We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Ladybank, Tamworth B79 7NB, England
Hotel amenities
Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Peter H Manchester, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    131
    41
    21
    29
    27
See reviews for
87
74
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (249)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were booked into this hotel by our son and consider it very good value for money (C£50.00 room only for two people for one night). The hotel appeared to be full or the nearly so - always a good indication. The room was large and clean with room for three to sleep. The double bed was large and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Peter for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. You'll be pleased to know we have begun redecorating the corridors in the main building this week so hopefully you'll be impressed next time you stay! We look forward to seeing you again. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On sunday we booked a table at the castle hotel where we had lovely father's day carvery lunch in the wedgewood suite food was delicious my oh even got a free beer & sweets, the staff were really attentive. Im now looking forward in having my wedding reception here in august.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Selina for your review, we are pleased you all enjoyed Father's Day with us and look forward to seeing you all again in August. More 

Staffordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an absolutely fabulous day at The Castle Hotel on Sunday for our Grandsons Christening and all the staff were professional, excellent and attentive. The little private vaulted room had been arranged just as we had asked for it to be done and looked really nice and inviting. Arrangements were made with Leah who gave her all into organising... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased everyone enjoyed the celebrations for your grandson's christening last week. It was a pleasure looking after you and your family. More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One thing I can't stand are people who whinge and complain on Trip Advisor for stupid reasons or score somewhere 1 out of 5 if they find a cobweb in a corner of a room. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel. We paid just under £50 for two of us for an overnight stay on 13th June and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Dave for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again next time you're in the area. More 

GLOUCESTER
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our friends got married at Tamworth castle and we stayed at the hotel for two nights. The room was very comfortable and clean with en-suite. The wedding reception from beginning to end was faultless. The food was excellent,I will admit I am a fussy eater but the chicken was very moist and vegetable were to my liking. We had plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the wedding you attended, we hope to see you again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I held my ATC Squadron Dinner in their Wedgwood Suite on the 6th June 2015. It was brilliant the food was very good, the service was amazing and the price was extremely competitive. They catered for specific dietary needs very well and all of the guests commented on how good the food, service and staff were. Phil the Maitre'D and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Darren for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your night and we look forward to seeing you again next year. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

What can I say. We picked here because it was such good value and we wished to have photos in the park. The wedding coordinator was amazing, always happy to answer my questions. I never felt worried about our day not being quite right because the hotel was so sufficient. Everything went to plan. On the day the hotel went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah for your review. We are glad your wedding was everything you hoped it would be, and we hope to see you both again in the future. More 

Market Bosworth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

We spent one night here on 16th May 2015. It cost £70 for two people including breakfast. We were put in the annexe across the road from the main hotel called the brewery house. Every square inch of this building needs ripping out and rebuilding. The decor is like stepping back in time to the 70s or 80s. Red and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Andy for your review. I am disappointed that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. You were allocated a room in the Brewery House building as you were not attending any of the functions happening in the hotel on Saturday night and we did not think you would appreciate being above them with this... More 

Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

My daughter Sue and Andy were married at the hotel on the 8th of May. The whole day was wonderful, the staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble .I would highly recomnend this venue for any occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Pam for your review, we loved looking after you all and hope to see you again. More 

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Do not be put off by the shabby outside appearance . I must say when we first arrived we were not happy with the shabby exterior of both the Castle Hotel and The Brewery House. We wondered what the interiors would be like. We were directed to the Brewery House where we were to stay the night. On opening the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the function you were attending. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay