We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Keepers Cottage Lodge

Bretby Park | Bretby, Burton upon Trent DE15 0QG, England
Keepers Cottage Lodge
Share an Experience

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean room,this included on suite which needs to be clean, room was warm on arrival, not too big but big enough, tea and coffee was nice, very friendly staff, food good, could find no faults with anything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent post about your stay with us. I am glad that you found the rooms both clean and comfortable with just enough to make your stay a pleasant one. My staff and I find looking after nice people, no problem at all. We hope to see you again. More 

Derby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were here for the wake of my Husband's Grandfather.We could not fault anything.Our room was clean,all the staff were so friendly and caring,and worked non-stop during our stay.The buffet tasted nice and fresh,and lovely hot sausages rolls. More people arrived than we had booked for with Melanie and she offered to prepare more sandwiches for us,but there was plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Manager at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your views after using Keepers Cottage for a funeral. I am very pleased that you and your family were happy with the service that we provided. Every family has their own ideas of how such an event should be, and so your own expectations are very important to us. How we treat families and their guests,... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I recently attended a family funeral wake here and the staff were very attentive. Nothing seemed to be too much effort and the food provided was fresh and plenty. The main lady (Melanie) was most helpful and I would recommend them, especially as so close to the crematorium

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments after your visit here. We do try to ensure that a sad day goes as smoothly as possible for both our clients and their guests. It is a very emotional and sensitive time, and I am more than happy that you, as a family went away feeling that we looked after you. More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this place after a funeral wake. The bar lady named Melanie was rude and not friendly at all! She needs to work on her customer service skills. The room was also freezing that we were in! I will definitely not be going back to that place ever again and I shall tell others not too either you should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt the need to post your negative views after your visit. I have been here now for over 20 years and it is not in my nature to be rude to our guests, as you can see from previous posts on Trip Advisor. I would not be still running a business if this were so.... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was very disappointed with the pricing of everything, we paid £250.00 for food but there wasn't enough for how many people were there, there wasn't enough for 1 3/4 of a sandwhich for each person!! We paid 250 for basically no food at all..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you have posted a negative review after your visit. The cost that you paid not only included the food, but the teas and coffees, and room hire. We have a formula that we use concerning how much food we allocate. Because I am not sure which funeral you were, were there more people here on the... More 

Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We came down to visit family for a couple of nights and where looking for some where to stay our family gave us the phone number of Keepers cottage. We booked up and arrived on a wet monday afternoon the lady showed us to our room in a separate building it was very nice and clean with a comfortable bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review about your stay with us. I must confess I forgot to put the fire on earlier in the day, and am glad that the room quickly became toastie for you. Note to self!! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Montrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We have just got back to Scotland after staying at Keepers Lodge for the last few days. we found it comfortable and very friendly ,the breakfast,s were great and Melanie went that extra mile to make sure we were happy. everywhere was clean and we lacked for nothing.Pleanty of hostelries close by for a pie and a pint.within walking distance.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

How kind of you to let me know that you (all) enjoyed your stay here. Over the summer we have had many nice guests, and I just can't help chatting, so I'm glad you didn't mind!! We look forward to seeing you again, as it seems you have busy times ahead. Just to mention, Mrs. Tickle is a very well... More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This week end was the first time we had stayed at this supremely high standard accommodation. My husband and I have stayed in a variety of accommodations over a number of years including Travel Lodges etc, but none have ever reached the standards offered by this venue. The owners Peter & Melanie Sutherns made us feel very welcome from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments. Your review covered everything that we try to do here and it's nice to know that our guests go away happy. We never got to meet your dog, but we hope that the sausage went down well and help with the mornings racing. Hope to see you next year! More 

Ollerton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We used Keepers Cottage on 30/05/14 for my late Mum's funeral reception.Can't fault this place at all. They put on an excellent buffet,with plenty of choice and there was more than enough food to go round, in fact enough for seconds if anyone wanted.The staff were very kind and attentive throughout, nothing was too much trouble for them.The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for posting such positive thoughts at this sad time. I am sorry that my response has not been sooner. We do try very hard to ensure that all aspects of your day run as smoothly as is possible. Having been here for over 20 years, it's nice to know that the package we offer,... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed at Keepers Cottage for 2 week last April whilst visiting a friend. The room was great, very well kept and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and always served with a smile. I felt welcome and had a wonderful time there. I'll certainly recommend stay at KCL next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such positive thoughts about your stay with us. Nice guests are no problem to look after and I enjoyed talking with you. We will be here again when you next come back to England and look forward seeing you then. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question