We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Burton upon Trent hotels

The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge

One Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge to your Saves list
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
85%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    70
    11
    10
    15
See reviews for
19
120
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed at the 3 Queens more than 20 times in the last 3 years and am always impressed by the caring, concerned attitude of the staff. The ladies behind the bar, Mary on the front desk and especially Paul, who goes out of his way to make me feel at home, offer local suggestions or when arriving back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself is quite nice. It is welcoming and roomy and the staff are really nice. It's not very modern but I suppose that adds to its charm. The dinner we had in the hotel was really top quality, everything we ordered was perfect and also reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Following a very enjoyable weekend break at the Three Queens some 7/8 months ago, we had the opportunity to return for a second stay. However, disappointingly, the standard of the hotel has deteriorated in several ways and was no comparison to our first visit. The evening dinner menu in the restaurant was limited and not value for money because of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

We were experiencing some major technical issues with the loss of our computer systems during your stay, as you mentioned we had to manually complete all transactions, We did send out all copies of accounts for this period so if you have not received yours, please contact me & I will resend it. The hotel was sold in November &... More

Ubud, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoying a central location with easy parking. The room was better than I expected and the breakfast fine. The hotel should offer free Wi-fi but does not instead charging a pricey £2.50 an hour. Not double-glazed but air-con available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to say that last weekend we finally completed the installation of Free Wifi through out the Hotel & Lodge, it has taken a few weeks due to the size of the building but we hope you will enjoy the benefit of it on your next visit. More

Chorley
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm sorry to say that this place is actually getting worse. I’ve stayed here three times in the last twelve months so my view is well considered. I only stay here when I can’t get a room in the other places I stay in Burton. It’s always with a heavy heart that I reluctantly book into the Three Queens. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Am am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, As nothing was mentioned to the reception staff on check out I was not aware of your disappointment. Please would you be able to contact me at the hotel to discuss this in person as I would like the opportunity to discuss your comments. Thank you. More

Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed with friends on a Living Social deal at the begining of March. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the meal and service on the first night was excellent . The rooms were lovely and the bed was so comfortable . We were made to feel like friends and staff couldnt do enough for us. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & we hope to see you again soon More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here with friends as we were attending an event at the National Brewery Centre. Great location as it is right in the centre and just up the road from the event. We had a large room in the lodge which is just across the car park from the main hotel, it could probably do with updating but was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your comments are important to us. We work closely with The National Brewery Centre to ensure all visitors to Burton on Trent have a memorable time More

Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My daughter and stayed here of a Sunday evening as the hotel was directly opposite where my daughter was working the following day. The hotel was chosen for its location and also for the fact that it had a restaurant with an acceptable menu. However, on arrival we were informed that the restaurant was closed that evening which meant we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for our restaurant not being open on Sunday evening, we were experiencing unforeseen circumstances. We did offer a bar food menu for those guests wanting a bite to eat. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us & I shall pass on your comments to the staff More

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My stay here was first class from the reception for booking in to the service from the dining room, the room was very clean nice and quite, and the food was good. Nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff. Will certainly stay here again and recommend to other people

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased to hear that the team helped make your stay a pleasurable experience & we hope to see you again More

Hartford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding in Burton. Our room was tired and the 4-poster bed was very unsteady. However the staff were extremely friendly and helpful- Lisa in particular. We had dinner on the first night, which was not included in the price, and it was very disappointing- average food. The breakfast was very good,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review complimenting our staff on being helpful. I understand that the owner of the hotel has personally been in touch with you in regard to this incident. I was also personally on duty at the hotel on the Saturday and Sunday & spoke to you both in detail asking how you were & even commenting on... More

Been to The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge

Also Known As:
3 Queens Hotel
Hotel Three Queens
Address: One Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tracing our roots, this 16th Century Hotel hides a venue for personal service, modern meeting facilities, Bar and Restaurant. We have 62 rooms in total within the Hotel and Lodge. These rooms range from our well-equipped standard singles through executive air-conditioned doubles and Four-Posters to luxury suites and newly refurbished Lodge. Facilities include an in-room entertainment system, 24 hour room service, car park and free WiFi in Public areas. Ideal for trips to The National Brewery Centre, Donington Park, Alton Towers, the Derbyshire Peak District or even the National Memorial Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.