We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Cannington B&Bs / inns

Kings Head Inn

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   12 High Street, Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2HE, England
Hotel amenities
Kings Head Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kings Head Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 4 Cannington B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014
Shfay Somerset, United Kingdom
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (17)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Just had a lovely meal from the kings head we had the hunter chicken we highly recommend all staff were more then helpfully and polite and it was lovely to meet the chef. the pub has a lovely atmosphere . we will be going back agin thank you to kings head

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bridgwater
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We have been visiting the Kings Head regularly for food for quite some time and its always been really good. There has been a change in management and kitchen staff (not the bar staff who are really lovely and very welcoming) and although the food was ok it was not of the same good quality and standard we have had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Staff were lovely and helpful. The food, unfortunately, was not good, standard pub grub but had to leave most of it as chips were fatty, cold and soggy, burger overdone and tasteless with too much salty bacon, onion rings burnt and tasted of old fat. My partners battered fish was soggy and chewy. The serviettes were damp as they were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James S, Manager at Kings Head Inn, responded to this review

Hi I am truly sorry that you had a bad experience here at The Kings Head. If you felt so strongly that you needed to write a report why have you not complained to us at the time (we can't make your visit to us any better if we are not aware of any problems). We pride ourselves that we... More 

South West England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very good value twin room. Enjoyed a lunch before checking in and thought it was slightly over-priced compared to the room itself. Had the room right outside the back of the hotel which another reviewer mentioned was noisy and smelled of cigarette smoke. I didn't notice while I was there but had to leave before the evening crowd so it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bridgwater
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have been several times for meals at different times of the day. We decided to try the 'steak' night ' meal deal and wow was it fantastic! You get choice of steak (or gammon) with potatoes veg mushrooms and grilled tomatoes with a choice of drink for £12.00. We both had rump steak and it was by far the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
devon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

It has to be said that this was very cheap. And we were told that the rooms were being refurbished. We didn't mind if a bit of redecoration was needed, but there is no excuse for cheap shallow mattresses with springs sticking up. My night was spent like playing the game Twister horizontally. Not good for the back! The bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a night on the way down to Cornwall. We were out during the day and got back around 7ish in time for a lovely dinner (it was steak night!). We were going to head up to bed soon after but ended up having a few drinks and playing pool all night. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Have dined at The Kings Head twice recently, the food is good, plenty of choice and meals served were hot and fresh. Especially enjoyed the Burger and my partner the freshly battered fish chips. Unfortunately the service doesn't match the food, the cutlery was not especially clean on either occasion, waited along time for the plates to be cleared and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bridgwater
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This pub has recently changed hands. We tried the lunch special which was 2 courses for £6.50. We could not fault the good and varied choices on offer. The haddock and spring onion fishcakes for starters were yummy, and homemade, full of fish rather than mostly potato. Our main courses were gammon and mushroom/spinach gratin.Both piping hot and wonderfully tasty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for three nights and we had no problems. The bar staff were very helpful for anything that we needed. Made everyone in the bar feel welcome. We had no problems while we stayed there so allin all i would highly recommend this hotel to friends or family.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Kings Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Inn

Address: 12 High Street, Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater > Cannington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cannington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kings Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.