We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carlton Mitre Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hampton Court Rd | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England
Hotel amenities
Carlton Mitre Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Molesey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
grumpyolegit Bristol, United Kingdom
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    141
    56
    21
    10
See reviews for
43
186
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (362)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel is just across the road from Hampton Court Palace entrance & a few minutes stroll from the rail station. It also has a bar & restaurant with lovely views across the river Thames. We were lucky with the weather so were able to enjoy drinks outside at the river's edge. Food in the restaurant was very good & not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you had a super experience and its really nice of you to share this on TripAdvisor. I really hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
6 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is perfect for exploring Hampton Court Palace, as it is situated in front of the main entrance gates. The downside is the poor parking. We however were able to park at the railway station just a few minutes walk away. Our room was more of a suite, with a bathroom, study annexe, a huge bed, armchairs and table,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I am really glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you have occasion to return to the area soon. More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just visited Hampton Court & stayed at the Carlton Mitre Hotel which is situated directly opposite the entrance to Hampton Court. The station is also nearby and so this hotel is in a perfect position. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful from the moment we stepped through the door until the time we left. Car parking is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you had a great experience and I really hope that we can welcome you back to Hampton Court in the future. In regards to the air con - we wish we had a more attractive solution as well; however at present we are limited to the free standing units. We have... More 

Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked this for work, but glad I brought my wife along! Built in 1665 and across the street from a castle, it drips charm! Best part, it is right on the River Thames and dining has a spectacular view. Only complaint is a bit old mattress and bad internet service, but otherwise - wow!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your super review. I am so glad that you and your wife really enjoyed your stay and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our wedding here just over three weeks ago and we couldn't have been more happy with the venue. We were given excellent support and assistance before the wedding to ensure that everything went as we wanted it to. All staff were extremely helpful on the day, by attending to the needs of all of our wedding guests. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad to hear that you had a perfect day and it is lovely to think we will be the venue in your special memories. I really hope that we can welcome you both back to the hotel very soon or if not possibly for your 1st Anniversary! More 

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel over the Easter weekend and had a great stay . We arrived early but we were able to check in and recieved a very friendly welcome from the gentleman that checked us in. The room was lovely and spacious with its own complimentary mini bar and had a view of the Thames. We had lunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location, the hotel and our service. I really hope that we can welcome you back in the future. More 

nottingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

lovely location, reception check in was quick and efficient. Nice touch of complimentary mini bar and newspapers but unfortunately we didn't get them the first night, had to tell reception, then was sorted for the second night. Room was very spacious, but had a few issues with the cleansiness. Skirting boards dusty and stains on bed throw. Breakfast was lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, Owner at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback but please accept my apologies for the few items you did mention that let your stay down, particularly any fails in cleanliness. I will be bringing these issues up with our housekeeping team as it is such a shame that these points maybe prevented your stay from being 100% perfect. I really... More 

Birmingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel facilities were excellent, lovely large rooms and full of character. Well equipped including a user friendly coffee machine. Good breakfast with high quality ingredients. The wedding could not be faulted and was hugely enjoyable. Wedding breakfast cooked perfectly and hot. All the staff on table, at the bar and on reception were professional and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is really lovely to read that you enjoyed the wedding and the hotel in general. I cannot thank you enough or posting your experiences and hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel for another occasion in the future. More 

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Got a secret escapes deal. Dinner bed and breakfast which was a good deal, although we agreed that the hotel was not worth the advertised room rates. Our room was river facing and so it was much quieter than the Palace facing rooms which have the main road in front of them and is very noisy and busy. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely overall review - it sounds like you enjoyed a lot about the hotel. In regards to the windows - I am really sorry about this and really sorry that you found the air con too noisy to use. The windows absolutely should open but only to a certain level for health and safety reasons so... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel due to its location to Hampton Court Palace. Pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The staff are very pleasant and the room was very clean. The food from the restaurant ( lunch ) was basic, but very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is always great to hear that we have exceeded expectations and I really hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question