We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oldroyd Guest House & Spa

18 - 22 Bridge Street, Uttoxeter ST14 8AP , England
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oldroyd Guest House & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oldroyd Guest House & Spa
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    55
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
72
64
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (234)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
west midlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Stayd here in 1999&2000 for our national dwarf rabbit show held at uttoxetter racecourse. Quaint hotel. Stayd in newly refurbishd room-no 11. Nicely decoratd. Fresh new sheets and quilts. Comfortable bed.tv. Tea making facilities with plenty teabags.coffee.sugar etc. Nice touch as had forgottn ours but wudnt have usd them. Easy reach to racecourse&nearby pub for night out. Slept well .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here and loved it the spa is a must great facilitys and only 10 mins from alton towers and 2 mins from the racecourse great value highly recommended and would stay again in the future

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Stayed over for one night en route to a dog show in Stafford. So easy to find as right on main road. Staff very helpful & very obliging as had brought my father instead of a friend but they did not mind & even just charged him for the room instead of a room with dogs that was booked. Thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Ann K Very many thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. Unfortunately over the last 18 months or so we have become a victim of our own success and we just have not had time to take rooms out of service to update the decorations .. But .. We have only this week started on... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Booked 2 nights for 2 couples while visiting alton towers. Very accommodating when we said we wouldn't arrive until after reception closed on sat night, comfy clean rooms. Waitress at breakfast was very helpful & attended to our every need with a smile. On the second morning when we hadn't realised the weekday breakfast service ended earlier, they accommodated us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Amy Very many thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with here at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, You were a pleasure to look after and I shall certainly pass on your lovely comments to all of our staff .. Once again many thanks and... More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We had three double rooms. All very different. All dated and need TLC but all clean. Value for money for what you get and we was only staying one night. We would stay again. Lovely people running it. Very good based on location and price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Jo Ann L S Very many thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. With Regard to "Dated" Unfortunately over the last 18 months or so we have become a victim of our own success and we just have not had time to take rooms out of service to update the decorations .. But .. We... More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We stayed at the Oldroyd just for one night on 18 October. Originally looked at the family room but by the time I got round to booking it, it had gone. However we were offered the mobile home which turned out for us much better. Originally there was 4 of us staying but then there was 5! The staff at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Smudge2466 I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Uttoxeter and finding the time to write such a super review. I have passed on your lovely comments to our staff.. You were a pleasure to look after and your honest opinion can be an invaluable reference for other customers who are thinking of... More 

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Stayed at this guest house 9 to 11th Oct for a funeral. I found the place spotless. The staff very friendly and the breakfast outstanding. I will use the oldroyd guest house next time I and my wife are in uttoxeter. I would certainly recommend to anyone going to Alton towers to use the guest house.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Gary H I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Uttoxeter and finding the time to write such a super review. I have passed on your lovely comments to our staff.. You were a pleasure to look after and your honest opinion can be an invaluable reference for other customers who are thinking... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

We booked 3 rooms for 2 nights as it was within a 20 minute drive to Alton Towers. The rooms were lovely and well furnished. The staff were very friendly and helped us enjoy our stay. They also lent us DVD's for free to settle the kids down on the night. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hi M Dav 21 Well what a fantastic review ... It is reviews such as yours that have earned us two consecutive Trip Advisor Certificates of Excellence .. For which we are very grateful ... I will certainly passed your comments onto our staff We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us ...You were a pleasure to... More 

Mold, Flintshire, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We spent 2 nights in the Oldroyd Guest House and cannot rate it highly enough. For a very reasonable price we had a tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean room, excellent en suite, really comfortable beds and a full English breakfast to die for. In respect of the last, we have had vastly inferior food in 4 star hotels. The staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Donna C Very many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with here at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, You were a pleasure to look after and I shall certainly pass on your comments to all of our staff It is reviews such as yours... More 

Aintree Village
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We booked this B&B primarily due to its close location to Uttoxeter station and racecourse but also due to the very good reviews on here. We (Me, hubby and two teenage, 15 &17, sons) were away to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. First impressions were very favourable. We entered the building from the back (car park entrance) which was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Reptonite3 I have read your comments with very great interest and please be assured that I will be addressing many of your issues within the next few weeks .. But please allow me to set a couple of points straight .. as I am also somewhat disappointed with your review .. Firstly, I thought that we had done you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Oldroyd Guest House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldroyd Guest House & Spa

Address: 18 - 22 Bridge Street, Uttoxeter ST14 8AP , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Oldroyd Guest House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldroyd Guest House & Spa Uttoxeter, Staffordshire

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay