We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Witney hotels

Blue Boar Witney

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28, Market Square, Witney OX28 6 BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Blue Boar Witney to your Saves list
Blue Boar Witney
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
67%
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Witney
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
scottgreening88 Witney, United Kingdom
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    8
    13
    10
See reviews for
10
31
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My new wife and I had our wedding reception at the Blue Boar on 5th April, and it was absolutely brilliant. The two managers, Rebekah and Ellie (both of whom I think are quite new) are so helpful and really worked hard to make our evening perfect. We had a cocktail theme and the cocktails they made were delicious, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Scott Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we're all so pleased you had such a great day and enjoyed the cocktails - we all thought it was a brilliant theme for a wedding and were excited to put it together for you! I've passed your comments on to the chefs too -... More

Oxford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Blue Boar catered my wedding reception last year. A buffet breakfast for 40 guests, in their private function room to the rear of the hotel, on a Saturday at 10.30 am. It was superb. The food was plentiful, hot and prompt, and all of the guests expressed their delight. Several guests also booked rooms for the previous evening and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi John! Thank you so much for leaving your review! I'm really pleased that you had a great time on your wedding day, I remember it so well as it was such an unusual idea but also a fantastic one! We really appreciate you taking the time to review us, pop by and say 'hi' when you're next in Witney! More

Penzance, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Looks very imposing from the outside, but public areas dreary. Spartan freezing room with broken heating was readily exchanged for a warmer one. Excruciatingly loud music in the bar made a quiet drink impossible. Din went on very late night so made sleep impossible until the early hours. Peculiar take it or leave it breakfast. Nothing on display - had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Rebekah Thank you for leaving your review on TA. I'm really sorry you didn't feel able to bring the issues that you mention to my attention either at the time or when I checked you out of the Hotel when I could have addressed them personally. I'm pleased to hear that we sorted the problem with the room swiftly... More

Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was Wednesday April 9th and apparently the 1st day of a new menu card. This should not be a major issue for a well run restaurant. My initial observation was that the sole waiter on duty when I arrived had far too much to do. He remained cheerful throughout and was later joined by an additional colleague (Spanish lady?).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Mr Lewis, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review on TA. It's only through feed back that we continue to make improvements to service and the overall experience. I'm really pleased to hear that you thought the new menu was 'tasty' we've had some excellent comments that are in agreement with this! The lamb... More

Wrexham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently returned from a one nights stay at this hotel which I must admit completely filled it's purpose. Cosy beds, good food and a good choice of beers. Apart from the lack of parking (which is not really the hotels fault) I would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi DGJones I'm really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and feel that you could recommend us! Our town centre location does mean that we don't have our own car parking but we are lucky to have plenty of free parking close by. More

Witney, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked in for Mothers day Breakfast for 7. This is the first time I have been back since it first opened due to terrible service and rude waitresses. being breakfast and getting there for 9:30 I would of thought it would have gone smoothly, but no. After ordering we had to wait 45 mins For our food to come... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Dear Temps89 I was saddened to read your review and am sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit. Having had a detailed conversation with our Head Chef, if you would be kind enough to contact me directly via blueboar@oakmaninns.co.uk marking it for the attention of the General Manager, I would like to work with you to ensure that you are... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Greeted by a smiling face and a warm welcome, I instantly fell in love with the place. The room is of the highest standard, and I have had possibly the greatest night sleep ever whilst here! The food and mainly the chef's need to be commended for some of the finest food ive ever eaten. The staff will do everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi IeuanBeal, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a glowing review on TA. We really do appreciate your comments, I've passed your remarks onto the Chefs and our Waiting staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Blue Boar the next time you are in the area. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was headed to an event with the now disbanded 216 Squadron at RAF Brize Norton. As a reaction, I needed a hotel in the area. I scoured high and low for a 'good' hotel, not a 'cheap' one. The Blue Boar, in Witney, looked excellent. And, as I expected, it was. Witney itself is rather well-to-do, and when you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Nicholashair37 Thank you so much for your kind review! I hope that you enjoyed your event at Brize Norton, I'm pleased that you found us such a welcoming and comfortable base for your visit. Do come back and see us soon, remember that the best rates are always via the Blue Boar directly! More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I won a competition for a free dinner, bed and breakfast night at this lovely hotel in the middle of Witney. Although we had to park five minutes away, this did not affect our stay. The room was lovely and there were the usual shower gels and shampoo in the bathroom. The added value was a sewing kit, nail file... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Kaz1529 Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on TA, I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your Prize! Our staff do work very hard to ensure our guests have a good time so I'm pleased you found them all friendly and helpful. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Blue Boar... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I had my 30th Birthday party in the private suite at the back of the hotel back in the beginning of January 2014, It was fab! The hotel was very helpful & very accommodating in the run up to my event, I always had a quick response & they were always willing to help me in anyway, they defiantly went... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to leave your review! We're all so pleased that you enjoyed your 30th Birthday and had a great time - Zoe and Ryan were thrilled you had a wonderful evening... Pop back to see us all soon! More

Been to Blue Boar Witney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Boar Witney

Also Known As:
Blue Boar Witney Hotel
Blue Boar Witney Hotel Witney
Marlborough Hotel Witney
Address: 28, Market Square, Witney OX28 6 BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Boar Witney 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Boar in Witney is a stylish restaurant, bar and rooms, combining historic character with modern comfort and design. Open all day every day for food and drink, the Blue Boar is at the heart of the town, providing the ideal place to eat, drink, and relax. Featuring a modern Mediterranean-inspired restaurant menu, an extensive range of drinks, wines, local real ales and cocktails, as well as a cafe area overlooking the courtyard, the Blue Boar also offers complimentary wi-fi throughout. With 20 luxury en-suite bedrooms, complete with iPod docking stations, flatscreen televisions and designer toiletries, the rooms also feature locally-made Witney blankets. Available for private hire is the Bosworth Suite, an elegant function room ideal for weddings, conferences, business meetings or events, with a completely tailored package to suit individual requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Blue Boar Witney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Boar Witney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.