We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Boar Witney

4.0 of 5 28, Market Square, Witney OX28 6 BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Boar Witney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Blue Boar Witney
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    45
    13
    17
    14
See reviews for
16
44
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Devon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Attended a celebration here, so stayed overnight. Very central location, and despite secondary glazing, weren't disturbed from any noise outside. Room was clean and spacious, but the "free wi fi" didn't work in the room and the twin bed mattresses were very very uncomfortable, as the buttons were sitting proud and stuck into your body when you laid down! Ended... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Dear DevonShirley, Many thanks for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The Blue Boar. Thank you for your feedback on the mattress and letting us know at the time of check out, whilst we do our best to check all facilities we appreciate you taking the time to make us aware that it was... More 

derby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Neat rooms. If a little compact. Good minibar selection if you need that but as usual expensive. Nice clean room. Do need to get bet curtains that are made to fit the window rather than frayed edged ones that have been cut to size. Central to witney on the main road which we didn't know gets very lively at night!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi PurpleTrumpet, Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a detailed reviews. It's always useful to hear our guests opinions on all aspects of their stay with us so I really do appreciate it. I apologise that the room smelt of paint, we have been doing little touch ups to our rooms and although dry the smell was... More 

Brize Norton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very disappointed to be wasting my time and writing this review this evening. Had a provisional booking for 20 people this afternoon. Had paid and secured a deposit for 4 people and had explained until the day I would not know how many people would be showing. On explaining 14 people would be joining me I was told I needed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We specifically asked not to be put in the annexe and so were rather disappointed to find out we were. There was absolutely NO atmosphere and it was cold. We were the only other diners for half an hour. Our orders were rushed. Upon arrival, we had planned to have pre-lunch drinks in the bar. All lounge tables had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Dear 2412joh I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your meal with us on Christmas Day. We had a lot of tables booked in and so to accommodate all of these we did have to rearrange some of the furniture in the bar and I’m sorry to hear that this meant you were unable to make the most of the... More 

Banbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in for some hot drinks on a Saturday afternoon, we had a look at the snack menu and decided to order 3 light bites to share - we ordered the pork belly bites, crackling chicken and sweet potato fries - sounded delicious - don't you think? How wrong were we !! The pork belly bites - 5 in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Tstevenz I’m sorry to hear that you feel that our bar snacks were unacceptable. With regards to the pork belly bites, pork belly is a fatty cut of meat which does cook down and I can assure you were baked in the oven and not deep fried. We’re very particular about which suppliers we work with and ensure we... More 

Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We planned a really special christmas day with my partners mum and dad and my son this year but unfortunately this was not to be, the food was i would like to express to the chefs was beautiful but unfortunately the waiting staff badly let them down. In fact the service was practically non existent, the waiting staff certainly kept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Dear Debbie219, Firstly, thank you so much for the fantastic words regarding the food, I’ll be sure to pass your comments on to our head chef Ben and the rest of his team. With regards to service I am concerned to hear that you felt it was practically non-existent. As a company we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service and... More 

england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We had my brothers wedding on the 20th Dec 2014 I have to say the staff the food the detail everything was superb. It went without a hitch it was just amazing I would never hesitate to go here or boom here for a function the roast potato's and service we received were the best ever !!!! Loved it !!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely review. It was a pleasure to hold your brother’s wedding and it’s always great to receive feedback. We’re so pleased you enjoyed the day. Ellie and The Blue Boar Team More 

Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
73 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I had 7 guests to entertain and wanted a nice location in Witney. The service and the food was of a great standard and everyone left feeling we had a nice evening – good food, good service and a nice environment. Thank you Team Blue Boar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Dear XKR100, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful meal with us. We are delighted to hear the food and service was up to our usual high standard. I’ll definitely make sure to pass on your compliments to the whole team. We look forward to seeing you... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I had booked a table for myself and two friends to dine on Saturday afternoon for the Blue Boar's afternoon tea. This was originally a two phonecall booking as one person in the party was not able to get back to me until later in the week, but the gentleman I spoke to on the phone said everything about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hello Garnetportrait, We sincerely apologise for your disappointing visit with us at the Blue Boar and the fact that your booking went un-noted. We completely agree that it should not take this length of time to prepare a table for afternoon tea and I apologise for the fact that whilst the table was being prepared, you were not offered drinks... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

First visit to the restaurant last night and will not be going back. Chewy poor quality lamb, undercooked fish, cold 'cooked' potatoes. Wine prices extortionate. However, waiting staff did their best. Plenty of much better bistro pubs close by!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Julie S, We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your dinner at the restaurant; we pride ourselves on the quality of our 100% British meat and locally sourced food, offering utmost quality and as this was clearly not the case for you on this occasion we sincerely apologise. We are pleased that the waiting staff were good and we do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Blue Boar Witney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Boar Witney

Address: 28, Market Square, Witney OX28 6 BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Boar Witney 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Boar Witney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Boar Witney Hotel Witney
Marlborough Hotel Witney

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay