We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Newton Solney hotels

Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ., Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park to your Saves list
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Newton Solney
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Elliemay94
  • Overview
  • Reviews (178)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (69)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (32)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    53
    44
    13
    9
See reviews for
39
49
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My family & I checked in several hours ago. Whilst our room is clean & tidy, it is also very basic. There is no mini fridge in the room, which means all medicines have to be left in the fridge at reception. The rooms are VERY hot with little ventilation. There is a mini fan in the room & the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this review. I am sorry you were disappointed on arrival. As the hotel is an 18th century grade 2 listed building we are unable to have air conditioning and provide fans like most people have at home to help. I believe when you checked out you thanked the team for your stay so I am pleased... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and boyfriend decided it would be nice to go away for our 5 year anniversary, this looked a beautiful hotel set in a lovely location, I was most impressed when we pulled up, check in was quick and easy, we walked up several flights of stairs to a room in the very top corner of the hotel only to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry you were checked into a room which was not serviced from a previous guest. This was due to an error on our computer system which meant that our housekeeping team had the incorrect information so missed the room. I have passed your comments on regarding the food... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at the hotel to rude reception no offer of help with bags to the room or clear direction to the room up 3 flights of stairs. Got to the room key wouldn't work had to call rude man on reception finally got into the room to find it was dirty bed unmade from previous guest. Moved to room next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry that you were checked into a room which was unserviced from a previous guest. This was due to a problem with the computer system that meant the housekeeping team had the incorrect information to work to. The room which were then moved to was a bath only... More

London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night ahead of a business meeting just outside Burton. The hotel's in a picturesque spot and the village had a couple of nice-looking pubs, although we didn't get chance to sample these. Otherwise the location is probably not that useful; our morning drive through Burton was slow and plagued with traffic. We stayed in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased you found the team friendly & helpful at Reception & in the bar. I will pass on your comments regarding breakfast to our Food & Beverage Manager to investigate. Thank you again for you feedback. I hope you will stay again if in the area for business.... More

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had our wedding here on Saturday 7th June 2014, including overnight stays for us and most of our guests. The hotel is in a peaceful location with plenty of room to move about in the many rooms and gardens, which made it an excellent venue for our wedding ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening reception. The food was great throughout... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you John & Lynn for taking the time to post this great review. We are all really pleased to hear that you had a great day and we hope you will pop in and see us soon. Enjoy married life. Kind Regards Moira Banks General Manager More

Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at the Newton Park overnight after a wedding in mid May. We last stayed there nearly 32 years ago on the night of our own wedding so the event was very nostalgic! Our room was lovely. It was very clean and extremely comfortable. The bed was pristine. Bright white linen and very good pillows. It was so peaceful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your comments on to the team here. I hope you won't wait another 32 years before visiting us again. Thank you again for your review. Kind Regards Moira Banks General Manager More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
409 helpful votes 409 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel has character, and I enjoyed the visit here, but it has some strikes against it. The meeting room we had was large and nicely furnished, if a bit tired. The coffee and cakes were excellent, as was the bacon roll on arrival, a pleasant treat. Checking in was a bit of a struggle, requiring several staff to find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased you found the staff friendly and helpful. With regards the rooms, as the main house is 18th century grade 2 listed Italianate manor, the bedrooms are a variety of shapes and sizes in this part. In the Trent wing which was built in the 1960's the rooms... More

Lichfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Tried to check in at 4 o'clock told rooms not ready. Had to ask if we could use a room and they offered us the closet. As we were at a wedding nearby we had to get ready in the carpark-not great. Once checked in (late) room was very dated, too hot and the discovered that tv was only avaliable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Just to clarify that the TV is free here and it is only movies we charge for which is standard practice with most hotels. I am sorry you were unable to check in to your room before departing to the Wedding. Thanks for your feedback. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General... More

west mids
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed the weekend for a friends wedding. The building and grounds are well kept and beautiful, the venue is grand like something from an old movie, rooms were clean with fabulous country views. Staff were friendly, amusing and couldn't do enough for you! Thanks you to the toast master for sneaking in behind the curtains to hear the speeches!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.I will pass on your compliments to the team as they take great encouragement from them. I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Regards Moira Banks General Manager More

Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed last weekend over the bank holiday for one night, as we approched the reception I said to my wife " the carpets filthy" and I,m afraid that continued right through the hotel. I appreciate that it is a listed building but that is not an excuse for neglect L,Accour is a large International company and should look at their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this review. I am pleased you found the staff polite & the food good. We are planning a refurbishment of the public areas later this year. Thank you for your feedback. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Address: ., Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Newton Solney

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
50

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer