We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Washington A1(M) Northbound

Moto Service Area A1(M) | Portobello, Washington DH3 2SJ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Washington A1(M) Northbound
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Travelodge Washington A1(M) Northbound
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
22
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good price for a clean, very pleasant room and, though next to a motorway, quiet! The location is a little basic but the usual service area food is available or a couple of goo restaurants within a couple of miles of the 'lodge. One slight problem; the TV reception I had was poor so don't rely on it to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visiting friends in Newcastle, stayed here for a night. We arrived just after midnight and were welcomed by a cheerful receptionist Ruth, who check us in and ensure that she will around if we needs anything in the room. She opened the door and shown us the right direction to our room. The room was very clean, newly decorated to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped here whilst working for the weekend in Newcastle, we needed somewhere to stay that was local but would not break the bank. Thankfully this little gem was on the list. It's small but well looked after. The rooms were clean and to a good standard, and I have to say I slept well also. The staff were very helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grimston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had to change rooms twice in a four night stay, firstly due to outside noise from lorries then due to very loud banging noise from within the roof space. On the first change the room never did warm up due to heating being at minimum on entry. However, the staff were very helpful, but it was a terrible ordeal. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Washington A1(M) Northbound, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to hear our staff provided a great service during your stay with us. It is however regrettable to learn you were disturbed by external noise and you found your room was cold. Feedback like yours in invaluable and helps us to improve our service in future before your next visit. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Our stay at the travelodge would have been fine apart from the discoloured bath water. It came out a horrible dirty orange colour and was very off putting. My most dissapointment was due to being informed by the hotel receptionest that they were aware of the problem and yet it hadn't been sorted.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Has improved a lot since the last time we stayed here as a family. Great location. A little frustrating to find as postcode is same for both Northbound and Southbound but everyone was in the same boat. Close to the Metro Centre. Even though on the motorway we didn't hear any of it.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We booked this hotel 9 months in advance so we got a super cheap price of £17! We only needed one night as we came up for a wedding in nearby, but this really suited our requirements. The rooms were clean, quiet and the beds were comfy, plus free parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

For £43 a night? Very Good! [Always have to consider the price being paid.] Very warm. New heaters very efficient and quick to warm up. Clean throughout and I mean properly clean, the room was recently refurbished so obviously easy to keep on top of things. Furnishings new but on the cheap side. Comfortable bed. Lights are garish, not soft.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Epping, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

The hotel has gone through the "fresh new look" and has benefited from it. The room was clean and warm and, surprisingly, very little noise came from outside. The addition of secondary glazing has helped. The bathroom was clean and fittings worked perfectly. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liversedge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

The Travelodge was a lovely place to stay, despite being by the side of the A1(M) there was not much noise inside the room. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, well kept and very comfortable. The only drawback was no restaurant or cafe at this site but the team member on reception was happy to help... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Travelodge Washington A1(M) Northbound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Washington A1(M) Northbound

Address: Moto Service Area A1(M) | Portobello, Washington DH3 2SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Washington A1(M) Northbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Washington a1( m) Northbound Hotel Washington
Travel Lodge Washington
Washington Travelodge
Washington Travel Lodge

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay