We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bear Hotel

Market Place, Wantage OX12 8AB , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wantage
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bear Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We went here for lunch as part of special family birthday celebration. The dining areas have lots of character and the whole place feels very warm and welcoming. The food was fabulous and I can't wait to go back to try something else off the menu. I had Leek & Potato Soup followed by Beef Wellington and then a Trio... More 

Helpful?
Thank JayPatrick
bearwantage, Owner at Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited for 1 night due to work, I'd been told it was quite a nice hotel in a central location. I agree it was central but that's as far as it goes really. Upon arrival I was allocated room 19 and told it was out the back and through the fire door, up the stairs. I found my room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
bearwantage, Owner at Bear Hotel, responded to this review

I apologise if the room you stayed in was below par and as the room was only out the day before I looked into how it could be in this condition. Having spoken to housekeeping and looked into the dust situation I found that the demolition of the building opposite your room was to blame. Most guests think that the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wantage hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at the the bear hotel for a weekend get away to visit friends in the area. I was pleasantly surprised by the modern refurbished rooms and the lovely vibe around the hotel. The room was perfect for me and my husband with everything we would could possibly need. The bed was extremely comfy and the breakfast was divine. All... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
bearwantage, Owner at Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a nice review. More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here after a work event and for £70 a night my expectations weren't high, so when I got to my room (38) I was pleasantly surprised. Really beautiful, spacious room and a really comfortable bed. The bathroom was really below par though, especially the shower which was an old style plastic hose stuck onto the bath tap which... More 

Helpful?
Thank chesy84
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

We had a fantastic Sunday lunch here. Excellent food, loads of it, plenty of choice and extra veggies no problem at all at no additional cost. Try the spicey butternut squash soup if it's on. It was a lovely warming one on a cold winter day! The staff are all well mannered and courteous and checked that we were enjoying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
bearwantage, Owner at Bear Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for your kind review. More 

Hitchin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

We stayed to 2 nights. It's a traditional hotel in an old building, but with plenty of charm. Excellent staff and a pleasant and comfortable room. Good location in the centre of Wantage, right on the square. Good bar too. Rooms could be a little stuffy but were well equipped and comfortable. Lovely big bathroom,

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

Thankfully this hotel had a room available after we had booked in to an awful B&B just round the corner. The room was big, clean, modern, spacious, comfy and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we were very relieved to find this hidden gem in Wantage. Will definitely be recommending this Hotel to anyone else in the local... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jonfurniss
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

We have just returned from this weekend and must say what a great hotel it is.It is an old hotel with a bit of Modenisation to it.The Gaffer is very good and runs a pretty tight ship(Down stairs,more later)The bar and local people were great.The food is very good and wholesome.Just £6 for a crayfish and mayo sandwich with chips.That... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Taff G
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

Hotel very good,food very good,room bit to warm,even at night,weather 12 degrees so not to warm outside,could have done with just a sheet for night. Could not fault staff,always helpful,on hand when you needed them. Car park at rear,free if there is places. Very nice small shops,will stay at Bear Hotel again.

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia B
aston tirrold
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

We love to eat here, we often do. But we moved house recently and thought it a good idea to book a hotel as everything in our house was packed ready for the move. I decided on the Bear, due to it's location near to our house and the fact that the restaurant has always been so fantastic. Unfortunately, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank siantaylor
bearwantage, Owner at Bear Hotel, responded to this review

We apologise if you were disturbed by the noise from the court yard, we are a town centre hotel and as such we can not compete on noise levels with a country hotel or in fact a quiet cul de sac. As for your comments regarding vomiting we can assure you this is not the case...the courtyard is covered by... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wantage
3.2 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crab & Boar
The Crab & Boar
#1 of 2 in Chieveley
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
4.9 mi away
Milton Hill House - De Vere Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
12.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities