We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Epsom hotels

Chalk Lane Hotel

Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chalk Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Chalk Lane Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Lee K London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    22
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
10
24
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a bit more like a B&B than a hotel, but charming and with excellent service. The rooms are charming albeit small and not super modern. Still, WIFI worked very well and breakfast was very good. I was here for work, but think this is ideally suited to vacation travel. Still I would come back next time I'm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wodonga, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding nearby. The Room: We booked a small double room which they should have called a tiny double room. The room was quaint and cute, but the bed was very small, very hard and on rollers so would move when you get in and out. The Bathroom: The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was a business trip, and so long and busy days were the norm. After the first week, it was a gorgeous Saturday, mild and without a cloud in the sky, and I had planned an outing to Greenwich, a rare tourist-y day during business travel. Unfortunately, I was so exhausted that I stayed in bed. The staff had not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Attended social function and decided to book a room. On arrival we were swiftly upgraded to a spacious and neat room with large en-suite. No doubt value for money. Large dining event well managed. Great breakfast where my greedy friend was without prompting offered by friendly and bubbly waitress a bigger portion. Comment below about portion sizes unfair. Plenty enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bath
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here only because attending a function. ' snack menu' expensive £11.50 for sandwich which was supermarket bread and poor fillings. The English breakfast was ok if you weren't hungry, 1 rasher of bacon one sausage a sprinkling of mushrooms and half a tomato. Bar prices also expensive in function room. Only saving grace was the staff who were all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChalkLane, Manager at Chalk Lane Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read you had a disappointing stay with us. We never like to read that one of our guest has not enjoyed their stay, however whilst we always take on board any comments, negative or otherwise we do feel that a few of your points were unfair & do not offer a true reflexion of our hotel.... More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I had a function nearby and booked three couples into Chalk Lane. The feedback I got the following day was so disappointing. Even the normal doubles were so small - one had condensation on the walls, no dressing gowns etc which you would expect for that price. Other guests at Holiday Inn nearby loved it and was less than half... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Invited to a birthday celebration.Wide choice on the menu.Beautifully cooked and presented.Attentive staff. The hotel itself appeared well cared for with reception giving a very welcoming introduction to the hotel.Lots of parking .Obviously being a guest I have no idea of the price of our meal.Dance floor proved very popular ,a thoroughly enjoyable evening all round . Only one thing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at Chalk Lane Hotel, and it confirmed my first impression had not been a whim. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay: It's tucked away in one of the the most beautiful, peaceful and tranquil areas of Epsom, staffed by warm, friendly, and genuinely people-oriented folks. The rooms are cozy, clean, and generally well maintained, and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very disappointed at the price. Room very small, this was not pointed out when we booked. Large dirty stains on the carpet, the bathroom was tiny we almost had to stand behind the toilet to open the shower door. The smallest amount of toiletries they could get away with not even one each. We were obviously above staff rooms as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A big THANKYOU to Stephen, and the team, for making my parents Diamond Wedding Anniversary celebration such a great success. We were a small party of 19 and the private dining room was perfect. The access to the private terrace and pretty garden was the icing on the cake as it was a very hot day and the parasols and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Chalk Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalk Lane Hotel

Also Known As:
Chalk Lane Epsom
Address: Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chalk Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalk Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.