We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fleece

Certificate of Excellence
11 Church Green, Witney OX28 4AZ, England
Hotel amenities
The Fleece
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Kimbo61 London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    88
    74
    28
    16
    8
See reviews for
33
101
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (214)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loved our room (9) for a recent stay at The Fleece, we only stayed the one night but it was a lovely relaxing visit. The room was clean and spacious with a fantastic bed and pillows. We had dinner at the pub later on the Saturday evening which got a big thumbs up from both myself and OH. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wamboin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night. We were allocated a ground floor room, fitted out for people with a disability. This in itself was fine. But the room was really dingy, and the carpet was very badly stained and looked dirty. We slept well, and the room was surprisingly quiet (given that there were tables at which people could eat and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Becs J, General Manager at The Fleece, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that this was your impression during you visit and we did not meet your expectations. We have since had the carpets cleaned. I can guarantee that our rooms are a very important part of our business and definitely as important to us as the food and drink. We will use your feedback to ensure every guest is... More 

Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went to the fleece for breakfast and was very disappointed. We ordered and 10 minutes later they come over and say they didnt have any smoked salmon, i ordered pancakes and my friend ordered a full english. His breakfast was terrible, undercooked and bland, my pancakes were drenched in syrup and horribly soggy. The service was equally poor, waiting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Becs J, General Manager at The Fleece, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that you were disappointed, this is not a normal reflection of what we do. We buy the best ingredients and it should be prepared well and be of great quality when it reaches you. Sometimes the coffees can be a little slow when we have a lot of orders at the same time,, each coffee takes a... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one Friday night, everything was lovely except that it was a REALLY hot day and the room at the front of the building had been closed up with the sun streaming in all day so it was incredibly hot. Unfortunately only one of the windows opened as the others were painted closed and we were unable to swtich... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Becs J, General Manager at The Fleece, responded to this review

Thanks for you review, I'm sorry you had trouble opening the windows, they should all open and we're checking to ensure there are no issues. We will make sure they're opened during the day when the weather is very warm before guests check-in. I'm glad you weren't disturbed by the noise from drinkers on the Green, we always ask them... More 

Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pub just been refurbished. Looks Great. Food however, was a different issue. Very Small portions for the price, when questioned we were given a feeble excuse as to the reasoning!! ( with think we were given Starter potions) Won't be rushing back!! 😒

Was this review helpful? Yes
Becs J, General Manager at The Fleece, responded to this review

Ladies, I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy your lunch with us; sounds like something definitely went wrong here. I'd love to know more about the response you got when you raised it with my team, would be great if you could email me the info rebecca.jones@peachpubs.com More 

Hong KOng
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The outlook of this B&B is quite lovely however there were 2 main factors that made my stay very disappointing. My room had a very high ceiling (room no. 10) with attic style windows however, for whatever reason, there were no blinds or curtains on them. Hence at 5am I woke up because the sun was up and streaming through.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Becs J, General Manager at The Fleece, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, I'm really sorry for your recent experience with us, I can understand your frustrations. In regards to the room, we have made some changes, putting an advisory message on the room for future bookings and, although you mentioned sleep masks with maybe, a little tongue and cheek, we have also purchased some for people staying in... More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was a warm summers evening on Thursday the 2nd of July, a few friends and I decided to stroll to our local pub. It started well, socialising on the lush green at the front of the pub. As the night progressed and the weather dipped back in to the teens we decided to make our way inside the pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 25
Becs J, General Manager at The Fleece, responded to this review

Gosh, we really cheesed you off when you came to visit us.... I've taken on board your feedback about the deposit, we did this in good faith for people who wanted to play with the games in the sunshine, trying to safeguard them... we will stop asking for a fully refunded deposit. There must have been some confusion over the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Location... Staff very friendly and attentive. Enjoyed a quiet room - the downside was that it was very warm and the only window we could open had to be propped open, the position of room meant that there was no air flow. The breakfast was disappointing as I suspect that the produce was not necessarily locally sourced. Overall a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Becs J, General Manager at The Fleece, responded to this review

Many thanks for you review. Sorry that you room was a little warm, we do have fans available for when the weather is fabulous, we should have made this clear to you. Apologies if we got your breakfast wrong on this occasion. We use Aubrey Allen butchers to ensure the best quality of meat and the free-range eggs are sourced... More 

Hackney, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice Location,friendly and pleasant staff. Nice spacious bedroom and bathroom,spotlessly clean. Breakfast a little disappointing.Toaster was in another room and I had to get another guest to show me how to work it.I had pancakes which where obviously shop bought with not very much maple syrup over them. My wife was only given one cup of coffee and no one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Stayed at The Fleece for two nights while attending a course nearby, found the location to be excellent. Witney is a very pleasant town with a nice variety of bars, bistro's and restaurants. I was allocated Rm 9 at the rear of the building, which was spacious and well appointed. On the negative side I did find the following spoilt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
2.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Witney
Premier Inn Witney
#2 of 7 in Witney
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall
Eynsham Hall
#6 of 7 in Witney
3.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Boar Witney
Blue Boar Witney
#7 of 7 in Witney
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Old Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay