We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pen-y-Bont Hotel

Talyllyn | Tywyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    6
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We received a very warm welcome from Angela and all her staff, our rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. We had a very tasty meal in the bar in the evening all freshly cooked food and good value, our full welsh breakfast was excellent too. The view from the garden is absolutely stunning, such a peaceful and beautiful place.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were warmly welcomed upon arrival and indeed received a good standard of service throughout our stay. The hotel part of the building is full of character; our room and bathroom were very comfortable and clean. No TV, but this was not a problem for us. Wifi in room. The bar area did look a bit 'dated' but was never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

Went for Sunday lunch. Best roast potatoes I have eaten out. Owners very helpful and swarm welcome. Fantastic walk afterwards. We will return. Afternoon tea looked excellent also. The hotel is at the head of the lake and mountains to your right a stunning place on a beautiful day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You, Mach 15 and your fellow traveller! We have special recipes for our roast potatoes and gravies, with a delicious home-cooked flavour and vegetarian friendliness in mind. For us Sunday Lunch is a special occasion. We're glad you noticed the extra attention that makes our Sunday Lunch the best, we believe. More 

Machynlleth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Stopped here for lunch on Bank Holiday Monday on our way back from listening to a male voice choir at Abergynolwyn station. We ordered a chicken and mushroom pie and a steak and ale pie. The puff pastry tops were soggy and barely warm. The vegetables, new potatoes, carrots and tinned peas were luke warm when served and so bland,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, what a shocker! I am very disappointed that you seem to have had such a negative experience to give one star. I am also very disappointed that I was not given the opportunity to try and rectify this on the day. Please do speak to me personally and I will try to make amends. Obviously we don't use tinned... More 

Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

After a busy and stressful family christmas me and my GF needed a rest before New Year. I booked the hotel for only 2 nights as this was all we could do due to time but I could of stayed there forever. We were greeted by Mark the bar man who was ever so helpfully and friendly, there was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this review

Hey Joe.. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We stubbled across the Pen-Y-BONT purely by accident, after a long day on the hills. Needing something to eat and drink, we are so glad we did. The food was fantastic, the beer was good, the people were friendly and the scenery blew our minds. We will make sure it's somewhere we always stop at when in north Wales. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this review

Hey, Thanks Hoop lover! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future. More 

New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Three of us stayed here for one night this past summer. We would have stayed more, but we had to get a little further north for the rest of the trip. Everything from the rooms to the food to the beautiful lakeside seating was perfect. The views from just outside the hotel are magnificent. The wi-fi was strong and consistent.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for this wonderful review! We get great pleasure in making your stay special and in helping you to get the most from this beautiful and lesser-known part of Wales. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We went for an early dinner here on a recent camping trip. It's a little dated and the neon signs were a little off putting but the food was actually very good. It was pouring with rain when we went but had it been nice enough to sit out in the beer garden at the end of the lake it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit! The vast majority of our food is home-cooked and we are one of only a handful of businesses in North Wales that still make our own real chips. Sorry if you didn't like the flashing signs. As we have no village just miles of beautiful Welsh mountains. The signs do bring in customers from... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The hotel is situated next to a lake in a beautiful valley and beautiful scenery. The room was very clean. Angela & Brian and staff were Friendly and helpful. Free wifi in rooms as there is no phone signal ( great for getting away ). and look forward to going back to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Spike for this lovely review. This really is such a special place, you may want to look us up on Facebook to see all our photo albums and we look forward to your return! More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

What a gem of a find! Starting with the warm welcome from Angela upon arrival, and the friendly service from the staff throughout our stay, to the fab breakfast prepared by Brian. The view from the hotel is simply breathtaking, a peaceful, idyllic spot if ever there was one. Take a look at the photos on the Hotel Facebook Page.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Paul! According to booking.com ratings, the friendliness of our staff and the warmth of the welcome is voted even higher than the location in customer reviews! This is our favourite beauty spot in the world so we are humbled by your comments. :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay