We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Keepers Cottage Lodge

Bretby Park | Bretby, Burton upon Trent DE15 0QG, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burton upon Trent
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Keepers Cottage Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    6
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed over whilst attending hospital visit in burton had a lovely warm welcome room was very clean and modern. The breakfast was excellent all in all would certainly recommend. Had a nice visit into local town swadlincote which is well worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

Stopping here while working in Burton, the room is clean and tidy I leave before breakfast but given a packed lunch to take to work, each day the sandwich (4 rounds of bread) has a different filling, there is a snack of some description plus a bag of crisps and cake or yoghurt more than enough to keep a working... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for posting your thoughts about my pack ups! I was pleased to know that they hit the spot and the selection offered is meets with your approval. We all work very hard here to look after our customers, and it's good to know that you are a happy one. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

we stayed here for a night after being let down by another b and b. the place is very clean,and fine for a say over,beds are uncomfortable and the owners dont interact with the customers much which is a shame as if i owned this place i would be asking if you had a good night,was the room and beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

I refer to your recent stay and subsequent post. I had to smile!!! We saw you in total three times during your one night stay with us. The first time was when you checked in and I showed you to the room - which you liked. I then saw you again for a second time the next morning when I... More 

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

I recently attended a funeral at Bretby Crematorium, followed by a buffet at the Keepers Cottage Lodge, which was recommended by the Co-op Funeral Service in Burton. I can only say this was one of the poorest buffets I have experienced for the amount of food on offer, with very little variety; and the extortionate price that was charged. What... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

I refer to your recent visit and subsequent post. I am sorry that you felt the need to leave such negative comments. I would like to reply. Firstly the quality of the buffet. All clients of the Co Op in Borough Road and the Midlands Co Operative group as a whole, show their clients a copy of our buffet menu... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Very clean room,this included on suite which needs to be clean, room was warm on arrival, not too big but big enough, tea and coffee was nice, very friendly staff, food good, could find no faults with anything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent post about your stay with us. I am glad that you found the rooms both clean and comfortable with just enough to make your stay a pleasant one. My staff and I find looking after nice people, no problem at all. We hope to see you again. More 

Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We were here for the wake of my Husband's Grandfather.We could not fault anything.Our room was clean,all the staff were so friendly and caring,and worked non-stop during our stay.The buffet tasted nice and fresh,and lovely hot sausages rolls. More people arrived than we had booked for with Melanie and she offered to prepare more sandwiches for us,but there was plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Manager at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your views after using Keepers Cottage for a funeral. I am very pleased that you and your family were happy with the service that we provided. Every family has their own ideas of how such an event should be, and so your own expectations are very important to us. How we treat families and their guests,... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 via mobile

I recently attended a family funeral wake here and the staff were very attentive. Nothing seemed to be too much effort and the food provided was fresh and plenty. The main lady (Melanie) was most helpful and I would recommend them, especially as so close to the crematorium

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments after your visit here. We do try to ensure that a sad day goes as smoothly as possible for both our clients and their guests. It is a very emotional and sensitive time, and I am more than happy that you, as a family went away feeling that we looked after you. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We visited this place after a funeral wake. The bar lady named Melanie was rude and not friendly at all! She needs to work on her customer service skills. The room was also freezing that we were in! I will definitely not be going back to that place ever again and I shall tell others not too either you should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt the need to post your negative views after your visit. I have been here now for over 20 years and it is not in my nature to be rude to our guests, as you can see from previous posts on Trip Advisor. I would not be still running a business if this were so.... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

I was very disappointed with the pricing of everything, we paid £250.00 for food but there wasn't enough for how many people were there, there wasn't enough for 1 3/4 of a sandwhich for each person!! We paid 250 for basically no food at all..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you have posted a negative review after your visit. The cost that you paid not only included the food, but the teas and coffees, and room hire. We have a formula that we use concerning how much food we allocate. Because I am not sure which funeral you were, were there more people here on the... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We came down to visit family for a couple of nights and where looking for some where to stay our family gave us the phone number of Keepers cottage. We booked up and arrived on a wet monday afternoon the lady showed us to our room in a separate building it was very nice and clean with a comfortable bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Keepers Cottage Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review about your stay with us. I must confess I forgot to put the fire on earlier in the day, and am glad that the room quickly became toastie for you. Note to self!! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East
Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East
#4 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
4.0 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#1 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities