We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haughton Hall

Certificate of Excellence
Haughton Lane, Shifnal TF11 8HG, England
Hotel amenities
Haughton Hall
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
mollieeddiefrankie Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    93
    105
    52
    30
    15
See reviews for
61
123
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (295)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I got married at this hotel in April 2011 and it was fantastic! the staff worked very hard to make our day wonderful , food at the wedding breakfast was delicious, and all our guests commented on how nice the meal was, the evening reception was also fantastic we used the hotels DJ who was brilliant and again the hot/cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel set in lovely surroundings. Great leisure facilities with pool and gym and tennis court although we only used the pool which was very nice and very quiet. Great breakfast and friendly staff. Only stayed in a standard double room but this was very adequate and met all our needs. The only negative was that the wifi is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First Impressions: At first we drove straight past the entrance as the signage was angled towards people approaching from the east. The entrance drive was along a tree lined avenue, the hotel was a fairly imposing looking place. Reception: There was a friendly receptionist who quickly checked us in and offered to get assistance with our luggage. We declined the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
takenoteplease, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear 558 John P, Thank you for your kind comments, We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Haughton in the future. Regards Nicola Mason GENERAL MANAGER More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a review of two halves! Our room was in the horrid looking 1970s wing (mysteriously not appearing in their publicity shots!) and was cramped, stuffy and basic. However the public rooms are in the main house and were far more pleasant. I would recommend getting an upgrade if you are offered one of the most basic rooms. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HEHotels, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear Elspeth B, Thank you for your comments, I am pleased your stay was enjoyable. Most of our publicity shots are taken from the rear of the hotel to showcase our lovely grounds due to the fact we are a popular wedding venue in the local and surrounding areas and don't show the bedroom wings as you state. Our menu... More 

Cardiff
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one Saturday night on arrival evident was a large wedding party in full flow we were a bit worried that it would impinge on our stay .......it did not. The hotel is clean but a little tired in places our room was fine nothing of note but perfectly ok, although no bath ......excellent shower though. The service was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HEHotels, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear HarrisCardiff Thanks for the nice review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you may return in the future to see the continual improvements we are making throughout the property to update it gradually. Again, thanks for the feedback. Regards Nicola Mason GENERAL MANAGER More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a couple of rooms; one for my wife and I (fourposter) and one for teenage son (standard) - cheap deal on booking.com. Four poster room very spacious with large bathroom - good for a romantic weekend. Standard room was... well standard - not very different from one of the mid-range big chains. Did not eat at hotel in evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HEHotels, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear CJ G Thanks for your review. We offer a variety of room types with the larger Manor, Four Poster & Suites situated in the main original building, all available for a small supplement over the Classic rooms. For special occasions, it is always nice to stay in these rooms and over coming months we plan to enhance the breakfast... More 

london
Level Contributor
234 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this hotel because we were looking for a last minute bed for the night. For the price of £70 we thought the price was reasonable considering how much B&B's charge in the area. We arrived early at 1pm and were allowed into our room at 1.30pm which was great. Checkin was easy and painless. Our room was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmpressManager, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments LK1509. We are continually updating the hotel as you can imagine in such an old historic building. Many rooms have been completed, and along with work on the grounds over the next 12 months, I hope guests will start to feel the full benefit next year. We'll be bringing out new menu's in the autumn... More 

Stourbridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel whilst on business. The building has an interesting history and is a mix of oldy worldy meets contemporary. I had a room in an annexe adjacent to the main building where room are much smaller than this within the main building. I would choose a room in the main part if I stayed again. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EmpressManager, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear SueTTFN Thanks for your nice review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Regards Nicola Mason GENERAL MANAGER More 

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived during a wedding. They didn't mention there was one on when we booked. The noise kept us awake until 1am. The bar is totally incongruous with the rest of the hotel, it's like a cross between an airport lounge, a dentist waiting room and an 80's bar trying to be cool. The food is average to poor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmpressManager, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan M Having read your feedback, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at the Hotel. I feel I must point out, that we clearly advertise we are a popular wedding venue on every website that we are on and I am therefore surprised you hadn't expected a function to be during your stay. Our restaurant and bar... More 

Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The grounds are superb as was the service that we received. Our room (The Telford Suite) was lovely with the bath situated on a platform within the main body of the room. It does need some adjustments, however, to make it perfect: more plug sockets ( having to crawl under the bed to plug things into an extension lead is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmpressManager, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear DL2264 Thank you for your feedback recently. I have read your remarks and will ask housekeeping to be more thorough with the cleaning in the public area's to bring the standard back to our normal level. I agree with your point about power points in the bedrooms as I too find it frustrating, but with a special interest listed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shifnal
0.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
16.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Telford Ironbridge M54
4.4 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
6.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#10 of 22 in Telford
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay