We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Boar Witney

28, Market Square, Witney OX28 6 BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Boar Witney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Blue Boar Witney
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    52
    18
    18
    14
See reviews for
16
49
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ate here with a group of 15.They have an area set aside for larger groups,good idea i think. The food was average and the service was very good! Dont know about prices as the evening was paid for but was told its fairly expensive, but as its a hotel thats no surprise!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Didn't know anything about Witney or the Blue Boar before going there but I was pleasantly surprised by the town and especially by the accommodation offered by the Blue Boar. From the helpful way in which my booking was made, the well appointed spacious rooms, comfortable bar (with good music!!), attentive service and freshly cooked breakfast, I can highly recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've just returned from our stay at the Blue Boar. Overall, we had a pleasant stay. One or two niggles.. As stated on previous posts, the annex rooms are very warm, even with the heating off we had to sleep with the window open. They obviously recognise that the rooms are too hot as there is a large free standing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went in for drinks with friends on a saturday night. The boys wanted Guinness and had struggled to find it in the other pubs nearby. The bar is lovely, with smart decor and a nice atmosphere. It was busy but plenty of staff ensured no long waits for drinks. Not cheap for drinks but happy to pay for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi lovetravel01 It's great to hear you recently stopped in for a drink and we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We're so please we could accommodate the Guinness demand and that you enjoyed the atmosphere whilst you were with us. With regards to the drinks pricing we consider ourselves to be competitive for the range of... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When exploring Oxford, Stratford Upon Aven (Shakespeare) and Blenheim (Churchill), this is a good starting point. Located in the center of Witney it is close to everything. No noise from the pub below, good breakfast and clean room. Limited parking options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your review Terje. As you've pointed out our location is perfect for visiting some of the beautiful attractions around North Oxfordshire and the Cotswolds and you even get to enjoy some of the gorgeous British countryside. As you say parking is limited but our team can always help direct you to the best places to park. Thanks... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
39 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited last month with some friends . The place was rammed , great food , excellent service and well worth the trip out of oxford . The lime chicken and sweet potato fries are really recommended ! The drinks were a bit pricy . Top tip avoid a table by the door due to draughts .we were given such a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you so much Coughandcath. The chicken and sweet potato fries have been a favourite on the menu so you definitely made the right choice there. Apologies about the table, we always do try and move tables if our customers would prefer to sit somewhere else but as I'm sure you appreciate when we're busy it... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We dined here on a Tuesday evening as the menu was to our taste. We were greeted by the waiter who took us to our seats very promptly. The interior was decorated tastefully and the bar near the entrance was stylish. I had a strawberry mocktail which was fairly average however the steak for two was delicious and perfectly cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

HI KimberlyG, Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent visit to The Blue Boar. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the sharing steak. It's very important to us that we use high quality ingredients as it really does show in the food that we serve to our guests as you clearly experiences. We're pleased to hear... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Not surprised by some reviews! Very late 11.15pm after welcoming my friends who had been travelling for hours!! Enjoying a drink and the manager/ a young no experience Wanna be, shouting across the bar " you need to finish now and go! And then the slamming of door after!would say all the guests were astonished by his behaviour.was more friendlier... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi David, I am very concerned to hear that you had such a disappointing experience on your recent visit to The Blue Boar. We pride ourselves on providing high quality service at all times and it seems this was not the case for you. I can only apologise and I would very much like to discuss this further with you... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We stayed in this Hotel as we were visiting the Wychwood Brewery Tour which is in the same Village. It is set in a small village in the square with a Market opposite and lots of little shops. There is no car parking at the Hotel but pay and display car parks nearby. Outside on the road, you can park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Sharon, All feedback is invaluable to us at The Blue Boar and I appreciate you taking the time to leave such a detailed review for us. Firstly I apologise that there was an issue with your heating in the room. We do our utmost to ensure that all facilities are working and guest feedback on this at the time... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We ate at the Blue Boar on Sunday evening, the food was lovely (shared the fish platter and had ribeye on the bone). The service was friendly, helpful and efficient. Not the cheapest place to eat in Witney but we had no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Tinaponders It's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent meal with us. It's great to hear that the service was friendly, helpful and efficient as we believe this to be one of the most important elements in the dining experience and this obviously came across on your recent visit. Whilst we try to be competitive with our pricing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question