We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stone House Hotel

Stafford Rd., Stone ST15 0BQ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Stone House Hotel
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    103
    77
    30
    19
See reviews for
51
113
8
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (279)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Dursley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for a 3 month period whilst working as a contractor for a local company. Overall it would be very difficult to find a better establishment for its service and amenities in this hotels price range. The double rooms are spacious and well equipped with no road noise and little noise from other rooms. The cheaper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and very positive comments. We are pleased that you felt comfortable and were able to relax here at the Stone House Hotel. It is important to us that all our guests are made to feel welcome, and enjoy the ambiance we are able to offer. We wish you well in your future work. Take care.... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

went for afternoon tea which was a gift and was really looking forward to it ive had afternoon tea at quite lot of places in stoke on trent area but this is not the best the staff were quite pleasant but not over friendly. we were served straight away with our coffee which was ok but not very hot .the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorrry that the gift you were presented with was not to the standard you expected! I would gladly have discussed any of the issues you had with your afternoon tea at the time, so that we may have been given the opportunity to rectify some, or indeed all of the aspects noted in your observations. It is... More 

Keele, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For Valentine's Day, my partner and I booked a Valentine's Deal at the Stone House Hotel comprising of a one-night stay with bed and breakfast, dinner and full use of the facilities included. Our room was beautiful and clearly recently furbished with a fully working large television, comfortable bed and plenty of space. Furthermore, the bathroom was also clearly recently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us on Valentines evening. I am so pleased to read that the current work going into the refurbishing of our bedrooms has proved successful. This a in process and we are looking to see that shortly 30 of our rooms are fully refurbished to the standard you have experienced. And... More 

Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We arrived to a warm welcome from the manager. The pool is lovely and heated, and there is also a sauna. The rooms are average but it is a bit dated, and the water us a runny colour which can be a bit off putting. We were awoken by building work one morning but the manager did his best to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and positive review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you were warmly welcomed and that you were able to enjoy the facilities here. We are currently proceeding through a rooms refurbishment programme, and whilst some rooms have now been completed otherts are in the process of being completed. These will considerably... More 

West Riding, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
70 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

This is a nice hotel. Not many in its modest price range can offer facilities such as a pool, spacious lounges with traditional but well used furnishings, a pleasant garden, plentiful parking and a restaurant serving ample vegetables & good well cooked dishes - including hot puddings and custard! If fact the dinner menu is fairly large with offering sizes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind and honest review of your recent stay at the Stone house Hotel. Your comments and assessement are greatly appreciated. Along witn our current refurbishment programme we are developing standards within the Hotel to coincide with this overall level of property improvement, which we can only hope will provide our customers with a better stay.... More 

Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

5 nights stays, no internet advertised but never working, cheep room and way overpriced, services is minimal and terrible food. You should not pay any attention to this location, try another place where it is going to be acceptable, but Stonehouse in Stone should be close.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

I am personally deeply agreived to have received you comments on TripAdvisor. Our professional Team at the Stone House Hotel are always keen to ensure that your stay is to the standard that you have booked and wish to enjoy. As I am personally unaware of the concerns you have now raised, nor am I aware that any such concerns... More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Was a refreshing change to some of the hotels we have stayed at recently. We stayed here on a 2 nights for price of 1 through a hotel vouchers site so we were unsure what to expect. We were greeted by warm and polite reception and headed to our room. It was very clean and comfortable as was the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

I am so pleased that overall you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and in particular your kind comments regarding our team. We believe our team are a key attribute in this business. We do hope that, despite the issue regarding your sandwich, which we could have changed for you, and for which I apologise, you do return and take... More 

france
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We stayed at this hotel in December with our 3 young children. The hotel was cold, the room was tired, the restaurant was cold. There was a wedding in the hotel that night and we spent all night from 10.30pm being woken by people swearing, knocking on our childrens door, somebody shouting help me and argueing until 5am. The manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

I am in receipt of your reveiw received on the 15th January regarding your stay with us back in December 2014. I am deeply concerned regarding your overall comments. Firstly may I apologise on behalf of the Hotel and Wedding guests for any disturbance caused during your stay with us at that time. I can honestly say this is not... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I have been staying at this hotel for years when working in the area and the staff and management team have always been very welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. There is a good range of food either in the restaurant or bar meals and you are well looked after by patient and helpful staff. I regard this hotel as my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind and generous comments. These are greatly appreciated. This is a lovely and friendly Hotel, and long may we continue to be a home from home to our guests. Thank you Kind regards MikeH More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Stayed for a fortnight over Christmas and New Year whilst visiting elderly parents. Room 36 cosy, clean and quiet. A big thank you to your lovely receptionists, Chris, Mikey, Heather and that lovely young lady who doesn't know where Singapore is in the dining area and your wonderful domestic staff. Don't forget the Barman who makes a good Coffee! Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you very kind and positive overall assessment of your recent stay at the Stone House Hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated and passed onto the staff themselves. Thank you. Kind regards MikeH More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question