We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Croydon hotels

Hallmark Hotel Croydon

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Purley Way, Croydon CR9 4LT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hallmark Hotel Croydon to your Saves list
Hallmark Hotel Croydon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
49%
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Croydon
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
R80ATK Staffordshire, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (199)
  • Photos (51)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (48)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    60
    45
    32
    22
See reviews for
22
37
12
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I checked in later evening (10.30pm) took me over 10mins to get checked in, then to be told I was on the 4th floor and the lift was out of order... No offer of help with case or bags. Rooms are pleasant enough, compact but well laid out and furnished nicely. I had no toilet rolls my room, so called... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
newmarket, suffolk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

stayed here from the 14th of July to the 18th.... the food was lovely and the banoffee pie desert was OMG , the staff were very friendly and very helpful! my room was great for one person and even though the aircon didn't work the operations manager found me a fan which was excellent , he did give me the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding the window being left open and the wi fi. I will take these comments on board. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. More

Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Have just been for lunch at the hotel, there was nobody else in the restaurant but has taken us over an hour to have lunch, then couldn't sort out the bill. One item ordered wasn't available, so an alternative had to be found, another was asked without relish as a sandwich, was given a wrap with relish, sent it back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to hear about your poor experience in our brassiere recently. As you said you are next door and I would really like to opportunity to make up for your substandard lunch last week. If you would like to contact me directly as I would like to discuss this with you personally. I look forward to hearing... More

Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really disappointing stay at this hotel. Booked for a week; bad decision! Had my daughter and elderly mother with me. We requested a large superior room. Our room could barely accommodate the three of us. The lift was broken and each time we enquired, we were told it would be fixed the following day (we were on the 7th floor).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience and discomfort caused during your stay with us. Unfortunately we have did have a problem with the lift, and passed on the information that we were given from our engineers but disappointingly they were unable to repair it as soon as we would have hoped. Immediately when I... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 12th July for 1 night. Very hot room,even with air con. 1towel for a double room, dirty bath, dirty toilet, dirty floor. Big stain on carpet. Sent general manager an e_mail & have telephoned 4 times, she,s never in the office. Breakfast was OK. Would,nt stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

My apologies that we did not get the opportunity to speak when you rang the hotel, I am happy that we have spoken since and managed to resolve the issues raised, I appreciate your feedback and have addressed with the relevant people, to ensure we never have a repeat of what happened during your stay. More

Lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I cannot express how disappointing the family weekend break was at this hotel. Awful check in service, noisy discos, rooms on first floor above reception like furnaces!, no lifts working for the 3 day stay, dirty linen stacked up in corridors, badly stained towels, food not great, probably one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at.... terrible.... in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I will certainly take your comments on board to address them. I would have liked the opportunity to have addressed these matters while you were staying with us, if you are ever in the area again I would appreciate if... More

Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed from 4th -7th July 2014 there was myself and my husband my daughter and partner with 2 yr old and then my other daughter with her partner. On arrival from outside the hotel looks like it is a good hotel. Reception area and lounge area okay, However after driving for 5 hours we arrives at 11.50pm to check in.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

We sincerely apologise for the problems you encountered, of course we would like the opportunity to make amends. I would hope that you could contact me directly at the hotel so we can discuss these matters in more details. More

Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having stayed in this hotel several times,I would always return! Spacious room , very clean , and a glorious inclusive breakfast. Amazing value for money! And even free entry to the leisure center across the road! Just Up from TGIF which is brilliant! I will be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More

Derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We travel a great deal for work and the food in this hotel is the best we have had yet. Whatever the chef is being paid they deserve. We stayed 2 nights and had different meals both nights the steak I had on the first evening was better than the one I paid far more for at a renowned London... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that your enjoyed your recent stay with us especially your dinning experience. I have been sure to pass on your lovely comments to all the team. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly the staff are very friendly and helpful which was great however the hotel is awful. It is like a sauna! There are fans by the beds to help but the air con (if you can call it that) does not work, despite being assured it was working perfectly. Windows dont open wide and being on purley way the noise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hallmark Hotel Croydon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hallmark Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Croydon

Address: Purley Way, Croydon CR9 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Croydon 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aerodrome Classic Hotel Croydon
Classic Hotel Croydon
Croydon Classic Hotel

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Transformation Continues - The £2 million refurbishment at Hallmark Croydon, formerly the Aerodrome, is gathering pace. Originally built in 1928 to serve the airport, it has a well loved heritage in Surrey. Alongside the 50 newly designed bedrooms, the stunning lobby, stylish lounge bar and Brasserie are beginning to take shape with completion due at the end of October. Need a meeting venue? For those organising meetings and events, Hallmark Hotel in Croydon offers a range of rooms including the stylish Amy Johnson Suite. The function rooms are well equipped and can cater for up to 170 delegates. Unwind: Relax in one of 110 bedrooms or indulge in a glass of fine wine and something satisfyingly tasty served in the informal surroundings of the Brasserie. Whatever your taste, we're sure to offer something for everyone. When the workday is done, why not unwind in either Greens Health & Fitness Club or LA Fitness with an energetic workout, exercise class or a quick dip in the pool – both less than 10 minutes walk from the hotel! Residents benefit from FREE access to both Health Clubs. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
110

See which rooms travelers prefer