We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Washington A1(M) Northbound

Moto Service Area A1(M) | Portobello, Washington DH3 2SJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Washington A1(M) Northbound
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Travelodge Washington A1(M) Northbound
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
24
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This is a terrific Travelodge, Jessica at the desk was fantastic. Very friendly and super efficient, she gave us directions to a local Italian restaurant which was fantastic, I have reviewed it as well. This was a better than usual Travelodge experience, it was clean, warm and friendly AND free parking. AND the superb Jessica.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice newly refurbished lodge but we had a lot of lorry noise right through the night. Notice other reviews mention how quiet it is here so must depend on room location. Tv wasn't properly set up. No guide working on tv and all channels on unusual numbers (eg bbc1 on 4) no locks on bathroom doors for some reason (blanked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here over easter with friends on a visit to the beamish museum which is about a 10 minutes drive away . The staff were very helpful and friendly the hotel was spotless with easy access Newcastle and surrounding areas oh yeah nearly forgot called in the burger king a couple of minutes walk away and they had no burgers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Second time I've stayed in this Travelodge, and always got a really good price - maybe it's because people assume it will be really noisy being so close to the A1 - however it's not! Lovely big rooms both times I've stayed, and you don't hear the road at all. Rooms clean and tidy, reception quite welcoming and staff always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
e.yorks
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

stayed as nearest to beamish. and and other places ie Durham ,with parknride.and had a wonderfull and hassle free stay and will be using travel lodge s as when reqiured, hopefully in all over uk . as up to now find very resonable on price ect ...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

This must be one of the older Travelodges which have yet to be updated. The rooms are clean and tidy. The beds are the old ones though, so not as comfortable as the new ones. There is no option of being able to have radio on the TV as this doesn't work. This Travelodge is just off the A1 northbound.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

A good price for a clean, very pleasant room and, though next to a motorway, quiet! The location is a little basic but the usual service area food is available or a couple of goo restaurants within a couple of miles of the 'lodge. One slight problem; the TV reception I had was poor so don't rely on it to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Visiting friends in Newcastle, stayed here for a night. We arrived just after midnight and were welcomed by a cheerful receptionist Ruth, who check us in and ensure that she will around if we needs anything in the room. She opened the door and shown us the right direction to our room. The room was very clean, newly decorated to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Stopped here whilst working for the weekend in Newcastle, we needed somewhere to stay that was local but would not break the bank. Thankfully this little gem was on the list. It's small but well looked after. The rooms were clean and to a good standard, and I have to say I slept well also. The staff were very helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grimston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Had to change rooms twice in a four night stay, firstly due to outside noise from lorries then due to very loud banging noise from within the roof space. On the first change the room never did warm up due to heating being at minimum on entry. However, the staff were very helpful, but it was a terrible ordeal. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Washington A1(M) Northbound, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to hear our staff provided a great service during your stay with us. It is however regrettable to learn you were disturbed by external noise and you found your room was cold. Feedback like yours in invaluable and helps us to improve our service in future before your next visit. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question