We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carlton Mitre Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hampton Court Rd | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England
Hotel amenities
Carlton Mitre Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Molesey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Damian H Penarth, United Kingdom
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    134
    55
    19
    10
See reviews for
41
176
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (347)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Penarth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Hotel as it was my best Friend's Wedding. The staff could not do enough through the wedding, which was fantastic. The wedding venue looks out over the river and the terrace, especially in this warm, sunny spring day, was a delight. Considering that it is right across from Hampton Court, the hotel was amazingly quiet both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Carlton Mitre in Hampton court with friends, during March on a Saturday evening. Our purpose for the visit was due to us attending a rugby match at Twickenham and the hotel is located conveniently in order to get into the centre of Twickenham - a taxi is 10 minutes and costs around £15. I believe there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your super review. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay and I really hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for a few nights on a business trip, and overall was very pleased. The bed was very comfy, the shower was decent (although my colleague had a cold shower one morning). I didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening, but the breakfast every morning was great. Complimentary soft drinks, snacks, and small beer and wine in the minibar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. It sounds like overall you had a great stay (but please do apologise to your colleague if his shower was cold on one morning - that doesn't sound right at all). I really hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future - possibly in the summer when you can... More 

Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Staff very friendly and welcoming, the rooms are of excellent size and bed very comfy, however decor and bathroom in particular very tired and needs modernising Location is superb on the river next to Hampton Court, Be aware that there is VERY limited parking and this is frustrating

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback about the staff, size of the rooms and our beds. We do always try and keep our rooms looking lovely though we are a 'traditionally styled boutique hotel which sometimes can be seen as a bit dated even if the items are brand new. In regards to the parking - yes unfortunately due to... More 

Gilmorton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our overall experience was fair. The staff were generally very good, particularly in the bistro, where we found the food to be good. The breakfast however was at best average. Overall the hotel was tired and in need of some TLC. Bed ok although pillows poor. If I was staying in the area I would use this hotel again but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and lovely comments about the staff and brasserie. I am really disappointed to hear that you only found the hotel fair to average as, although we are traditional in style due to our historic building, we always try to keep the hotel in lovely condition. In regards to the pillows - I am a little... More 

Shoreham-by-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just stayed at the Carlton mitre relacing comfortable good hotel . Staff friendly helpful . The room was large river views well equipped, nice touchsbers soft drinks wine and Hershey bar in fridge tea coffee facilities filters coffee maker alas no filter so couldn't, make coffee. Newspaper in the morning too. We are there in the evening with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback - it sounds like you had a great stay overall. I will however bring the subtitles issue and the coffee filter to the attention of our Housekeeping Manager so that this can be looked into. Overall I really hope that you enjoyed Hampton Court as much as it sounds and that we can welcome... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Can't fault my stay in any way. Staff are extremely friendly and well mannered. Room is ample, and slept well. Fantastic location with excellent bars and restaurants nearby. Views are great- looking out over the Thames in the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your super review! I really hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon. More 

Grayshott, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just got married at the carlton mitre on the 8th March 2015 Absolutely had a great day.the staff couldn't do enough. Thanks to all the staff. Our day was perfect. To all reading this review we all have different experience's and different values to service I have three restaurants and must say these guys were great . And would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad we were part of your special day and that you have great memories. I hope that we see you both again soon! More 

Manchester U.K.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a 3 day break at this hotel. The check-in process was dealt with quickly and efficiently. Outside parking is limited and not helped by conferences being held there. The reception saw to the parking of my car in hotel spaces once the conference delegates had left. We dined the first night in the hotel which was an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your super feedback. It sounds like you really enjoyed your time at the hotel and I hope that we could welcome you back in the future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here when visiting Hampton Court Palace (which is literally just across the road). Our room was superb,spotlessly clean with views along the river.Because it was raining we decided to eat in and were very glad that we did. The food was excellent ,very reasonably priced and served by friendly and attentive waiters. Breakfast too was a relaxing experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely, lovely review. It sounds like you had a super stay and I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question