We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stone House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Stafford Rd., Stone ST15 0BQ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Stone House Hotel
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    100
    75
    30
    18
See reviews for
51
109
8
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (273)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Was a refreshing change to some of the hotels we have stayed at recently. We stayed here on a 2 nights for price of 1 through a hotel vouchers site so we were unsure what to expect. We were greeted by warm and polite reception and headed to our room. It was very clean and comfortable as was the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

I am so pleased that overall you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and in particular your kind comments regarding our team. We believe our team are a key attribute in this business. We do hope that, despite the issue regarding your sandwich, which we could have changed for you, and for which I apologise, you do return and take... More 

france
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel in December with our 3 young children. The hotel was cold, the room was tired, the restaurant was cold. There was a wedding in the hotel that night and we spent all night from 10.30pm being woken by people swearing, knocking on our childrens door, somebody shouting help me and argueing until 5am. The manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

I am in receipt of your reveiw received on the 15th January regarding your stay with us back in December 2014. I am deeply concerned regarding your overall comments. Firstly may I apologise on behalf of the Hotel and Wedding guests for any disturbance caused during your stay with us at that time. I can honestly say this is not... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been staying at this hotel for years when working in the area and the staff and management team have always been very welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. There is a good range of food either in the restaurant or bar meals and you are well looked after by patient and helpful staff. I regard this hotel as my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind and generous comments. These are greatly appreciated. This is a lovely and friendly Hotel, and long may we continue to be a home from home to our guests. Thank you Kind regards MikeH More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a fortnight over Christmas and New Year whilst visiting elderly parents. Room 36 cosy, clean and quiet. A big thank you to your lovely receptionists, Chris, Mikey, Heather and that lovely young lady who doesn't know where Singapore is in the dining area and your wonderful domestic staff. Don't forget the Barman who makes a good Coffee! Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you very kind and positive overall assessment of your recent stay at the Stone House Hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated and passed onto the staff themselves. Thank you. Kind regards MikeH More 

Dunfermline
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a great disappointment. From the minute I checked in to the minute I checked out not once did I receive an acknowledgement from reception - no good evening / good morning etc. The staff overall were very unhelpful. The bedroom and bathroom was really dirty and breakfast was not much better. I would definitely not be coming back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies that the service and communication from my staff were not to the standards we aspire to. I was very disapointed to read of your comments and would have been happy to discuss any of the issues you had upon your departure from the Hotel. Our standards of cleanliness and communication are noted as being extremely... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Stayed for one night B&B for £57 on the Sunday before Xmas. Inauspicious start, as our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 1.30PM - official check-in is 2PM so we couldn't really complain, but it was a bit inconvenient for us, as we would have liked to access the room & leave our bags ahead of our Sunday lunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and positive review of your stay at the Stone House Hotel. We do certainly wish to have your company again in the future. It is important to us for all guests to enjoy the relaxed atmospere of the Hotel. I apologise that the offer to assist with luggage was not made upon check in. Kind... More 

Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Had a one night stay here and it was excellent value, a very comfortable room, lovely and quiet and with everything you coul dneed. The breakfast was really good, plenty of it and extremely well cooked, great service and very pleasant. Would highly recommend it - the only thing that I could fault was it was a long way to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trime to write of your recent experience at the Stone House Hotel. Thank you for your kind and positive comments. We do appreciate that those rooms in the former country house part of the Hotel do require access via steps, and would gladly offer to carry your case should this be required on a future... More 

Staffordshire
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We recently attended one of the Christmas party nights at the hotel and I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised. Well organised and held in a separate function room on the first floor with the delivery of food to each table very good, can sometimes be tricky but they managed very well. There was a bar in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and positive comments regarding our Christmas Party Nights. Our aim is to ensure that all our customers enjoy a full evening of good food, good service, and a really good party atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you here again next year. Kind regards MikeH More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

We arrived late (midnight) in foul weather and the welcome was lovely. We knew the hotel was 'great value' so weren't expecting perfect - but it really is a lovely little hotel that needs some attention physically. The service was a little odd - they obviously don't have a massive staff so it was slow but the food and beverages... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind and positive comments as posted on TripAdvisor. Indeed we are looking forward to improvements, both physically and on the service front. Our aim is to ensure that both go hand in hand that our guests experience throughout will be enhanced. We do not promise that this will happen overnight, but look forward to a... More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Stayed over night last week for one night. Arrived late but the staff were very helpful and attentive. Bedroom was spacious but a little in need of an update. Bed very comfortable and good quality bedding. Tea,coffee making facilities, tv and wi-fi. Breakfast was very good and plentiful and staff were once again helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your kind and positive review on TripAdvisor. I do take note of your comments and can advise that plans are well under way for the commencement of refurbishment of bedrooms at the Hotel. This is very postive news in deed, and we hope that guests will see a vast difference in the near furture. Kind regards MikeH More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Address: Stafford Rd., Stone ST15 0BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone House Hotel Staffordshire

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay