We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Washington

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Washington
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

547 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hexham
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was one of around 30 people at an all day conference here. Unlike many hotels they provided fruit as well as croissants etc in the morning. The room was warm and the visibility of the screen good. The room acoustics were good. The public bathrooms are scrupulously clean, the lunch well cooked and plentiful although not particularly healthy...at least... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SheMag
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just spent the night so I could take my son to the Newcastle game. The staff were attentive and friendly. The room was well appointed, spotless, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was fantastic and the dining staff lovely. The location makes for a really practical option when visiting newcastle or surrounding area, and the hotel is clearly run by an... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks , great to have you stay with us , we are a great base to see the North East . More 

Morpeth
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed with family. Breakfast good, buffet selection with great choice. Room clean and great. Beds very comfortable and free wifi with loyalty card. Rooms busy being upgraded, but not a problem. We stay often and find the staff helpful and hotel great.

Helpful?
Thank jvmerlin
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review , all rooms are being upgraded. More 

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Second year running here for Boxing Day meal and was not disappointed . Food was excellent and a great choice over the three courses . Staff friendly and professional. All 14 people in our party enjoyed first class food and service . At around 20 pounds a head it was unbeatable value . Be back again . Red cabbage side... More 

Helpful?
Thank Murray M
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks we do try to offer great value for money our £5 and£10 meal offer is not to be missed . More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

Coach pulls in and 58 people get off to be greeted by... no-one!! Asked at the bar but they couldn't find anyone either. Finally a receptionist toddles over no apology but we get our room card. A lovely new carpet in our room, that new there was no time to hoover it!! Hundreds of bits all over and skirting boards... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank SARAH L
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks your comments will be addressed More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015 via mobile

Been here a couple of times now. I like it. It's a standard holiday inn but the staff here are nice and helpful. There is ample parking and the wifi is good. There's a couple of function rooms that always seem lively on a weekend! The rooms are a little dated but comfortable and overall I would recommend this to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Joynesie
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Yes we are a great location for the shops and many sites including Durham and Beamish . More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a shopping coach trip Hotel room was clean, tidy and comfortable. Shower lovely and hot. Only downside for me was no free wifi which you automatically expect in this century. And I did not wish to pay for the use of it at the prices charged. We had a set menu for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank missyduff
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Thanks we have noted your comments and WI FI is free as from 2016 . More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile

After staying in not the best hotel this week what a pleasure to stay here to walk in and be greeted by a smiling face absolutely fanatic love this hotel and the staff thank you so much as close to home as it gets

Helpful?
Thank Peter D
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Delighted to have you stay we do try to make all guests welcome . More 

Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Room clean, bed comfy (apart from my child's sofa bed) and very quiet (even though busy). Bit on the expensive side, £70 family room, which wasn't including breakfast. Approx £9.95 each for breakfast if you wanted it. Drinks at the bar were also at the top end and there wasn't enough seats (hotel was very busy). All staff (esp reception)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stacey W
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks comment taken on board will review prices and see what we can do . More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

Standard Holiday Inn, close to M1 and in nice grounds. Room was comfortable,bathroom adequate but size typical of era Hotel was built in Decor was a bit dated but clean, and a letter in room indicated an upgrade program was underway.Public areas had warm feeling. Food in restaurant was very good and there was a varied menu.On our visit there... More 

Helpful?
Thank PSAG
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Delighted to receive your review . Thank you for understanding . More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
0.0 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
3.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
#9 of 11 in Sunderland
3.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay