We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Witney hotels

Blue Boar Witney

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28, Market Square, Witney OX28 6 BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Blue Boar Witney to your Saves list
Blue Boar Witney
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Witney
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
thetruth1962 twickers
  • Overview
  • Reviews (103)
  • Photos (30)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    9
    14
    11
See reviews for
11
36
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night, Friday. Arrived at hotel after a long day at the Gamefair to find there is no parking for the Hotel as such so had to find a space on the main road which has restrictions. Arrived in our room to find the tempreture due to the weather was unbearably hot. Also our room faced out into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
twickers
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really helpful reception staff (they were the only staff that we spoke to but I assume that the others would be like that too). Stayed on a Friday night and as we were going to the air show the next day we needed a breakfast at 7.30am however, breakfast normally starts at 8am on a Saturday. No problem, we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments on TA, we're so pleased that you had a good stay - I hope you enjoyed the air show too! The staff here are all very passionate about what they do so it makes a real difference to receive feedback that reflects this - thank you! More

Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 27/06 with family and one young child. Overall very attentive staff and smart place to stay. No parking but staff advised of local points. Breakfast was vast though tea / coffee was self service and not too hot, otherwise faultless. Excellent location and would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Batfink, Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay, it was great to read that you will be returning! We've taken on board your comments regarding the tea and coffee, and have invested in some new thermal jugs together with continuing to offer fresh coffee and tea from our espresso machine. Look forward to welcoming you again. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed over for one (Friday) night. Recently refurbished. Room well-appointed and clean. It was unfortunately situated above the function room, which was host to an event the music of which continued until midnight, making sleeping before then impossible. Dinner was good, and the service friendly. Breakfast, however, was disappointing. Tea and coffee was on a self-service basis, with a jug... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi David Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm pleased that you found the room well appointed and clean, however I'm sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the function that was held in the room below. I have been looking into extra noise insulation for the two rooms that you mention, and hope to... More

Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here on a Friday, were very accommodating for an early check in. Parking is plentiful in the area mostly free within 100 yds. Room was modern and very clean. Full English Breakfast was one of the best I have ever had, obviously cooked by a proper chef. Friendly staff. Hotel is centrally located for shopping, which is on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Ray, Thanks for taking the time to post on TA. We're really pleased that you found the hotel so convenient! Chef was very proud to receive your glowing review of his breakfast! Do come back and visit us soon! More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We just returned after staying in this place over the long weekend after being impressed by the photo advertised on Hotels.com. The main photo brings up a fabulous stately home set in a lovely gardens with a maze and fountains. When we arrived we found a high street pub / restaurant which unfortunately didn't resemble anything like the photo shown.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thanks for your review, the picture that Hotels.com had used was of the national visitor attraction Blenheim Palace. I'm disappointed that you rated us so harshly when the mistake was not that of The Blue Boar. Our own website clearly depicts our outside area, our rooms and dining facilities! I'm pleased that apart from not being a palace... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were 4 friends from NZ we needed somewhere close London for 1 night before going on to the Peak District. We decided 1 night with 4 in a room breakfast included would be quite adequate. The room was huge beautifully decorated with a very large well appointed bathroom. The bar area was lovely and the dining room delightful. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Katy, We're all thrilled that we managed to add 'sparkle' to your trip! We all work really hard to ensure our guests have the best possible time, thank you for such a kind review and we hope you have a safe trip back to NZ - come and see us again soon though! More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We chose the Blue Boar to stay in the night before our wedding. We don't know Witney very well but with it being right on the high street, the Blue Boar seemed to have a popular bar for locals and on Saturday night had a salsa band in playing the regulars. I know some people can be put off with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Thank you Doug for your lovely review of our hotel, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and I really hope that your wedding went well! More

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at the Blue Boar and was impressed by the attentive staff who were very helpful. Good value for money and breakfast was delicious with a choice of hot options. Eggs Benedict was lovely. Receptionist ensured I had early access to my room which was spotless. Bar area is very popular with locals and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Janice, Really pleased you enjoyed your stay, I hope we can welcome you back for a stop over another time! Thanks for reviewing us! More

Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My new wife and I had our wedding reception at the Blue Boar on 5th April, and it was absolutely brilliant. The two managers, Rebekah and Ellie (both of whom I think are quite new) are so helpful and really worked hard to make our evening perfect. We had a cocktail theme and the cocktails they made were delicious, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Scott Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we're all so pleased you had such a great day and enjoyed the cocktails - we all thought it was a brilliant theme for a wedding and were excited to put it together for you! I've passed your comments on to the chefs too -... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Blue Boar Witney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Blue Boar Witney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Boar Witney

Address: 28, Market Square, Witney OX28 6 BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Boar Witney 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Blue Boar Witney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Boar Witney Hotel Witney
Marlborough Hotel Witney

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Blue Boar in Witney is a stylish restaurant, bar and rooms, combining historic character with modern comfort and design. Open all day every day for food and drink, the Blue Boar is at the heart of the town, providing the ideal place to eat, drink, and relax. Featuring a modern Mediterranean-inspired restaurant menu, an extensive range of drinks, wines, local real ales and cocktails, as well as a cafe area overlooking the courtyard, the Blue Boar also offers complimentary wi-fi throughout. With 20 luxury en-suite bedrooms, complete with iPod docking stations, flatscreen televisions and designer toiletries, the rooms also feature locally-made Witney blankets. Available for private hire is the Bosworth Suite, an elegant function room ideal for weddings, conferences, business meetings or events, with a completely tailored package to suit individual requirements. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer