We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2nd Ave | Centrum 100 Business Park, Burton upon Trent DE14 2WF, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    90
    53
    7
    4
See reviews for
44
48
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (199)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Holzkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Service is great and the breakfast which is included is good, too. The beds however ... Too small and whenever you turn one wakes up - way to soft. Perhaps I was just unlucky ? Apart from that a good hotel located a bit outside of town center. Complementary coffee and a large breakfast room

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The pros are it was clean, nice friendly staff, decent Bfast, fancy coffee machine, good beer at bar. Cons are beds too soft, room poorly organized for best use of space, no closet just a cubby with rods, and corner shower was square so tripped over corner on every trip to bathroom. Was quality of Travelodge if they offered Bfast/room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Dear TrishWisc, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work hard to make your your stay comfortable and pleasant so we are pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of cleanliness, friendly staff and good breakfast service. It is regrettable that you were disappointed in a few areas notably with the quality of... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed on business and I had a lovely night comfy bed clean room and very friendly staff, breakfast was a little limited but considering the price was perfectly acceptable, the only thing I didn't like was the £3 charge for parking, considering we were in the middle of nowhere it seemed odd to charge extra? But it didn't take away... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having booked online and not seeing you actually have to pay to park your car here I think is a bit of a Liberty, breakfast included consists of continental which was ok but it is a very Noisey hotel and I would not stay here again. It is literally what is says, express!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Dear 0ll, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the level of noise during your visit. We also regret the issues you had regarding our parking. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here recently for a family funeral. The staff were all charming, the rooms were quiet and clean with a giant TV. The beds weren't particularly comfortable however breakfast was brilliant and all for £50!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was clean and bed wonderfully comfy, behind the tv however the wood had peeled off. Bath room spotless but the sink drain very smelly. Staff very friendly at check in and check out. Breakfast very basic, its in with price but not much choice, in the lift it lists everything but there was no meats or cheeses and for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Dear Chris59_11, Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business with us. We are very happy to read your positive feedback on the cleanliness of the room and the comfort of the beds. However, we are truly sorry if your stay... More 

dorset united kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

My family and I stayed for 1 night. Rooms clean and basic of a holiday inn express. Staff friendly and helpful. However as usual the breakfast let it down, a fried egg and a bit of bacon for a room at 100 pound a night wouldn't go a miss

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

My first visit today was very favourable.Ideaaly located for business meeting the service is excellent the meeting rooms good and all at at realistic price.REcommend for meetings.I have booked a follow up meeting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Dear Gary S Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Holiday Inn Express in Burton on Trent. I'm pleased to see you've had an enjoyable stay here with us and that you've made use of our meeting rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards David Parrett General... More 

Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

This hotel has yet to be updated to the new H.I.E. standard, but nevertheless is clean, tidy and comfortable. Good pub within easy walking distance. Close to main roads and motorways. Convenient for East Midlands airport and Donnington Park. Allow for the suprising £3.00 a night car park charge when comparing - don't undestand why they need it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Dear TexasJeffDorset Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Holiday Inn Express in Burton on Trent. We currently in the process of updating all our guest bedrooms with new decoration, new carpets and bedding. We are installing new USB sockets into the rooms and also in August we will be having new, larger TV's for... More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Stayed whilst working in Burton. Good sized, well maintained room. Nice bathroom with a good shower. Disappointed to have to pay for parking though. Breakfast is included and there is a restaurant and late bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review

Dear Paul C Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Holiday Inn Express in Burton on Trent. I'm very pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay here with us. We began charging for the use of the car park back in July 2014, this has enabled us to install CCTV and a parking barrier,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#1 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East
Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay