We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chalk Lane Hotel

#5 of 7 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England
Hotel amenities
Chalk Lane Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Websters85 Feltham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    30
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
27
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Feltham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Book a two night stay for a family wedding 1st impression was hotel was a bit old fashioned and tired, car park at rear was large but hard to move cases (pea shingle) and three rather large steps down to door to gain access, found out later there is a ramp at other end of car park ! Once inside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Wedding blues Having found the hotel with ease due to the well placed road sings, I was initially pleased by the occasion and was happy to overlook some minor issues. The receptionist was helpful, polite and allowed I and my wife to check in early which was a huge blessing being able to change befor the church service. The problems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very competitive price at £99 for a single room, inc free WiFi and full breakfast. Evening meal available in restaurant, room or lounge. Bit pricey but nice to have crudites with a panini, though the latter was luke warm and the base soggy. Room was delightfully quirky (no.9) with stairs, and with blue & white wallpaper on almost every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We were served very delicious food in a careful and unhurried manner. Starters and mains consisted of good ingredients, beautifully cooked and nicely presented. Service attentive and friendly. The hotel is in a tucked away spot and had a wedding going on but this had no impact on our meal. Very happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015 via mobile

well ware do I start,I think a very big thank you to all the staff who helped our big day go off so smoothly there was nothing to big or to small for them to help with, the wedding breakfast was just amazing, and the house wine was more than acceptable ( red & white ) As this hotel has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Stayed there for one night during business trip. The room was very small and basic and needed refurbishment, so disappointing. Bathroom ok but shower was slightly dirty in places. The restaurant however was a different matter. Excellent quality of food, however very expensive. Breakfast selection excellent. Service very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChalkLane, Owner at Chalk Lane Hotel, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay with us - particularly in relation to the state of the shower. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms so will ensure that this point is investigated fully. We were also disappointed to hear that you felt your bedroom was small - our bedrooms... More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We had an excellent xmas day lunch. A welcoming start with cocktail and canapes, a good choice on the menu with something special as well as traditional all to a high standard. We would not hesitate to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

I had a 60th Birthday Party in September 2014. The room was set up beautifully and the staff were brilliant. We started off with a generous portion of smoked salmon followed by oven roasted rump of Scottish lamb. The meat was absolutely delicious. We followed this with tarte tatin served with creme fraiche and butterscotch sauce. So many guests commented... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We've booked the private room for a birthday party and what an amazing day it was. The service was great and the food exceptional. If you are celebrating something special up to 10 people - don't look any further. Try the lamb. It's simply amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I had a very brief stay at the hotel. I found it a pleasant one. The evening meal was excellent. The salmon starter was almost a meal on its own. Unfortunately I had an engagement at a nearby college very early in the morning, so I couldn't sample a proper cooked breakfast. But I was provided with a simple breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities