We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Tamworth hotels

Castle Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ladybank, Tamworth B79 7NB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
65%
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Tamworth
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Alan V Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (198)
  • Photos (35)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (29)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    35
    17
    26
    26
See reviews for
62
59
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is situated next to Tamworth castle making it ideal for wedding receptions. It's a no frills, good value Hotel so guests shouldn't expect it to be the Ritz The food is basic but nicely cooked but the breakfast is not worth the £9.50 if you had to pay seperately for it. Our room was dated and could do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I stayed here after a wedding at the hotel, we booked a room spare of the moment, room was large and clean. Only gripe was the breakfast waiting time was shocking probably down to the fact they had only one chef. The actual wedding and food was great tho.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the wedding and that your room met with your expectations. I am sorry that on this occasion our breakfast let us down. We operate a buffet breakfast so that guests can help themselves and as such eliminate time spent waiting at tables for food to be delivered. We top up... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had my wedding here and stayed 2 nights the staff were excellent the food was great guest had a great experience the rooms were clean and tidy they had character too would highly recommend for function or business trips the family rooms were good in size and had good amenities I enjoyed the attentiveness of the staff to all guest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Emma & James for your review. We are glad your day was everything you hoped it would be and wish you all the best for your future as husband and wife. More

Droitwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 2 nights for a family wedding last week. Had a room in the annex which over looked a bowls green, very pleasant, room was clean and tidy and had fresh towels each day. Did get a little wet walking for breakfast which was served in the main hotel but worth it, plenty to choose from and breakfast staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our Brewery House. It was a pleasure looking after you and your family and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Attended a wedding at this hotel with my partner. Excellent customer service from all staff from checking in to checking out. We stayed in the main building in a double room, the room was well equipped and had everything we required, very clean and tidy. The meal at the wedding was excellent also. We had breakfast which again was great,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the wedding you were attending. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed at this particular hotel on a few occasions as a contractor and feel this hotel is very clean and tidy. It is also very reasonably priced. Breakfast is good and plenty to choose from. All staff I found was very helpful an polite. Would almost certainly stay again if I'm in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Tamworth. More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, gosh...where do I start. I booked this hotel through booking.com and online it looked the bees knees. Perfect location next to Tamworth Castle, parking on site and a great postcard picture. We arrived on the Saturday afternoon and on arrival the room was not read,y so we had a drink in the hotel bar. Bar lovely and staff who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Janet for your review, though I have to say it has left us a little confused. We are pleased that you found all our staff to be friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed using the bar facilities whilst waiting for your room to be ready. If I am honest I am unsure exactly what was wrong with... More

Scunthorpe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are staying here for a while and find the service very bad, the staff are patronising and sarcastic and they change your room or Give it away at their own convenience. The room I had wasn't cleaned properly putting dirty towels back on the rails. The breakfast is very poor. I am here as it's near my job and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CastleHotelTamworth, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

We understand your frustration but are not sure your comments are entirely fair or representative of what you have actually experienced. The air cooling company that you represent booked you into the hotel not very long before your stay, all 3 of you had been booked into a family room, I assume to save money. We resolved this by changing... More

Birmingham
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I held our wedding reception at Castle Hotel in the Tudor Suit. We can honestly say that the professionalism and service by all the hotel staff was amazing, nothing was too much trouble. Nikki talked us through everything we needed to know and was always quick at replying to any enquiries we had. We stayed for 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CastleHotelTamworth, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and for the kind comments about the staff who looked after you. Its also great to read that your guests enjoyed their two nights with us. It was a pleasure to contribute to your special day. More

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for our nephews wedding for one night. Plus points: the staff were helpful and friendly; the wedding breakfast was lovely and well organised; the room had a trouser press and iron/ironing board - that's it! The carpet in the hallway leading to the room was shabby and dirty (not a good first impression) the room itself was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CastleHotelTamworth, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not meet with your expectations, however I am pleased to read that the wedding went well and of course to read the review from the bride and groom submitted on 10 August. With any wedding the guests all have different levels of expectation and in many cases guests of the bride and groom may sometimes... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Ladybank, Tamworth B79 7NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Tamworth

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Tamworth with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer