We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Little Haven Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
River Drive, Littlehaven, South Shields NE33 1LH, England
Hotel amenities
Little Haven Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
Mark G Hitchin, United Kingdom
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    88
    33
    22
    28
See reviews for
84
92
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (312)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

OK, firstly the 5 star rating is based on the views, friendliness of staff and comfort of rooms and the breakfast (not evening meals as I didn't have one! FIRSTLY the rooms views are too die for, if you get a sea view room it's so nice to sit back unwind and drink tea. The rooms are spacious enough, (if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The Little Haven Hotel is a wonderfully relaxed and well run establishment along the picturesque seafront at South Shields. The staff were friendly, helpful and excellently managed by Michael who seems to have endless energy and enthusiasm towards the Hotel's award winning success. Conferencing facilities were very comfortable, technically excellent and well monitored by the hotel team. There is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
7 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice for a romantic evening away but I'd eat before you go. The food isn't good, nor is the service. Rooms are clean with good views. Slightly over priced we felt but it was short notice. As hotels go, South Shields really struggles so this isn't too bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently went here with my family ordered food and drinks, sat down reckoned the bill up and was over charger by £7 had to go to the desk where I was given this back but if I hadn't checked my bill I would not of known about it. After half an hour wait for the children's soft drinks I asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments. On the day in question the order was taken at the till and read back to the guest for confirmation. It was only after referring to the receipt that the customer realised that an extra meal had been ordered by mistake, hence the refund. We read orders back at the till to ensure mistakes... More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great views, just great rooms, book a room begining with 3 and you will not be disappointed, in fact you will not belive it, a room like this elsewhere will cost £300 PLUS, HERE YOU CAN BARGAIN IF ANY ARE EMPTY. and really worth it. Sorry about the food, least said the better but Bravia in town is good, hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful clean hotel very Friendly , stunning views of the sea .room clean and tastefully decorated, and good size,amazing comfy bed, could take it home with me. Nothing bad to say at all. Will definantly stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our Hypnos bed so comfortable. Look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind regards, Graham. More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hi I had a meal and a drink which took 45 minutes,,the meal was like a kids portion ..and the staff come out shouting who's meal is this one even though you give them the table number...very unprofessional or which it does look like a nice place ..but the place is a bit grubby and tired

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this review

The customer visited the Restaurant on a very busy day during the school holidays. The Hotel policy is to inform guests at the till of the expected waiting time for food. If the guest was not informed please accept my apologies. We aim to deliver our food within 15-20 minutes but this is not always possible due to volume of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have just had 4 nights at The Little Haven Hotel, my husband and I a very warm welcome at reception when we arrived on Sunday 29 March 2015 ,we had breakfast every morning it was very good ,and we had to evening meals in the hotel as the weather was not very kind to us while we were there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your four night stay at the Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and evening meals. Hope to see you again in the Summer. More 

North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel in a great spot at the mouth of the Tyne. Warm welcome as we arrived, excellent parking, the room we had was on the ground floor with a view across the estuary, it was very clean and nicely appointed, breakfast was excellent with many options, the only downside of our stay were that the beds were very soft,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at The Little Haven Hotel. Your comments on the room and the choice and quality of our Breakfast are kindly received. Hope to see you again very soon. More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Made very welcome from the minute we booked in! The room was comfortable with a good view of the Tyne estuary and out to sea, though you do have t pay £4.00. a day for the privilege. Service in the restaurant both evening and morning was excellent, the staff at breakfast were very helpful. Room was clean, well serviced and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments regarding how helpful our Breakfast team were and on the warmth and cleanliness of your room. Look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question