We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oldroyd Guest House & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
18 - 22 Bridge Street, Uttoxeter ST14 8AP , England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oldroyd Guest House & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oldroyd Guest House & Spa
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    60
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
73
72
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (253)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We decided to stay here for our annual trip to Alton towers as it's within 10miles of the theme park and the website and reviews did it justice. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay. The guest house was central to a few local pubs, a restaurant and a cinema/bowling complex. However, the entire place could do with an update/makeover.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
newport, south Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Firstly, this hotel gets all the basics right; comfy bed, nice quilt and pillows, hot shower, spotlessy clean, a decent breakfast delivered quickly, good location that's easy to find and the gardens are pretty and well tended to. We were warmly greeted and the service was really friendly throughout the stay. The only criticism I'd have is that the decor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked 2 nights while visiting local sites. It was an average place. The room was average to below par. The bathroom was a let down! Breakfast was average to slightly less. Overall it served its purpose but wouldn't stay again unless I had to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penzance, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was attending a function nearby so this was ideal. The staff were nice enough, room cosy and clean. My room backed onto the car park and, for this reason, it was perfectly quiet, I noted the busy road and was relieved at the room I was given. Breakfast was average, but the room rate was very good so I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Shirley B 759 Firstly, may I offer you our thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience of Oldroyd Guest House and Spa ... Please let me explain our Breakfast policy .. As a Guest House we cater in the main for workers during the week and Alton Towers visitors over the weekends, most of... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We travelled up from London and stayed over for one night. The main reason we chose this B&B was because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor, but unfortunatley we cannot agree with the majority here. We had a lovely welcome on arrival and were shown to our room, which at first glance seemed fine. However on closer inspection we discovered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Vemis Blue Firstly, may I offer you our thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience of Oldroyd Guest House and Spa ... Thank you also for your kind words about the warm welcome that you received upon your arrival ..,. Your Bed ! In common with a lot of other Hotels and Guest Houses,... More 

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

First impressions were good, there were stunning flowers everywhere! Our room was a little dated but it was only one night stay. We paid for the spa, which was basically, a steam, sauna, shower and jacuzzi all in one room. This was lovely but it was only me and my partner in the room, I don't think I would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hi ..Courtney 0717 Firstly, may I offer you our thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience of Oldroyd Guest House and Spa ... Thank you also for your kind words about our gardens .. OUR SPA Our Spa "of which we are very proud" is housed in a 24ft square Swiss Style log cabin which... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Stayed here 9/4 for a quick overnight stay ahead of going to Alton towers which this is ideally located for. We had a family room which was perfect, bunk beds, double bed and single bed everyone was catered for sleepwise. Rooms come complete with free wi-fi and air con which was a nice bonus on hottest day of the year... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hi .. Rachc 1981 I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Uttoxeter during your visit to Alton Towers and finding the time to write such a super review. I have passed on your lovely comments to our staff.. You were a pleasure to look after and your honest opinion can be an invaluable... More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

I stayed for one night and was lucky enough to have one of the chalet rooms - it was very comfortable and quieter than I expected given it backs onto the main road. The breakfast in the morning was extremely good and they were willing to cater for my taste in the full English breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Anne T Thank you for writing such a lovely review ... It is reviews such as yours that have earned us two consecutive Trip Advisor Certificates of Excellence .. For which we are very grateful ... I will certainly passed your comments onto our staff We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us ...You were a... More 

Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Lovely warm reception from owners on arrival, pleasant rooms, everything works. This is second year running I have been here, and it won't be the last. Wonderful guest house, definitely worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hi tredan1973 Well what a lovely review ... For which we are very Thankful and Very Grateful ... I will certainly passed your lovely comments onto our staff We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us ...You were a pleasure to look after and we will be happy to welcome you back at any time Once again... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Starting on a positive note, the breakfast was faultless, however onto the room, having booked a double room we were assigned room 14 in the outbuilding which definitely had some issues. Bathroom light, extractor fan and vanity light didn't work. This would have been minor, however the banging pipes from 3AM continued for 3 hours so we got up. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Sheilabods .. Firstly Please let me offer you our most humble apologies that your recent stay with us did not meet with your expectations... But please be assured that, having been told of your complaints on the day of your departure, I immediately investigated each one separately and I have listed my findings below .. Replacing light bulbs is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities