We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Boar Witney

4.0 of 5 28, Market Square, Witney OX28 6 BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Boar Witney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Blue Boar Witney
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    16
    17
    14
See reviews for
16
48
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this Hotel as we were visiting the Wychwood Brewery Tour which is in the same Village. It is set in a small village in the square with a Market opposite and lots of little shops. There is no car parking at the Hotel but pay and display car parks nearby. Outside on the road, you can park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate at the Blue Boar on Sunday evening, the food was lovely (shared the fish platter and had ribeye on the bone). The service was friendly, helpful and efficient. Not the cheapest place to eat in Witney but we had no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just spent a wonderful overnight stay at the Blue Boar Witney. Pete had long wanted to visit Hobgoblin brewery and I was quite happy to visit the teddy bear shop. Blue Boar was in the middle of the two and that's the reason we booked. We can highly recommend as the room was comfortable, food and staff excellent.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi doggiewog, We're so pleased you chose to stay with us on your visit to Witney, we're very proud to have a town centre location and agree that it works perfectly for the surrounding attractions, not only within Witney but the Cotswolds as well. It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we ticked... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On the whole our stay was ok. We had a nice, warm room which was very clean, a good bed and plenty of fluffy towels. As the menu was quite a lot more expensive than other places within close walking distance we opted to eat at The Angel pub just up the road and had two meals and two drinks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wells
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed one night and was concerned about the previous reviews. My room was cosy and quiet, clean and tidy. The full English breakfast was cooked well and very tasty. The staff were attentive and welcoming. Thanks I will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Ian, We're so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay on your recent visit to the Blue Boar. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review as feedback is invaluable to us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future The Blue Boar team More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I didn't go into the resturaunt or hotel just the bar and i was pleasantly surprised. It looks so much nicer and cleaner since it has been done up from the Marlborough. The selection of drinks was very good. I decided to go for a cocktail which was expensive for what it was, and after three attempts by the barmaid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Stacey, We're so pleased to hear you liked the refurbishment, a lot of love went into The Blue Boar when we took it over in 2011 and it's always lovely to hear when customers agree. We're glad you appreciated the drink selection and I'm sorry to hear that your cocktail wasn't up to the high standard that we pride... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Read the good reviews about this hotel and needed to stay for one night. Very cold day and wood burner in the bar was necessary ad welcome, but was going out. Let a member of staff know who came with more wood but went down again in the evening before dinner and it was out. One waiter in the restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

We value all feedback as it's useful to know where our guests feel we could improve and so we appreciate you taking the time to leave such a detailed and balanced review PrincessPrimrose. Thank you for bringing the dying fire to our attention and I'm sorry we didn't manage to keep it going throughout the evening for you. It's a... More 

Devon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Attended a celebration here, so stayed overnight. Very central location, and despite secondary glazing, weren't disturbed from any noise outside. Room was clean and spacious, but the "free wi fi" didn't work in the room and the twin bed mattresses were very very uncomfortable, as the buttons were sitting proud and stuck into your body when you laid down! Ended... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Dear DevonShirley, Many thanks for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The Blue Boar. Thank you for your feedback on the mattress and letting us know at the time of check out, whilst we do our best to check all facilities we appreciate you taking the time to make us aware that it was... More 

derby
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Neat rooms. If a little compact. Good minibar selection if you need that but as usual expensive. Nice clean room. Do need to get bet curtains that are made to fit the window rather than frayed edged ones that have been cut to size. Central to witney on the main road which we didn't know gets very lively at night!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi PurpleTrumpet, Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a detailed reviews. It's always useful to hear our guests opinions on all aspects of their stay with us so I really do appreciate it. I apologise that the room smelt of paint, we have been doing little touch ups to our rooms and although dry the smell was... More 

Brize Norton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Very disappointed to be wasting my time and writing this review this evening. Had a provisional booking for 20 people this afternoon. Had paid and secured a deposit for 4 people and had explained until the day I would not know how many people would be showing. On explaining 14 people would be joining me I was told I needed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Blue Boar Witney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Boar Witney

Address: 28, Market Square, Witney OX28 6 BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Boar Witney 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Boar Witney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Boar Witney Hotel Witney
Marlborough Hotel Witney

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay