We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Epsom hotels

Chalk Lane Hotel

Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England
Hotel amenities
Chalk Lane Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chalk Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
cajrwaterman Liskeard, United Kingdom
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    28
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
26
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there for one night during business trip. The room was very small and basic and needed refurbishment, so disappointing. Bathroom ok but shower was slightly dirty in places. The restaurant however was a different matter. Excellent quality of food, however very expensive. Breakfast selection excellent. Service very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChalkLane, Owner at Chalk Lane Hotel, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay with us - particularly in relation to the state of the shower. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms so will ensure that this point is investigated fully. We were also disappointed to hear that you felt your bedroom was small - our bedrooms... More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We had an excellent xmas day lunch. A welcoming start with cocktail and canapes, a good choice on the menu with something special as well as traditional all to a high standard. We would not hesitate to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

I had a 60th Birthday Party in September 2014. The room was set up beautifully and the staff were brilliant. We started off with a generous portion of smoked salmon followed by oven roasted rump of Scottish lamb. The meat was absolutely delicious. We followed this with tarte tatin served with creme fraiche and butterscotch sauce. So many guests commented... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We've booked the private room for a birthday party and what an amazing day it was. The service was great and the food exceptional. If you are celebrating something special up to 10 people - don't look any further. Try the lamb. It's simply amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I had a very brief stay at the hotel. I found it a pleasant one. The evening meal was excellent. The salmon starter was almost a meal on its own. Unfortunately I had an engagement at a nearby college very early in the morning, so I couldn't sample a proper cooked breakfast. But I was provided with a simple breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We have just stayed overnight for a wonderful wedding reception with very good food and a lovely location in a very quiet part of Epsom. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was very good. We did feel that the rooms were very expensive for a very basic stay. Unfortunately I have to confirm that the problem with the mattresses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend my nieces wedding. Shared a room with my sister and on arrival found we had been upgraded. Room was very spacious. Pair of dirty socks in the chest of drawers and some type of pill on floor at side of the bed. Apart from that the room seemed reasonably clean. Breakfast was lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I arranged a surprise birthday lunch for my mum here in July 2014. I pre-booked it a month in advance for 11 ladies and was given a selection of dishes and options to choose from for a light buffet style lunch that I wanted. Steven who runs The Chalk Lane did a wonderful job and arranged everything perfectly. My mum... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I selected this hotel from the internet as a mid way venue to meet an old friend for lunch and coffee. When we arrived I had to go and find someone to order a coffee. There was no one else having coffee so it was not busy. I was made to feel I had inconvenienced them by placing the order... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great location and character but needs refurbishing and new beds. Food is nice but very expensive considering, Staff are mainly foreign and in the main unhelpful. Please double check your bill for extras you have not consumed and don't hold your breath for an apology if they admit the overcharged items.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChalkLane, Owner at Chalk Lane Hotel, responded to this review

I’m sorry to hear that you weren’t completely satisfied with your stay with us, however I wanted to address some of the issues you raise in your review. All of our beds and mattresses are supplied to us by a very reputable hotel supplier. Seeing as our business is that of providing guests with a calm and comfortable place to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chalk Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalk Lane Hotel

Address: Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Chalk Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalk Lane Epsom

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay