We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stanhill Court Hotel

Hotel website
StanHill | near Gatwick Airport, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EP, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Stanhill Court Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
MANSFIED, NOTTS UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel through Independents Hotel Association. Unfortunatley I had to cancel and could only get in touch with the hotel at 0830 on the day of the booking. The hotel was totally unsympathetic and decided that the bill of £85 must be paid in full. I informed them that I stay often, 10time per year plus in the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank GREGGY57
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review

It is difficult to review a hotel when you have not even crossed the threshold but regarding your late cancellation, steps were taken to transfer your booking to another date but even though you insist you are in the area at least ten times per year on business, you could not provide one. We also suggest you take this matter... More 

Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here the night before our holiday and on our return after 2 weeks away. The hotel couldn't have been more welcoming-it was lovely. We booked an early check in after our night time return flight but we're even earlier than expected. As our room was not quite ready the manager asked us to take a seat and relax... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor - always welcome! More 

supersteveo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are experienced travelers so feel compelled to write this review. Recently used this Hotel for one night before our winter break, with the bonus of free parking for the duration of our holiday. Firstly, On the return into Gatwick, we called the Taxi company to collect us as arranged . We were told that we would have to wait... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank supersteveo
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments. We are disappointed that staff suggested you search online for local taxi companies. We only use two and one of those is an independent company. We have requested further cards from taxi companies but they do not respond. As you know, Gatwick is a major international airport and is not only busy with airport... More 

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

stayed here and left car for 2 1/2 weeks a few pounds more expensive than staying at an hotel and getting a bus to the airport, got a taxi instead, this cost us £2 pounds more each, but was so much easier, the hotel was wonderful, only hassle was no lift, which is why I did not give it 5... More 

Helpful?
Thank nick b
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments. We do appreciate some people's concerns over the lift situation but the building was constructed in Victorian times. We do always ask guests, on check if they require assistance with their luggage and also that they can leave their heavier luggage downstairs is they wish. In any event, we look forward to welcoming you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

I stayed here a few times some years ago when I had business in the locale. Once more I had cause to be in the area and booked in with my fiancé. It was just before Christmas and clearly a busy time for the hotel, however, the staff found the time to be courteous and efficient. The room was comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank PMMandell
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review and we look forward to welcoming you again on another occasion. More 

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here with friends last night for the New Years Eve dinner and dancing. The Hotel itself is in a country location with fantastic grounds. The room which was a standard was of a good size and comfortable with an excellent shower and views over the grounds. The dinner was a three course meal with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank essexboy1972
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I can confirm everyone had a great time on the night as we also stayed to enjoyed these festivities, as we do every year. We look forward to welcoming you again - perhaps making this an annual event? More 

Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

Not been to this hotel for some time and attended a Rotary Christmas function there on Saturday but was very disappointed. Having pre-ordered food the starter was quick to appear an assortment of salmon and a speck of terrine with other morsels. My main course Christmas dinner was two slices of turkey with a slice off a roll of stuffing,... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank citygoer_11
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review

We are, obviously, disappointed to receive your comments, sir. This has been the only complaint we received on the day with many comments complimentary to the whole event. One of the most favourite of Christmas menus and is described: Assiette of Starters which consist of bite size pieces of the following - ALL made by our own chefs: Fantail of... More 

Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

What a lovely old building with so much character and charm. We decided to choose this hotel before flying from Gatwick, to give us the experience of a comfortable, personal hotel and not the usual block without any individuality. We were not disappointed. The room was comfortable, the grounds were marvellous, the staff were polite and friendly, and dinner was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence P
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

We stayed at the Stanhill Court hotel recently leaving our car there for 2 weeks whilst we were away on holiday. We drove down from Durham on the Sunday evening intending to arrive at the hotel early evening but due to traffic and road closures we were obviously going to be late. We rang the hotel and the very pleasant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brufsters
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely comments and hopefully next time you stay you will be able to arrive in the daylight hours. It is always lovely here, weather permitting, to have dinner on the terrace watching the sun go down. More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Attended family function - quality of food on the buffet was excellent. Nice artificial open fire which warmed the room to a certain extent. Waiters had to be searched for when in need of anything. Not particularly friendly and could have had some smiles on their faces. After function request for a pot of tea and soft drink was met... More 

Helpful?
Thank travellerimdjr
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I believe you had this conversation, not only with our staff but also with our Managing Director. After the function had finished you requested tea and coke, as you say and you believed beverages would be continued to be served and would not be charged. When it was explained to you that, in line... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
4.1 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
5.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
2.9 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay