We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stone House Hotel

Stafford Rd., Stone ST15 0BQ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Stone House Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    53
    109
    81
    32
    20
See reviews for
54
117
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (295)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As someone who used to live in the area and knew this hotel many years ago in better times it gives me no pleasure to write this review. The hotel is definitely worn around the edges and needs an upgrade, rooms looked jaded and we only has one single socket apart from the TV. To see the TV you needed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were greeted by lovely receptionist the hotel is partly renovated and our room was lovely. We stayed for the murder mystery but was fantastic and the meal was lovely.I was disappointed with breakfast but my problem was quickly resolved by the manager I would definitely stay again I can only think that the breakfast on this day was an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I am also pleased that we were able to resolve your concerns raised about the breakfast that Sunday morning. We shall be hosting a further Murder Mystery event during the Christmas period, and hope that many will also enjoy the same occasion and involvement as you have. Kind... More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're like me and always flick to the worst reviews first you'll be unsure of what to expect from this hotel. It became clear upon reading that the hotel is undergoing renovation and when we checked in I did ask if we were in one of the newly refurbished rooms, which we were. It's true there are bits of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay, along with the facilities and the Event whilst you were her. Did you get the Murderer right? I am also extremely pleased that you experienced the improvements taking place in this lovely Hotel, and I sincerely hope that you are able to return to enjoy the further benefits made by... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely quiet location, generously sized rooms and free wifi. Breakfast service was slow, but not a problem for us as we weren't in a hurry. The quality of the breakfast ingredients wasn't great, and the tea and coffee supplier needs sacking!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and constructive view points. Yes, we are suitably located and easily accessible. This is a lovely Hotel set back off the main road, with a beautiful garden, and complimented with a our elegant Garden Restuarant, Leisure facilities and Function and Conference facilities. I do apologies if certain aspects of breakfast were not to the standard... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

We had two nights here with an 87 year old and 6 month old so tested the systems! They all worked! We had a warm welcome. Staff were proactively helpful regarding cots, extra drinks stuff, high chairs in the dining room and the chef even produced some cucumber fingers for a little person to chew at our request! We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased that all went well during your stay, and I shall certainly be passing on your comments to the staff. Thank you. Kind regards MikeH More 

Stafford
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We had our daughters wedding reception here and overall I thought it was satisfactory, it delivered what we expected. I didn't stay overnight and can't comment on the rooms, however when I met my daughter before going to the registry office the room she had was quite nice. The day itself went well and we made use of the gardens... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment on your recent attendance at the Stone House Hotel. I am so pleased that your daughter enjoyed her special day. Thank you for your kind overall comments regarding the day. Kind regards. MikeH More 

Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

I attended my Sisters wedding here so I had checked it out on TA beforehand and expected the worse. OK, it wasn't that bad. But it is run down and weathered to such extent. Fortunately we had a discount on the room, which was still did not represent value for money. We had a room in the older section of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Stone House Hotel. Your kind comments regarding the presentation and service of the wedding is much appreciated. The Stone House Hotel is a former country house, and certain aspects of the property do reflect this. Having said this the Hotel is currently in the process of a... More 

London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Apparently the rooms had recently been refurbished. We could tell - I was very impressed. Luxurious and a nice big space. Nice deep carpets and décor. Other parts of the hotel could do with a bit of modernisation to match the lovely room. The English Breakfast was tasty but the cereal/fruit selection was a bit sparse. I had a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review of our newly refurbished rooms. We are continuing with our refurbishment, and our Lounge Bar area is currently in the process of being uplifted. We hope you and others will enjoy additional progress as it happens at the Stone house Hotel. Kind regards. MikeH More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Arrived May 8th 2015. Receptionist very pleasant and efficient. Had lunch in the restaurant which was very good with excellent service. Delighted with our room which catered admirably with my disability. Unfortunately, breakfast the following morning was a disappointment. In spite of my telling the hotel three times that I had a coeliac problem there was no gluten free bread... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest and overall review of your recent stay. Thank you for your kind positives. I do have to agree with you however that we should have acted more quickly and efficiently in responding to your dietary needs. This is not normally a problem, so please accept my apologies that on this occasion we failed to react... More 

Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

very clean, tidy, beautiful rooms. Very comfortable beds, hot water at all times, lovely breakfast, you can have as much as you want, lovely warm swimming pool, wifi was good, all in all we had a very lovely stay at the stone house hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Stone House Hotel. Your comments are much appreciated, and we are pleased your overall visit was an enjoyable one. Thank you and kind regards. MikeH More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay