We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon

3.0 of 5 1 Lansdowne Road, Croydon CR9 2BN, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    36
    32
    21
    14
See reviews for
16
36
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My company booked me and my work colleagues in this hotel my Company asked if thay have parking thay told us yes ( but I could not fit my van in to NPC carpark :-( when I check in there was a party underway spoke to receptionist who gave us room key and pointed us to elevator.......... When elevator doors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tomasz M, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Dear Andyshee1979, Thank you for booking a room at Lansdowne Hotel and for taking the time to review your experiences. I am extremely sorry for any disappointment you experienced at Lansdowne Hotel. I would be grateful if you could find time to call me at the Hotel (0208 861 3381) to discuss your feedback in more detail, as I have... More 

England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Good cleaners and handymen, most helpful. Room was small but when I complained we were moved to a larger one. WiFi was awful. Manager said he would improve it but seemed unable. Our room was at the front of the building so next to a noisy road. On the good side, my wife enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tomasz M, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Dear Frederick, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel and sharing your experiences with everyone. I am extremely pleased to read that you found our staff excellent with cleaners and handyman to be most helpful. It is so good to hear positive comments about the staff as everyone works so hard to make every guest... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is well situated nr East Croydon station and the main high at... And the rooms are well heated and reasonably clean, although I did drop my kindle down the side of the bed and when I pulled it out there was a used condom underneath (this was on my 3rd night In the room) so I'm guessing the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tomasz M, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Dear Treeboy1969, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel and sharing your experiences with everyone. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel to be well situated, close to East Croydon Station and the High Street. It also good to hear that you found the rooms to be well heated and reasonably clean.... More 

Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Stayed for one night in October.. I was surprised at how small the rooms were (and especially the lift!) however the rooms were clean and all facilities were up to standard. Electric Radiator was adequate for the room. I would recommend shutting the window at night as it can get very noisy during the night. unfortunately my stay was too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tomasz M, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Dear Harrybuther, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel and sharing your experience with everyone. I am very pleased to read that you found your room’s cleanliness very good and the in-room facilities suitably impressive. We usually receive extremely positive feedback regarding our complimentary Health Club facilities so it is a real pity you did... More 

Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Room was a good enough size and location was perfect. My docking station did not work and the wifi in the room was terrible (5 mins to load gmail). The bar downstairs was ok however was shut at 10pm when we came back from dinner. If you stay don't have the breakfast for £6 we got a piece of toast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tomasz M, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel and sharing your experience with everyone. I am very pleased to read that you found your room suitably large and the hotel’s location perfect. I am also glad to hear that that gym facilities were to your liking. Indeed just a walk across the corridor and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Staying here for a couple of nights while my partner has his stag party at home. Needed somewhere convenient for central London and was attracted by pool and spa facilities. As it turns out my daytime plans to use both were altered due to last minute wedding errands, I think my review would have been more favourable if I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tomasz M, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Dear Joanne, Thank you very much for taking the time out to review our Hotel and sharing your experience with everyone. I am very pleased to read that you found your room comfortable and clean although a little on the small side. I am also glad to read that our complimentary wifi, iPod docks and range of tv channels were... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in September. The public areas were presentable and clean enough and service was fine. However, the twin room was very small, cracked and mouldy tiling in the bathroom and the beds were dire! Both mattresses had loose springs protruding so that you could feel them individually when you lay on the bed. We had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tomasz M, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Dear SchoolDr, Thank you very much for taking the time out to review our Hotel and sharing your experience with everyone. I am very pleased to read that you found our public areas clean and presentable and our service suitably impressive. It is also good to hear that you took advantage of our complimentary pool, jacuzzi and sauna and found... More 

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This hotel is in the heart of Croydon so has no parking but gives a good discount at the NCP. Friendly helpful staff, and the room was clean, well equipped and very quiet but really small. The bathroom was good except the shower head was furred up so not a very effective jet. We asked for breakfast and were directed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tomasz M, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Dear Pellican23, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and sharing your experiences. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel well located close to East Croydon station, Fairfield Halls and the Whitgift Centre. I am also glad to see that you found your room quiet, clean and well equipped. Breakfast is the most important... More 

isle of man
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Booked this hotel as visiting the nearby Bethlem Hospital for work but also was accompanied by my husband as would prefer to travel with company. The hotel is well situated close to the East Croyden rail station just 15 minutes by train from Gatwick . Our double room was satisfactory but we were very kindly upgraded to a spacious room... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tomasz M, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you had an enjoyable and memorable stay. We hope to welcome you back soon Kind regards, Tomasz Michalak General Manager More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Good location for train into London. Efficient staff, small rooms, functional and clean but very noisy. Stayed on 4th floor and you can hear people talking in the street below at 3 in the morning let alone traffic noise! Access for breakfast is via the bar - very smokey lobby - closed burger bar - coffee shop. Staff fine but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tomasz M, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Dear Catsailor2014, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and sharing your experiences. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel to be well located with easy access to London. It also good to see that you found our staff efficient and rooms functional and clean although a little on the smaller side. On a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon

Address: 1 Lansdowne Road, Croydon CR9 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Croydon

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay