We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Faringdon hotels

Old Crown Coaching Inn

Market Place, Faringdon SN7 7HU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Old Crown Coaching Inn to your Saves list
Old Crown Coaching Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com AMOMA.com
and 3 more sites!
59%
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Faringdon
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014
Jon W Josselin, France
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
14
39
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Josselin, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

If your wont is Premier Inn or Travelodge then do NOT stay here. If however, you want to stay in an old coaching inn full of character then this is the place for you. A friendly welcome, then shown to our room - which was useful because there are many levels and passages here (from what we saw, wheelchair access... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minehead, Somerset
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I booked three rooms for one night at the end of February as a surprise for my wife's 70th birthday. We had a superior double, our elder daughter took a single and our younger daughter, husband and two young children had a triple. All the rooms were delightful - our own was furnished in French-style white shabby-chic and had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxfordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We didn't stay here. It's definitely not fine dining but the food at lunchtime is really good. We were a party of 5 and we ate in the bar but there are various room off the bar, some with very low ceilings as it is what you might call a building of some character. Lovely log fire in the bar.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michael S, General Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. For the record we stock both still and sparkling Highland Spring water and I will ensure the staff are aware of that. More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were overall a little disappointed with our stay here. It seemed to be seriously lacking the potential of this strategically placed historic coaching inn, in Faringdon. The dinner menu was very underwhelming... and very basic. The starter fish cakes were tastily fishy so we upped our opinion a little at this point. Then, the cod and chips @ £5.95... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael S, General Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this review

I am very surprised at some of your comments, considering the reviews either side of it. The £5.95 cod and chips is a lunchtime meal and is NOT on our dinner menu so you would not have ordered it during the evening. In the evening we offer an 8oz fresh code fillet at £9.95. I can assure you that we... More

tredegar, gwent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Myself and my husband went away for a short break for a surprise 50th birthday treat for my husband and stayed in the Court Room. Only downfall for this break was that it wasn't long enough. Best night sleep in years. Very friendly staff, plenty of character in this 16th century Inn. Absolutely loved the huge spa bath with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Didn't experience any other part of the hotel but the rooms as I travel on business and after a busy day I like to relax watching telly. The chap on reception was charming and help carry my bags to my room - thank you... My room was very average. A cheap bedside lamp and a dirty digital alarm clock adorned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael S, General Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir Would you please contact me directly oldcrown@relaxinnz.co.uk letting me know the date of your stay and room number so that I can look into your comments and take necessary action. Regards More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed recently on a midweek break .The staff are very friendly and helpful the food is very good and the beer kept very well ! Our room was very large and very comfortable and did not lack anything .I would stay here again as the location is perfect and not to far from London.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was our second visit here and The Old Crown is still a great place to stay. The place is steeped with old charm as you would expect for a building with its history. The rooms are clean and a nice size with comfy beds. We ate in the bar and although a limited menu the food was excellent and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I booked this hotel as we were going to a wedding near Brize Norton. We were greeted very warmly and shown to our room. We had room 9, right at the end of a very long winding corridor. The room was large with 3 single beds and a decent sized bathroom. The only downside to the room was it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael S, General Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our apologies about the heating. Today our electrician came in and upgraded the power circuit so that the room can have additional electric heating to supplement the central heating. Bottle of wine on the house next visit - ask for Mike. More

Leicester,england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed for one night on the 26th of October,we had a problem with our room and without any problems the Hotel upgraded us to a superior room,The staff and service were fantastic and would recommend this hotel to others for short stays.Thanks to the Old Crown.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Old Crown Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Crown Coaching Inn

Also Known As:
Old Crown Coaching Hotel Faringdon
Old Crown Coaching Hotel
Old Crown Coaching Inn Faringdon, England - Oxfordshire
Address: Market Place, Faringdon SN7 7HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Faringdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Faringdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th century coaching inn arranged around a cobbled courtyard. Rustic bar at the front of the property with open fire and real ales. Courtyard lounge serves breakfast and coffee each morning. Carvery every Sunday lunch time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Old Crown Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Crown Coaching Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.