We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Rugby hotels

The Carlton Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Railway Terrace, Rugby CV21 3HE, England
Hotel amenities
The Carlton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Rugby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014
ClaireNewman Coventry, United Kingdom
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    37
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
35
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

Nicely decorated double room with a comfortable bed. Bathroom a little dated but functional. Great for the price. A little let down by breakfast. The waitress didnt smile once and we felt a little awkward and unwelcome especially as we were the only customers. The filter coffee advertsied on the menu was actually instant coffee in a metal teapot (we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The hotel was quiet as you might expect out of season. Friendly and welcoming staff. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was reasonable - enough to set us up for the day, but is not included in the room rate. Meals are offered in the evening but we chose to go out. It's a short walk from Rugby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasRugby, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for leaving such a great review. It's a shame you didn't have the chance to try out or restaurant, maybe next time! Jaspal More 

Tenterden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

This is an excellent hotel and very reasonably priced. My partner and I stayed here for a single night as a treat. The room was comfortable and very nicely decorated and furnished. The food in the restaurant was delicious; the dishes we chose were very rich (marvellous!) though I expect this wouldn't be to everyone's taste. It has to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, it's very much appreciated. Thanks for choosing us for your stay - we hope to see you again in the future. Thanks, Jaspal More 

Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014 via mobile

we stayed one night travelling through UK. The Carlton seems to be in the process of being renovated. Our room was great, beautifully presented very spacious and clean. All amenities were provided. The restaurant is worth eating at, nice meal. There is also a nice bar to relax in. Staff were very friendly and obliging.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for leaving a great review. Our building was being painted last week which is why the scaffolding was up. We're glad you enjoyed your visit! Thanks Jaspal More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

The Carlton hotel is ideally placed in Rugby. The railway station is 5 minutes walk and also the same time for walking into town. Easy motorway access with the m6 being 10 minutes and the same for the m1. The hotel is spotless with each room being personalised, the hotel for me being the best in Rugby. The food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us this great review. We love to hear such positive comments! We hope to see you here again soon. Thanks Jaspal More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I stayed here for one night on business and chose this over a couple of other options due to the positive reviews and I am glad I did. Nice easy check in, I got a room outside, room 15 I think, and was able to park my car outside. The room was spacious, very clean, comfortable, especially the bed, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us this great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you here again soon. Kind regards Jaspal More 

Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Carlton Hotel gives the impression of an old country house in the middle of a town. The location isn't in the most salubrious part of Rugby and I certainly wouldn't recommend the bar opposite. However, it is a short walk from the Seven Stars - an award winning real ale pub - and also the town centre. I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your review, and your kind comments about the cleanliness and quality of our breakfast. We are rated 4 stars under 'guest accommodation' as opposed to a 4 star hotel rating. We can assure you the bed was a double bed - as they are in all our double rooms. We don't have any three-quarter sized beds.... More 

Warwickshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A group of us went to the Carlton for a meal a few weeks ago, and can't fault the food or ambience. The staff were friendly and helpful, the menu options were good. The food was cooked to perfection, my rare steak was perfect - most places will still overcook a rare steak. I can only list one small issue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for leaving these great comments. We're glad you enjoyed your visit. Our bar and restaurant are a little 'cosy' so we always recommend that our guests book in advance of their visit! We hope to see you again soon. Regards Jaspal More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night en route and were very pleasantly surprised. The room was nicely decorated and immaculately clean, we had a delicious evening meal and the service was friendly and helpful. Goid value and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Jaspal More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Five of us stayed here when we were working at a local boat show. We all had a single room each. The rooms were clean, tidy and had everything you needed. The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much bother for them; they got up extra early so we could have our breakfast earier and we kept the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate it when our guests take the time to leave their comments, especially when they are so complimentary! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you hear again soon. Regards Jaspal More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 130 Railway Terrace, Rugby CV21 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Rugby
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rugby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rugby

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay