We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound

Certificate of Excellence
Moto Service Area A1 M | Portobello, Washington DH3 2SJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived late but was greeted very warmly but a helpful member of staff. Very nicely surprised by the size of the room, very spacious, clean and comfortable. Had a great nights sleep despite being at the front of the building there really was very little road noise. The member of staff in the morning was unable to help us with... More 

Helpful?
Thank TraceyA707
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Easy to find, easy to park, very friendly staff. Clean well maintained facilities. If you need somewhere to stay overnight or as a base to stay in the area then I recommend this one with its easy road links.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights.Newly refurbished all was clean,tidy,functional and quiet.The staff were attentive and friendly.The only drawback to us is that there is no service road in and out and you need to go up and down the A.1 to gain access if you go off site.You really need to know the complicated local road system if you... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Faigs I
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely room, bed & bathroom, but hotel is VERY close to A1/M and so there was road noise all night. Maybe if you asked for a room as far away as possible from the motorway then sleep quality would be improved.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Marjorie L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have a good stay here when visiting Durham. We decided to have a place just to have a good sleep and rest without any need for extra facilities which we did not used. 20 minutes drive to Beamish Museum, 30 minutes drive to Durham city center and we have a very wonderful experience. It quite far from nearest supermarket but... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Akmal A
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

Stayed overnight for business in Dec 2015, room was ideal, clean, comfy beds, spacious, wifi. All staff friendly and welcoming especially Shirley and Ian. Went to the Tavistock for evening meal which was lovely and just a short walk away.

Helpful?
Thank sarah_fitzy_86
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

We use travelodges all the time as they are consistent with what they offer - basically a comfortable place to rest your head at night. They are usually all always clean and tidy with friendly staff, and this one was no exception. With the services nearby you have a good choice of food options too.

Helpful?
Thank emtrey
Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

very clean and tidy staff were exellent home from home feeling on arrival we were greeted by pleasant staff , on entering our room it smelt fresh and clean, the room was well maintained and spotless, the bed was mega comfy i wanted to take it home with me,fresh clean bedding ensured a good nights sleep, no noise from outside... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank geoffreys596
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

Car and trailer parked directly outside reception, yet trailer vandalised and broken into. Car park lighting poor, no CCTV, hedge for people to hide behind, backs on to lorry park with access way through travelodge car park. Travelodge say it is up to service station to resovle. I personally wont stay here again (the hotel inside and staff themeselves were... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 457guest1
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry to learn of the experience you have had whilst staying with us. We would kindly ask you contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form to look into this more thoroughly. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel. More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

Nice large room - we stayed at the end of the corridor and were not disturbed at all. The bed was comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

Helpful?
Thank SusannahLaM
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound, responded to this review

We are delighted to know that we have one more loyal guest and we thank you for using Travelodge. It’s really rewarding for us to know that we were able to provide you with the best service you deserve. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#5 of 6 in Washington
3.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
3.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
2.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 stars 1,503 reviews
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay