We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Epsom hotels

Chalk Lane Hotel

Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England
Hotel amenities
Chalk Lane Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chalk Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Henk S London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
25
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've booked the private room for a birthday party and what an amazing day it was. The service was great and the food exceptional. If you are celebrating something special up to 10 people - don't look any further. Try the lamb. It's simply amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I had a very brief stay at the hotel. I found it a pleasant one. The evening meal was excellent. The salmon starter was almost a meal on its own. Unfortunately I had an engagement at a nearby college very early in the morning, so I couldn't sample a proper cooked breakfast. But I was provided with a simple breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We have just stayed overnight for a wonderful wedding reception with very good food and a lovely location in a very quiet part of Epsom. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was very good. We did feel that the rooms were very expensive for a very basic stay. Unfortunately I have to confirm that the problem with the mattresses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend my nieces wedding. Shared a room with my sister and on arrival found we had been upgraded. Room was very spacious. Pair of dirty socks in the chest of drawers and some type of pill on floor at side of the bed. Apart from that the room seemed reasonably clean. Breakfast was lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I arranged a surprise birthday lunch for my mum here in July 2014. I pre-booked it a month in advance for 11 ladies and was given a selection of dishes and options to choose from for a light buffet style lunch that I wanted. Steven who runs The Chalk Lane did a wonderful job and arranged everything perfectly. My mum... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I selected this hotel from the internet as a mid way venue to meet an old friend for lunch and coffee. When we arrived I had to go and find someone to order a coffee. There was no one else having coffee so it was not busy. I was made to feel I had inconvenienced them by placing the order... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great location and character but needs refurbishing and new beds. Food is nice but very expensive considering, Staff are mainly foreign and in the main unhelpful. Please double check your bill for extras you have not consumed and don't hold your breath for an apology if they admit the overcharged items.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChalkLane, Owner at Chalk Lane Hotel, responded to this review

I’m sorry to hear that you weren’t completely satisfied with your stay with us, however I wanted to address some of the issues you raise in your review. All of our beds and mattresses are supplied to us by a very reputable hotel supplier. Seeing as our business is that of providing guests with a calm and comfortable place to... More 

Acapulco, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have stayed several times at the Chalk Lane Hotel so I thought it was about time I wrote a short review of it. I grew up in Epsom but haven't lived there for over 35 years and although the town itself seems to have become much more seedy than it used to be now that charity shops have replaced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tadworth, Surrey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Have just returned from a 90th birthday celebratory lunch for 30 people in the restaurant. The food, service, ambience were superb, I understand a few staff had not turned up today but you would never have known. If you have never dined here put it on your to do list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here last year for a function and was impressed and looking forward to this years, Arrived a little early but was still shown to my lovely room, lovely until you opened the windows! The room was above the kitchens right next to the extractor fan and directly above the fan itself. What a din and what a smell, whatever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chalk Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalk Lane Hotel

Address: Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Chalk Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalk Lane Epsom

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay