We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn

Certificate of Excellence
High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Ship Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    38
    37
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Bideford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Strange place this. Ironically, we had booked to stay for one night at The 'bottom' Ship, the sister pub at Porlock Weir but when we arrived found that we had been booked into The 'top' Ship which was not a good start as we had travelled to meet friends who were staying at Millers and had booked a table for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royston C, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I will take full responsibility for the cobwebs in the rooms and also the two showers, one hadgone down and we had to put a replacement up quickly. We have made arrangements for room 4 to have a brand new bathroom in the Winter. Being a Family run free house, we have to earn the... More 

Waterrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I went for a Sunday roast and were very impressed. The staff were welcoming and helpful and very busy.We ordered and waited for our food to arrive and accepted that due to being freshly cooked and the pub busy we would have a fairly long wait. When the food arrived we were not disappointed and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royston C, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a kind review. Regards Caroline More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been staying in Porlock for the week and decided to try The Ship for our evening meal last night. I can safely safe we were not disappointed! On arrival it was very busy and we thought we would be lucky to get a table, however we were greeted warmly and a table was found for us. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royston C, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words - your little girl was so well behaved so she deserved a little treat. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope you visit again. Kind regards Caroline Ship Inn Porlock More 

Bath
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here with my parents who had been once before but sat in the garden. The weather on this visit wasn't right for Al frisco dining so we asked for a table inside. We were given a large number to put on our table an it was covered with dried tomato sauce! The menu is quite limited, the fish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royston C, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I have sent a private mail to obtain further information but to no avail. I can only hope that perhaps in time, you may revisit and put this visit down as an isolated incident. Regards Caroline Owner More 

Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited The Ship Inn for a meal whilst staying in Porlock. Would just like to say how friendly and welcoming the staff were.Also, although basic, the meals were cooked to perfection and offer excellent value for money, everything was cooked fresh and tasted divine!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tidworth Wiltshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

As a retired couple we stayed with our dog for 3 nights at the Ship, where we have stayed on many occasions in the past with our cocker spaniel, Shadow. We were delighted with the special offer which is on at present with 2 nights B&B for £85 with no charge for the dog. The room was very clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Beer-battered cod and chips arrived promptly after ordering and was a good plateful of decent pub grub. The batter was crisply, not a hint of grease, and the fish moist and flaky. A decent meal at a reasonable price in a pleasant pub setting. Good service from the staff too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Just returned from a very enjoyable weekend in Porlock. Room 7 (family room) was comfortable and clean and the breakfasts were excellent, served very efficiently by the friendly owner. My wife and I ate twice in the restaurant and the food was good, at very reasonable prices. The beer was very tasty too! Some new towels would be a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Congresbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

I stayed here the night before I did my photography course. A warm welcome was received when I checked in. The room was great with a shower that was clean and powerful. The evening meal (steak) was cooked perfectly to my liking (medium rare) and substantial. The beer was very well kept and there was a good choice too (bonus!).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

My family and I visited the Ship Inn after a long walk around Porlock Wier & surrounding woods. The staff were really friendly and the food was amazing! My dad and I both had the beer battered cod and my word, it was gorgeous! The atmosphere is also lovely and there are thank you so much for a lovely meal.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#10 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
1.6 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#5 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities