We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very nice hotel, smallish, quiet. It is an old country house which has been well refurbished and can be eerie (adds a bit of atmosphere) but not creepy on a cold, dark, windy night. Rooms and fittings are modern. Bath towels fabulously soft and large. I slept well. I had a very good ballantine of chicken as... More 

Helpful?
Thank lauran1902
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Dovecliff Hall Hotel was the venue for my mum's wedding back in July 2015, and what a fantastic day it was. The venue was perfect for the occasion, with the wedding service in the Orangery Room, pictures taken in the wonderful grounds, food was amazing, staff all brilliant with seamless service. We also stayed in one of the suites... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam M
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Average service food and ambience for inflated prices. We were even charged for an extra meal and drinks for a 'ghost friend' so check your bill carefully. Our experience of this venue under the previous owner was always exceptional so it was a huge disappointment to find that standards have fallen significantly.

Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. The current owners have been here since October 2007 so we are unsure whether you came before then or you believe there has been a recent change of ownership. We are obviously concerned to read that you were not happy and we would be really grateful if you could contact us at your earliest... More 

Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The ambience of the hotel is just what we were looking for, and the food was nice. What spoilt it for me was the wine was like vinegar, I was hoping that at £20 a bottle in this type of establishment it would have been better, I complained to the waitress and then to the wine manger, to both of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our wine selection. The £19 bottle of house wine you chose is one of our best sellers and we have received only positive feedback on that wine until now, however we are aware of course that every wine will not be to everyone's... More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a beautiful hotel, the staff was welcoming. Our room No. 10 looked out over the river which was peaceful clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and plenty of parking and free wi fi. We had breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the beautiful gardens, will definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Blenkarn
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. The room you stayed in is indeed very peaceful overlooking the river and when you come again please do not hesitate to request the room you want and we will do our very best... More 

Doncaster
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

stayed here midweek on business. The hotel really is a hidden gem. Just 5 mins from the A38 and excellent value for money. Service was very good and the accommodation excellent. Made a very nice change to the normal Premier Inns that I would normally stay in. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have lots of business customers stay with us during the week and they all comment how nice it is to stay in a hotel with character when they are away from home. We often have some really good rates in... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

Got a late minute deal in a superior double room. Hotel is a lovely old building with a big wooden staircase. Room and bathroom were decent size with the quirks expected of an old building - rattling window and creaky floorboard. Heating was very good, despite a drafty window we were very warm in the room. Double bed was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Worldroamer4
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, we do hope we will see you again very soon. More 

Brixham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

A dream of a venue, set in beautiful countryside, stunning gardens. Rooms beautifully decorated. One of the loveliest hotels I have ever stayed in. Food excellent, staff friendly and efficient. I cannot speak highly enough. I stayed here for my daughters wedding. They hosted my daughters wedding reception too. It was absolutely perfect. Nothing was too much trouble. I have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and apologies that it is taken us so long to respond to it. It was a pleasure to host your daughter's wedding and it is so good to hear that you were so happy with every aspect of it. It is also nice to hear that you have come back and used... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015 via mobile

Nearly a hidden gem. . Wonderful setting and views if sun does shine. Hotel has good "bones" but could do with a bit more ambiance. For the money it's very good value if you are willing to compromise a little. . Accommodation spacious, and adequate, dinner very acceptable, breakfast excellent in sunny Orangrey Will definitely visit again.

Helpful?
1 Thank David W
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

A beautiful day was had by all our guests on 21st February, all of the staff made our day wonderful, beautiful Bridal suite too, glorious views from the whole site, thank you to everyone from Dovecliff x

Helpful?
Thank NickyAlanHyde
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, lovely to hear from you and thank you for posting your lovely review. It was our pleasure to work with you planning your special day and we are delighted that you were happy with everything. Please come and see us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#10 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay