We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Boar Witney

28, Market Square, Witney OX28 6 BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Boar Witney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Blue Boar Witney
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    52
    19
    19
    14
See reviews for
16
51
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights over a bank holiday weekend. On arrival, we were impressed with the look & feel of the hotel, although the manager seemed to be rushed off his feet! We had Room 3 which was overlooking the High Street and although small it was cosy, nicely decorated & clean. The room was also boiling so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 1 night and had Room 4 which was overlooking the High street. Room was fine, bed was a little lumpy, but overall very nice and clean. Bathroom and shower was clean and good quality complimentary products. I'd probably ask for a room on the back in future as it was a little noisy at 6am with general traffic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on a Sunday night. At no point throughout the stay would I say the service was excellent. Upon check in we were not informed of the early closure of the kitchen. So at 9.15 when we thought we'll have a nice relaxed meal in the bar, not possible as the kitchen had already closed. We were curtly told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Witney hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

Ate here with a group of 15.They have an area set aside for larger groups,good idea i think. The food was average and the service was very good! Dont know about prices as the evening was paid for but was told its fairly expensive, but as its a hotel thats no surprise!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Didn't know anything about Witney or the Blue Boar before going there but I was pleasantly surprised by the town and especially by the accommodation offered by the Blue Boar. From the helpful way in which my booking was made, the well appointed spacious rooms, comfortable bar (with good music!!), attentive service and freshly cooked breakfast, I can highly recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We've just returned from our stay at the Blue Boar. Overall, we had a pleasant stay. One or two niggles.. As stated on previous posts, the annex rooms are very warm, even with the heating off we had to sleep with the window open. They obviously recognise that the rooms are too hot as there is a large free standing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

I went in for drinks with friends on a saturday night. The boys wanted Guinness and had struggled to find it in the other pubs nearby. The bar is lovely, with smart decor and a nice atmosphere. It was busy but plenty of staff ensured no long waits for drinks. Not cheap for drinks but happy to pay for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi lovetravel01 It's great to hear you recently stopped in for a drink and we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We're so please we could accommodate the Guinness demand and that you enjoyed the atmosphere whilst you were with us. With regards to the drinks pricing we consider ourselves to be competitive for the range of... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

When exploring Oxford, Stratford Upon Aven (Shakespeare) and Blenheim (Churchill), this is a good starting point. Located in the center of Witney it is close to everything. No noise from the pub below, good breakfast and clean room. Limited parking options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your review Terje. As you've pointed out our location is perfect for visiting some of the beautiful attractions around North Oxfordshire and the Cotswolds and you even get to enjoy some of the gorgeous British countryside. As you say parking is limited but our team can always help direct you to the best places to park. Thanks... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
40 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015 via mobile

Visited last month with some friends . The place was rammed , great food , excellent service and well worth the trip out of oxford . The lime chicken and sweet potato fries are really recommended ! The drinks were a bit pricy . Top tip avoid a table by the door due to draughts .we were given such a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you so much Coughandcath. The chicken and sweet potato fries have been a favourite on the menu so you definitely made the right choice there. Apologies about the table, we always do try and move tables if our customers would prefer to sit somewhere else but as I'm sure you appreciate when we're busy it... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We dined here on a Tuesday evening as the menu was to our taste. We were greeted by the waiter who took us to our seats very promptly. The interior was decorated tastefully and the bar near the entrance was stylish. I had a strawberry mocktail which was fairly average however the steak for two was delicious and perfectly cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

HI KimberlyG, Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent visit to The Blue Boar. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the sharing steak. It's very important to us that we use high quality ingredients as it really does show in the food that we serve to our guests as you clearly experiences. We're pleased to hear... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay