We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Tal-y-llyn B&Bs / inns

The Old Rectory on the Lake

Talyllyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
500 amazing reviews!!!!
Save Saved
You added The Old Rectory on the Lake to your Saves list
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
98%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    484
    14
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
340
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have just enjoyed the most wonderful Sunday lunch at The Old Rectory on the Lake to celebrate my wife's birthday with our daughter, son and daughter in law. Another wonderful feast prepared by the master of the kitchen Ricky and great value. The Old Rectory is a very special place with always a wonderfully warm welcome, and fabulous views... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful slice of tranquillity in a beautiful part of Wales. Fantastic scenery, ever-changing weather and warm and welcoming hospitality from John & Ricky. Our room had a lovely view of the lake,& a very comfy bed (want that mattress!!). The bathroom was spacious & a soak in the 'floating' bath was a good end to a busy week. Supper... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

It was good to meet you both and many thanks for leaving this review. It was our pleasure to welcome you into our home and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. Your kind comments about us both are very much appreciated. Marian is looking forward to meeting the girls! Kind regards from John and Ricky -... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent three days here ... absolutely beautiful location; wonderful accommodation; such welcoming and hospitable hosts; menu and dinners to die for! Perfect break away from London. Will go back again sometime soon for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Snowdoniatraveller, Public Relations Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Mary, thanks for taking the time to post this kind review with photographs and for writing so enthusiastically about your stay here with my owners, John and Ricky, who have asked me to respond to this! It was a great pleasure to meet ewe both and please do return to my pastures whenever you can - my gate is always... More

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's never quiet at The Old Rectory on the lake as John's pre dinner video demonstrates all too well and while we were there there was a mini water drama on Talyllyn! Two rowing boats got into difficulty as the afternoon wind suddenly got up and blew them down the lake. The panicking occupants were unable to row against it and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

You are so right .... there is never a dull moment here and it was so fortunate that you were able to alert me to the plight of those four guys in the boats. They really should not have been allowed out onto the lake and we are all relieved here that nothing untoward happened to them. It was great... More

Westerville, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

my family and I stayed for just one night whilst over from the States visiting our family. From the phone call to enquire about a reservation to the wave good bye the hospitality and level of service from John and Ricky was a work of art. The food was spectacular. This gorgeous little hotel far out surpasses top level hotels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Thanks so much Julian for this wondrous review! It was our pleasure to have you all to stay and we are so pleased that you enjoyed it so much. We wish you continued good luck with your photography business in Ohio and do tell the girls Marian sends her bleatings! Kindest regards, John and Ricky. More

Warrington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 day stay in their Mynydd Rugog room. This is one of the upstairs rooms. The view over the lake is fantastic. The building is furnished to a high standard. In particular our bathroom was superb. Service is friendly and helpful without being overbearing and generates a unique character which we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Hello to you wanderers from Warrington and thanks for taking the time to write about your stay here. I am so happy that you were impressed with my cooking and the choice that we offer and, more importantly, you also found it all good value. We are now offering Sunday lunches to non residents and I just hope that they... More

Chester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our fourth visit to the Old Rectory On the Lake. It was Alistair Sawday's rave reviews in the Telegraph that brought it to our attention and he was not wrong. We love to come here for the tranquil setting and the chance to spot the otters. We were not disappointed, my partner Rick saw an otter running along... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Many, many congratulations you have the honour of posting our 500th review! As you have stayed four times before and have recommended us to others it seems rather fitting that it should be you who hits this TripAdvisor milestone. When our first review went on in 2009 we never thought for one moment that we would get so many and... More

UK Midlands
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was an idyllic location. The accommodation was spacious, clean and comfortable. The food was some of the finest we have tasted. We highly recommend the Old Rectory on the Lake. Stan and Vivienne.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Stan and Vivienne, it was a great pleasure to meet you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed the night you had with us. Thanks for these very kind comments and we trust all went well the next day when you visited The Tal-y-llyn Railway for that important trip. Kind regards, Ricky - chef and joint owner More

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me any my partner stayed here for a short get away on the 30th march. We came with high expectations and after reading the reviews I have to admit to being attracted to the B&B by oddly the bad reviews and the elegance in which they were dispatched. Any one who can remain calm and measured in reply to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

We were astounded that you were encouraged to stay with us simply because of how we had responded to reviews on here in the past - especially the more challenging ones! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your one night with us and I too was sorry that we were unable to offer you an evening meal. However it... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This stunning bed and breakfast is so special and everything that all the many other reviewers have posted on here is just so right and to be honest I cannot add to them except to say go and stay for yourself. I am sure you will not be disappointed and just make sure you try Ricky's lemon drizzle cake which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Mike, thanks for leaving this review. I am glad you think that we have something special here at Tal-y-llyn (we think we do - but we are biased!) and your kind comment about my lemon drizzle cake, which we often serve to guests on arrival with their complementary afternoon tea, has made my day! We hope that you and your... More

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Tal-y-Llyn, Wales
Address: Talyllyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.