We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Leatherhead B&Bs / inns

Sir Douglas Haig

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1 The Street | Effingham, Leatherhead KT24 5LU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sir Douglas Haig to your Saves list
Sir Douglas Haig
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
59%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014
dawn o Leeds, United Kingdom
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    1
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
6
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

my daughter and i checked in on tuesday 25th feb for one night in order to travel into london on wednesday. We were walmly welcomed and shown to our room which was spacious, very clean and with lovely comfy beds. Our nights sleep was uninterupted which i didn't expect being at the front and above the bar but it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northwich, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

..and I did have a decent night's sleep. I tried being clever and booking somewhere relatively cheap but, with seemingly good guest reviews. I made a mistake. I'll let the pictures speak for themselves. Dinner was poor: Frozen chips and veggies accompanying a rather dry steak and ale pie. But, I must mention the cooked breakfast. I know not how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and our two children stayed at the Sir Douglas Haig. Our aim was to experience the qwerky charms of a countryside inn. This was IT! The rooms were spacious. The beds were clean and comfy. The 3' x 5' bath sheet was nice to wrap up in after the bath (wonderful long tub to stretch out in -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

As a business spending thousands of pounds each month on hotels for staff for over a decade now, this is a first for me. We booked the room bed and breakfast for last night, our rep turned up to check in, after a very long day, to find the hotel in darkness and no reply to the telephone or when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas H, General Manager at Sir Douglas Haig, responded to this review

Mike Thank you for your review. As we have spoken about this already i will keep this brief. I would like all of those reading this review to be aware of all of the facts. and the key fact of this situation that you have omitted is that your rep arrived at our Bed and Breakfast at 12.15am without attempting... More

Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Me, my husband and 2 1/2 yr old daughter stayed for two nights at the Sir Douglas Haig. We didn't book breakfast as we were visiting family but the room was lovely and big and was nice and clean. The owners are very accomodating and friendly. We had forgotten to pick up milk one evening for our daughter and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The food was very disappointing especially the Fish & Chips. Over-cooked (reheated?) fish, peas cold, chips dry and tasteless. Salad with dressing was also unnecessary with the fish & chips. Sausage & Mash was only just passable. Large lump of gristle in sausage. Improvement required.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Douglas H, Manager at Sir Douglas Haig, responded to this review

Dear K B I was sorry to hear of your very disappointing visit. We strive to maintain the highest possible standards at all times. Something we obviously did not achieve on this occasion I would very much like to discuss this with you further and see if we can not rectify your ill feelings towards our little hotel. If you... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Went here recently for a Sunday roast lunch with a friend. Food was absolutely horrible - the most tasteless everything I've ever had. Atmosphere horrible - it was pretty dead at Sunday lunch. Cheap tables and seating. I felt like I was sitting back in some grubby pub in South London rather than the lovely area this place actually is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas H, Manager at Sir Douglas Haig, responded to this review

Viktoria Firstly I would like to thank you for your review, we welcome all feedback, good and bad and like to act on them accordingly. Now unfortunately I am new to The Sir Douglas Haig having taken over towards the end of March and I was appalled to read of the experience and service you encountered. I would like to... More

Surrey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

As a small group of people interested in watercolour painting, we like to try the local hostelries for our Christmas luncheon. Following a disaster at the Windsor Castle where the food was inedible we thought we would give the Douglas Haig a try, Our experience was a good one, which was fortunate for me having organised the event. We proposed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Sir Douglas Haig remains our first choice of B and B in the area and to repeat myself from my last review. 'The current landlords have made great improvements which are still ongoing, it is always clean and comfortable. Friendly staff and excellent food make it perfect for us'. Some of the bedroom interiors are still a little shabby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
B
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Looks lovely but don't let that fool you! Spent a part of the evening drinking at the bar and all i could smell was drugs wafting in from outside, not good for families! We tried to put this behind us but later in the evening the pub was invaded by what i can only describe as travelers! Made us all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Douglas H, Manager at Sir Douglas Haig, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We welcome all feedback, both good and bad and appriciate the time you have taken to inform us of these issues. Now i can not comment on your specific stay with The Sir Douglas Haig as I am a new manager who has only recently taken over the Helm Now I can assure... More

Been to Sir Douglas Haig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Douglas Haig

Also Known As:
Sir Douglas Haig Hotel Leatherhead
Sir Douglas Haig Hotel
Sir Douglas Haig Leatherhead, Surrey
Address: 1 The Street | Effingham, Leatherhead KT24 5LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Leatherhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Leatherhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Douglas Haig 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small village Pub with 7 en-suite letting bedrooms, free wifi and lots of free parking. Good honest food and fantastic beer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sir Douglas Haig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Douglas Haig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.