We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Boar Witney

4.0 of 5 28, Market Square, Witney OX28 6 BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Boar Witney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Blue Boar Witney
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    43
    13
    15
    12
See reviews for
13
42
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had 7 guests to entertain and wanted a nice location in Witney. The service and the food was of a great standard and everyone left feeling we had a nice evening – good food, good service and a nice environment. Thank you Team Blue Boar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Dear XKR100, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful meal with us. We are delighted to hear the food and service was up to our usual high standard. I’ll definitely make sure to pass on your compliments to the whole team. We look forward to seeing you... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I had booked a table for myself and two friends to dine on Saturday afternoon for the Blue Boar's afternoon tea. This was originally a two phonecall booking as one person in the party was not able to get back to me until later in the week, but the gentleman I spoke to on the phone said everything about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hello Garnetportrait, We sincerely apologise for your disappointing visit with us at the Blue Boar and the fact that your booking went un-noted. We completely agree that it should not take this length of time to prepare a table for afternoon tea and I apologise for the fact that whilst the table was being prepared, you were not offered drinks... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

First visit to the restaurant last night and will not be going back. Chewy poor quality lamb, undercooked fish, cold 'cooked' potatoes. Wine prices extortionate. However, waiting staff did their best. Plenty of much better bistro pubs close by!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Julie S, We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your dinner at the restaurant; we pride ourselves on the quality of our 100% British meat and locally sourced food, offering utmost quality and as this was clearly not the case for you on this occasion we sincerely apologise. We are pleased that the waiting staff were good and we do... More 

Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

A decent place over all. Rooms are tidy and modern. One or two of the front facing rooms are a little noisey sometimes but not bothered me. Food is good and breakfast is very good. Location is smack bang in the middle of town and has a nice bistro area out in the back courtyard. Parking is difficult as it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi David O, Thanks for your review. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay here at The Blue Boar and we look forward to your return. Kind regards, The Blue Boar Team More 

Witney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We have been here on many times both in an evening for a drink, and daytime for coffee. However on every visit the service has been found to be lacking and seems to take an age to get served, especially if there for coffee during the day. Longest wait 20 minutes before being acknowledged, then another 15 minutes to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Witneytraveller, We’re very sorry that the service has been slow on your most recent visits and we really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. We’ll definitely take your constructive criticism into account and look at how we can address this issue. We hope you’ll be back to visit us soon, and we’d love to hear if... More 

Witney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I and a number of colleagues eat here on a regular. We are well looked after, but there does appear to have been a number of changes of chefs, and the quality of the food has varied considerably, often from week to week. Better content and consistency with the food would much inprove the eating experience here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, Whilst I’m delighted to hear that you are always well looked after during your time with us, your comment regarding consistency is very concerning and we really appreciate you letting us know that this is how you feel. This is something we will definitely look into and aim to improve. Looking forward to seeing you soon, The Blue... More 

United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Good varied menu and we all enjoyed our meals. Staff very pleasant. Only disappointment was the Eton Mess which was just some cream with hard to find berries and 2 small meringue pieces on top, not what I expected but everyone makes things differently.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Daisy, We always appreciate constructive criticism and if you have any tips for our Eton Mess then we’d be delighted to hear them! Similarly, if you have any suggestions for any puddings you’d love to see on the specials menu then please just get in touch at: theblueboar@oakmaninns.co.uk Aside from that, it’s great to hear that your meal was... More 

Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

The food in this restaurant is excellent. I have been to the Blue Boar twice in the last month. First occasion was our wedding anniversary with some friends. We all had variety of items from the menu and nobody made a single negative comment. We came away having had a great night. Which the staff had been excellent and joined... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Dear Norlye_11, I’m so pleased that you’ve had two great meals with us in the last month and thanks for taking the time to let us know! It’s really encouraging to hear that we’ve been consistent and reliable. We’re looking forward to seeing you soon, The Blue Boar Team More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Went here with my husband for a meal and the food is amazing! Lots of choice, brilliant service and a lovely atmosphere. I like how you can see the food being cooked and there is a great outside space. Will definitely go back, really enjoyed it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Nicola, It’s great that you had such a wonderful meal with us – thanks for taking the time to leave your review! Not only is it really helpful for other Trip Advisor users but it really helps to motivate the whole team, and we really appreciate it. I’m so pleased that you enjoy the open kitchen too, we like... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel is in a central location. The food in the hotel is excellent, the breakfast was one of the best I have had in a UK hotel. The room we stayed in was simple and clean with a decent bathroom that had complimentary toiletries. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. It really is a nice place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Gab160, What a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, it’s not only helpful for other Trip Advisor users but also so motivating for the whole team. We’re delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay, and your comments about your breakfast are particularly lovely hear. We do hope you’ll... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Blue Boar Witney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Boar Witney

Address: 28, Market Square, Witney OX28 6 BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Boar Witney 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Boar Witney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Boar Witney Hotel Witney
Marlborough Hotel Witney

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay