We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Clevedon B&Bs / inns

Cavell House

1 Elton Road, Clevedon BS21 7RA, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (11)
  • Photos (8)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Cavell House
Ranked #8 of 8 Clevedon B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clevedon
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had an en suite family room, which met our needs, decor and facilities a bit dated but adequate for what we required. The hosts were very friendly, welcoming and accommodating. They were very child friendly and making sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. All in all I would recommend Cavell House as a budget option... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
birmingham
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

needs a lot of money spent on it to bring it up to date, the room was freezing cold inadiquate heating systems uncomfortable surroundings,damp mouldy peeling wallpaper infact my stay made me ill.I am still recovering a week later..please update your lovely building or close it to the public.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was greeted by one of the owners with a welcoming smile, shown into an atmosheric dining room which has charming old world style, there is a free Continental breakfast provided with the room and a full English breakfast available for an extra fee of £6. I tried the full English and it was everything you would hope for. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked in advance and then read the comments and I was worried. We stayed for 3 nights in a double room, whilst 2 friends had single rooms. Our room was clean, bright, large and cool; perfect for a hot summer night. The bathroom was excellent and obviously newly done. The power shower was the best I've had in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Somerset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked this B and B six months ago so that we could attend a wedding in the locality. The room was dated and poorly decorated, the towels were of poor quality. We were given no details regarding breakfast and leaving times. On presenting for breakfast at 09.45 we were told by two pensioners who appear to be employees that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Central England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I am sitting at my computer trying hard to be fair to Cavell House. I paid for a single room and breakfast and I got both. The elderly lady who met us was nice and David helpful. So what is my problem! Cavell House is a beautiful building that has definately seen better days. The large car park and garden... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I find some of the reviews on here a bit harsh! Clearly some things are in process, during the change over in management and are gradually being upgraded, but we have always found the family that run Cavell House to be very friendly and helpful. As my wife is unable to cope with flights of stairs, they have always been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cavell House is a very splendid stay, I’ve been there quite a few times, and have always felt like one of the family, every time they have been helpful, and have always made me feel at home. Bedrooms are clean and spacious, the breakfast facilities are good, I’ve enjoyed having plenty to choose from in the morning, with a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I am writing this almost 7 months after the event, but the worst aspects remain clear in my mind. I have stayed in many B&Bs and guest houses over the years. A few, largely in remote locations where the owners have been doing their best in difficult trading conditions, have been of poor standard. I expected far better in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I booked a room over 2 months ago as we were attending my brothers wedding. A month before we were due to stay I received a phone call to ask where we were, they had us booked in on the wrong date, not only did I find it strange that they had the dates wrong but the call was made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cavell-House, Guest Relations Manager at Cavell House, responded to this review

firstly thank you for your review, as we appreciate feedback whether negative or positive, We apologise for any late phone calls, although we don't stay up later than 10.30 unless a Visitor has let us know, he or she will be late. The rooms are comfortable and clean with fresh towels and a strict policy on beds and their quality,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cavell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cavell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavell House

Address: 1 Elton Road, Clevedon BS21 7RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Also Known As:
Cavell House Clevedon, England, UK

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Cavell House to your Saves list