We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carlton Mitre Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hampton Court Rd | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carlton Mitre Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Carlton Mitre Hotel
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    127
    49
    19
    9
See reviews for
37
159
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (313)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

From the initial direct booking, and throughout our whole stay, the Carlton Mitre Hotel team made this family gathering a very special weekend to remember. Our thanks go out to Martin and everyone else! The hotel is only 5 minutes short walk away from the railway station and located just across the bridge on the opposite side of the River... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reception and greeting was pleasant and professional. Traditional hotel, very nice room (although view of rear yard not very picturesque :) ) Breakfast was buffet style but nonetheless well presented and fresh with a good selection. All staff I encountered were very pleasant and professional. Excellent location by the river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and really hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel if you have business in the area again. More 

Leicester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned to the Carlton Mitre following an incident in July at the invitation of management. I have waited to write this review as you can only submit 1 review in three months. The room we had on out second visit was at the back overlooking the Thames. The view was perfect and we had a good nights sleep. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a second review, it is very much appreciated. I am so glad that you had a great stay with us and experienced the true Mitre. I hope you will have occasion to visit Hampton Court again in the future and hope we are able to welcome you back at such a time. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a Friday night as a surprise for my fiancee's birthday. What a good choice! From the minute we arrived the staff were fantastic and could not have done more to make our stay special. I had dealt with Ajay when booking the room and he had upgraded us to the King Henry suite. This room is amazing! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am so glad that you had a lovely stay and really happy to hear that you found the staff excellent throughout your stay. I hope we are able to welcome you back soon. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night on business. The hotel is OK; bit dated, poor parking but generally alright. The issue I had was with the noise from above. Having had a long day all I wanted to do was sleep. What I got was creaking footsteps interspersed with virtually audible conversation and creaking pipes from the upstairs bathroom. It was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry you had a poor nights sleep as we always hope our guest have the perfect comfortable stay. We are an old building dating back to 1665, so we are unfortunately subject to the odd creaking floorboard but am really shocked to hear that you had such a bad nights sleep (as... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
69 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a local wedding so didn't eat in except soups in the Brasserie which was food. Hotel v warm and our bedroom has a Heath Robinson highly large large mobile AC unit with a condensing hose emptying through a window pane. Should not open windo at all to cool off as sealed and unit so loud it was like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that some things let your stay down. Firstly please let me apologise for your taxi not arriving. I have gone through this with our Reception Manager and unfortunately we were let down by the taxi company we booked. I am so, so sorry that this caused you... More 

Bristol UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Stayed last Saturday just for one night. Making a weekend of it with watching Rugby at twickenham on the Saturday and visiting hampton court on the Sunday this hotel is perfectly located. Easy transport links from the station across the road and the gates of hampton court directly across from the hotel. Checkin was smooth even tho I'd paid in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, your feedback is really appreciated. I am so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and had a great weekend at the Rugby. In regards to the hotel - unfortunately we are really traditional in style but please rest assured that we continually try to update and maintain... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We visited the hotel for one night; the building is old and has some quaint features including sloping floors. Our room was spacious but the decoration was somewhat old and could do with updating. However, it was clean and tidy; for us the bed was hard but that is personal preference and the pillows were very flat and uncomfortable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and positive comments. I am really glad that you had a nice stay overall. Firstly I would really like to apologise about the way the room service mix up was dealt with. Our staff are normally complimented on their conduct so I would like to assure you that this matter has now been... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Had our business team building at the hotel. The conference room was well set up and the service was great throughout the day. Staffs were very friendly and the hotel have maintained the traditional English feel. However, the hotel WiFi was poor and the heating system was lots to be desired. Some of my colleagues didn't have any heating and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am glad to hear all the lovely comments and please rest assured that we are constantly trying to improve our wifi signal in the weaker areas of the building to offer the best service possible. I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Good location for Hampton Court Palace - But... Very disappointed with the booking system. The room was booked way in advance of stay for wedding in the hotel. The hotel failed to send confirmation and did not make a booking. They made the mistake and did not apologise and then blamed us for not checking on the confirmation. Terrible customer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on TripAdvisor. Though we are a little disappointed that you felt the need to do this, I really hope that we can again resolve some of these matters though this explanation. Firstly please accept my apologies for your disappointment but please, please don’t feel that there was any aspect of blame being... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Carlton Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Mitre Hotel

Address: Hampton Court Rd | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Mitre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carlton Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Mitre Surrey
Carlton Mitre Hotel East Molesey, England, UK

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay