We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Place To Stay

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Knoll Hill Farm | Trudoxhill, Frome BA11 5DP, England
The Place To Stay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 30 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Olde1973
Add Your Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    40
    18
    16
    5
See reviews for
38
139
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (223)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We found Sam to be warm and welcoming, as perhaps you would expect. We needed to amend our booking prior to starting and found him very helpful. Our room (in the main house) had recently been decorated and showed signs of some unfinished touches - no lock to ensuite for example. The shower was not great but adequate, Hot water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited "the place to stay" for my 30th birthday, myself, husband and 16month old daughter. The room was clean, clutter free, comfortable and very cosy, just perfect. I was able to get milk for my daughters bed time drink and use the microwave, it felt very homely. The scenery was lovely. I liked how we was given a menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pembury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night. Arrived about 6.30pm, Sam could not have been more helpfully. Lots of knowledge about area and places to eat. Room was amazing, though small put up bed slightly disappointing for our son. Room very large and hot!! No air con, but we just turned off rads and opened door for a while. Tea bar very well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I took my boyfriend to the place to stay for his birthday and a trip to longleat, and before we had even left we had already decided we wanted to come back. A wonderful location, a beautiful quiet village with amazing views. The hotel itself was great, the beds were so comfy I didn't want to get up but as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devizes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I booked my first hot stone aromatherapy massage and facial which was achieved through the best of body oils from Decleor. Sarah, the massage therapist was a wonderful professional young lady who made me very welcome and at ease. She explained at every stage what she was going to do. The whole ambience of the building, massage room, the therapist... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We came and stayed for two nights and we fell completely in love with the place. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in with big snuggly duvets and blankets. The bathroom was very large and had a shower and a nice bath in which I can personally vouch for. The bnb's surroundings were breath taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sam G, General Manager at The Place To Stay, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly your comfy bed because our aim is to give the most restful and relaxing stay possible and we feel it starts with a lovely bed. What a shame it couldn't have been less wintery but we look forward to welcoming you back in the summer. More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Room 2 has no eye-level window, so check which room you are booked into. No Wi-fi outside main house. I raised these issues with the owner/manager and I was moved to another room but still no Internet and a blocked shower. Okay otherwise but over-priced for what was on offer. I wouldn't recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam G, General Manager at The Place To Stay, responded to this review

We are disappointed you were unhappy with your room but I am pleased we were able to move you to another room. Room 2 is enjoyed by many because it has a cosy, romantic feel and although it does not have a window towards the view it does have large velux windows making it a light and airy room. The... More 

Beckenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

I stayed in this lovely B&B last weekend for one night with my other half and we enjoyed every minute. The room we stayed in was the 'Longleat View' room and, needless to say, it was lovely. The king-size bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on and had the best night's sleep in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sam G, General Manager at The Place To Stay, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Longleat View, we certainly feel the beautiful Edwardian style bed gives a very comfy nights rest. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the summer when you can take advantage of the gardens and the BBQ area. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay, a lovely greeting by Sam, afternoon tea in the conservatory was fantastic, the room was more like a hotel then a guest house very comfortable bed and large bathroom, staff very friendly and helpful, would recommend to anyone. Will be returning again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sam G, General Manager at The Place To Stay, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we always want to provide a restful and relaxing atmosphere for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Sterling Heights, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This was my first B & B stay. The receptionist got a bit muddled, but we worked everything out. I went with friends, and we were escorted to our rooms (outside the main house). All the features were shown and explained. The rooms were very nice, clean and very roomy. The bathroom was very large and well appointed. The breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam G, General Manager at The Place To Stay, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope we can welcome you back to Somerset when you next visit the UK. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question