, but clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was generous, and dinner was excellent. Staff were very helpful. The hotel was well-located between the railway station and the town centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review - we always love to hear feedback from our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will stay again if you're ever in the area. Best wishes, Jaspal More 

Shepperton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

I have been staying here on a weekly basis since the middle of May and there is a reason why this is the number one place to stay in Rugby on TripAdvisor. It is deceptive from the outside as it does look kind of small but the owners have done an excellent job of using the space they have and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for all of your kind words. It's a pleasure to have guests who enjoy their time with us so much. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best wishes, Jaspal and staff More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

Good location (10-min walk from station/town centre). But feels more like a guesthouse or motel than a B&B. Strangely chintzy furnishing, narrow corridors & rooms overlooking suburban gardens make it feel like you're staying with your gran. Staff not particularly friendly, welcoming or helpful considering it's a family-run place. But the breakfast is very good (& there's lots of choice).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your stay with us. We're glad you found us to be well placed and that you enjoyed your breakfast. T=In response to your other points the Carlton is an older building and unfortunately these sorts of building simply don't allow for wide corridors and large landing spaces. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugby
1.2 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Rugby North - Newbold
0.4 mi away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#10 of 11 in Rugby
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#4 of 11 in Rugby
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
3.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Rugby
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay