We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Witney hotels

Blue Boar Witney

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28, Market Square, Witney OX28 6 BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Blue Boar Witney
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Blue Boar Witney to your Saves list
67%
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Witney
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Andrew C Witney, United Kingdom
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    42
    12
    14
    11
See reviews for
13
40
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I and a number of colleagues eat here on a regular. We are well looked after, but there does appear to have been a number of changes of chefs, and the quality of the food has varied considerably, often from week to week. Better content and consistency with the food would much inprove the eating experience here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, Whilst I’m delighted to hear that you are always well looked after during your time with us, your comment regarding consistency is very concerning and we really appreciate you letting us know that this is how you feel. This is something we will definitely look into and aim to improve. Looking forward to seeing you soon, The Blue... More

Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good varied menu and we all enjoyed our meals. Staff very pleasant. Only disappointment was the Eton Mess which was just some cream with hard to find berries and 2 small meringue pieces on top, not what I expected but everyone makes things differently.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Daisy, We always appreciate constructive criticism and if you have any tips for our Eton Mess then we’d be delighted to hear them! Similarly, if you have any suggestions for any puddings you’d love to see on the specials menu then please just get in touch at: theblueboar@oakmaninns.co.uk Aside from that, it’s great to hear that your meal was... More

Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food in this restaurant is excellent. I have been to the Blue Boar twice in the last month. First occasion was our wedding anniversary with some friends. We all had variety of items from the menu and nobody made a single negative comment. We came away having had a great night. Which the staff had been excellent and joined... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Dear Norlye_11, I’m so pleased that you’ve had two great meals with us in the last month and thanks for taking the time to let us know! It’s really encouraging to hear that we’ve been consistent and reliable. We’re looking forward to seeing you soon, The Blue Boar Team More

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here with my husband for a meal and the food is amazing! Lots of choice, brilliant service and a lovely atmosphere. I like how you can see the food being cooked and there is a great outside space. Will definitely go back, really enjoyed it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Nicola, It’s great that you had such a wonderful meal with us – thanks for taking the time to leave your review! Not only is it really helpful for other Trip Advisor users but it really helps to motivate the whole team, and we really appreciate it. I’m so pleased that you enjoy the open kitchen too, we like... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel is in a central location. The food in the hotel is excellent, the breakfast was one of the best I have had in a UK hotel. The room we stayed in was simple and clean with a decent bathroom that had complimentary toiletries. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. It really is a nice place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Gab160, What a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, it’s not only helpful for other Trip Advisor users but also so motivating for the whole team. We’re delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay, and your comments about your breakfast are particularly lovely hear. We do hope you’ll... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed here in July, it was cleAn, was decorated beautifully, our room was really good value for money, the food was excellent. I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay in Witney. My only gripe would be it is slightly overpriced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Judith, We’re really pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us in July, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. It’s so lovely that you enjoyed the room décor, we like to make the rooms as homely as we can and it’s great to get such positive feedback on them. If you’re ever... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

great welcome nice bar - but no lime in my gin and tonic room roasting window open - loads of noise bench by takeaway means swearing and loudmouth chat from local youths however - room well set out and Trimbach pinot blanc in the fridge - classy!!!!!! AWAY TO DINNER NOW - SO MAYBE THAT WILL BE GOOD TOO!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Crawhound, We’re really pleased to hear that you like the décor and welcome. I’m surprised to hear that you didn’t get a lime in your gin and tonic, this is definitely a mistake on our part and we would have been more than happy to fix this if you’d mentioned it! Sorry about that. We’d love to hear what... More

Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I came and stayed at the Blue Boar while attending a nearby Event and liked it so much I extended my holiday by an extra couple of days. A real rarity in a small, historical English market town - a fresh clean and contemporary hotel, housed sympathetically within an old building, with lighting, and plumbing that works well, crisp white... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Kphardeman, We’re really delighted to hear that you had a lovely time with us – so much so that you decided to extend your holiday! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, we really appreciate all your lovely comments and it’s such a motivation for the whole team. Finally, we will definitely take your... More

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were looking for a weekend away to attend a party we were invited to and came across the Blue Boar Witney - evening menu sounded very appetising and didn't disappoint.Saturday Evening staff in dining room very attentive despite a function in another room going on. Reception staff very attentive, Road facing room very good,clean, smart - though very hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Alecandlaura, Whilst we’re delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant meal on the Saturday, it is very concerning to hear that your breakfast experience did not live up to it. Something we value very highly at Oakman Inns is consistency, and this was evidently not the case during your stay. Thank you so much for raising this... More

Ossett, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

If your visiting the Cotswolds or Oxford then this is a place to stay - having a combination of a high quality hotel, the informality of a pub and the upmarket ambience of a wine bar. Rooms are comfortable although quite warm in the summer and it can be noisy with the window left open. There isn't any parking so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at Blue Boar Witney, responded to this review

Hi Sam, Wow! What a fantastic description - you’ve managed to capture exactly the vibe we’re going for. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback! We’re very sorry about your coffee and thank you for alerting us that this needs to be improved, it’s comments like that which enable us to grow and develop and keep... More

Do you own or manage Blue Boar Witney?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Blue Boar Witney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Boar Witney

Address: 28, Market Square, Witney OX28 6 BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Boar Witney 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Boar Witney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Boar Witney Hotel Witney
Marlborough Hotel Witney

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Blue Boar Witney