We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Bridgwater B&Bs / inns

The Bower Inn

Bower Lane | East Bower, Bridgwater TA6 4TY, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Bower Inn to your Saves list
The Bower Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
87%
Ranked #8 of 30 Bridgwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Wendy D Somerset, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (108)
  • Photos (23)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    27
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
40
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic venue, the marquee was ideal for a wedding, relaxed and intimate, it looked very pretty dressed with ribbons, balloons and flowers. The staff were amazing, friendly, courteous, and attentive and made all of our wedding guests feel so welcome. Excellent food and service throughout the day. You all did a great job and exceeded our expectations, thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Padiham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we were staying with friends in Bridgwater and they took us to the Bower Inn for tea. I ordered the burger and it was delicious! The service is really good here, you do actually get service with a smile!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We choose this venue as a place to meet friends between Bristol & Devon for Sunday lunch. Hidden just off the M5, the location is easy to get to & yet fairly rural. Fortunately we had booked in advance as it was fairly busy. However the staff were great - very friendly & attentive, and the service was prompt but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night here to break our long journey from Manchester to Penzance and what a find! Tucked away down a back lane only 5 minutes from the motorway junction, we enjoyed a superb night's sleep after a couple of drinks and an excellent meal. Whether you want to split a journey like we did, or want to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tunbridge Wells
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there on a Saturday night, having travelled from Kent for a friends ashes scattering. Booked on the phone, very good service. Arrived at 6.15pm & made extremely welcome. Our room was very good, only criticism, and I am being nit picking, no plug near a mirror to use hairdryer. The bed was really comfortable & all the toiletries were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garstang, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have just spent the week at the Bower Inn and what a lovely charming place. The owners Peter and Candi can't do enough for you. All the staff are extremely happy in their work and it is clear that the business is ran with much thought, love and care, a standard set by the owners. I can only comment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited The Bower Inn and sadly we were very disappointed. Starter of Prawn Cocktail served in a small tumbler from the Bar was uninspired and very small for almost £6. Main course from the specials board, Monkfish with Chorizo in Thai style curry was very poor very small and very overpriced for 2 pieces of monkfish and no chorizo... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TeamBower, Owner at The Bower Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not get the level of service that we would expect to deliver. We were very busy on Saturday as you point out and sadly you were one of the last tables to order. Not an excuse, and we apologise for the disappointing experience. Conversely, other feed back gained on the night was extremely... More

Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was part of a Wedding Reception in June 2014. Never had been in the Bower inn before pretty glad of that as I was very disappointed. Even through I was part of a wedding reception me & my family sat on the sofas near the bar AS PAYING CUSTOMERS the landlady was nice enough to supply a colouring book... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TeamBower, Owner at The Bower Inn, responded to this review

Unfortunate that one comment can effect your whole day and motivate such a review. For the record, your hosts ordered for their guests and were served our "roast pork buffet" - not a "hog roast" which is in fact quite different. Peter More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I would just like to say a few bits in addition to my dads review below (titled the same). To start- he couldn't be more accurate with his reflection on the service we received! Searching for wedding venues was tiring, we felt unheard and pressured into enormous packages and extras that were just not us. We then stumbled across The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamBower, Owner at The Bower Inn, responded to this review

Well, what can I say - thanks for the review and all the positive comments - we're so glad it all worked for you and you truly got The Bower Inn experience. Let's not underestimate the contribution made by yourselves and your guests to creating a great atmosphere and a fun, memorable evening. We've hosted a number of wedding receptions... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed at The Bower Inn for 3 nights June with my sister and 6 month old great nephew, while his parents went to Glastonbury. We shared one room, to take it in turns to look after the baby. The owners and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they helped make our stay such... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeamBower, Owner at The Bower Inn, responded to this review

It really was a pleasure having you to stay - back again next year? Peter More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Bower Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Bower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bower Inn

Address: Bower Lane | East Bower, Bridgwater TA6 4TY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bower Inn Bridgwater, Somerset

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bridgwater with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An 18thc country inn with a warm and relaxed feel. We have delicious food, comfy bedrooms and luxury bathrooms ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bower Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer