We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chalk Lane Hotel

#5 of 7 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England
Hotel amenities
Chalk Lane Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
kizzwhizzy56 Beverley, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    32
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
16
27
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was difficult to book this hotel over the phone but the effort was worth it because this is such a lovely situation. In 10 minutes you can walk up to the top of the downs by the racecourse. The breakfast was fine but I cannot comment on the dinner menu as we ate out. The room was very clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I lived in Epsom for nearly 30 years and had dined at the Chalk Lane many times. Returning to the town for a family celebration we decided to stay the night at the hotel. Our room was quiet, well furnished and spotlessly clean. Having free wi-fi was an added bonus as was the deliciously cooked breakfast that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a party of 5 staying at the Chalk Lane for the Derby weekend. We had a great time, the hosts are most hospitable, the food is excellent and the rooms are very comfortable. We all had breakfast and dinner both days of our stay and were very happy with the service and the delicious food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Recently completed a four-night stay for a business trip (second such trip in 12 months), and I really like this hotel. The rooms, though unremarkable, are comfortable and clean. However, three things have made my experience at the Chalk Lane memorable; the friendly staff, the quiet/peaceful setting, and the great food. I highly recommend an evening beverage/cocktail in the courtyard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Book a two night stay for a family wedding 1st impression was hotel was a bit old fashioned and tired, car park at rear was large but hard to move cases (pea shingle) and three rather large steps down to door to gain access, found out later there is a ramp at other end of car park ! Once inside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

Wedding blues Having found the hotel with ease due to the well placed road sings, I was initially pleased by the occasion and was happy to overlook some minor issues. The receptionist was helpful, polite and allowed I and my wife to check in early which was a huge blessing being able to change befor the church service. The problems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChalkLane, Owner at Chalk Lane Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on your recent stay with us. There are a couple of points you mention that we feel need clarification. With regards to our team of part time staff that were working at the wedding reception you attended, I would like to reassure you that while we mainly use students to... More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

A very competitive price at £99 for a single room, inc free WiFi and full breakfast. Evening meal available in restaurant, room or lounge. Bit pricey but nice to have crudites with a panini, though the latter was luke warm and the base soggy. Room was delightfully quirky (no.9) with stairs, and with blue & white wallpaper on almost every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We were served very delicious food in a careful and unhurried manner. Starters and mains consisted of good ingredients, beautifully cooked and nicely presented. Service attentive and friendly. The hotel is in a tucked away spot and had a wedding going on but this had no impact on our meal. Very happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015 via mobile

well ware do I start,I think a very big thank you to all the staff who helped our big day go off so smoothly there was nothing to big or to small for them to help with, the wedding breakfast was just amazing, and the house wine was more than acceptable ( red & white ) As this hotel has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Stayed there for one night during business trip. The room was very small and basic and needed refurbishment, so disappointing. Bathroom ok but shower was slightly dirty in places. The restaurant however was a different matter. Excellent quality of food, however very expensive. Breakfast selection excellent. Service very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChalkLane, Owner at Chalk Lane Hotel, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay with us - particularly in relation to the state of the shower. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms so will ensure that this point is investigated fully. We were also disappointed to hear that you felt your bedroom was small - our bedrooms... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay