We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Hotel

13 Market Place, Faringdon SN7 7HP, England
Hotel amenities
The Bell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Faringdon
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
kingchef101
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
26
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here whilst working in the area for one night and being an old hotel it was very cosy and unique. The rooms kept clean and tidy with character features such as beams and fireplaces. The room was fitted with all the mod cons such as large flat screen tv and sky kettle and a choice of a shower and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
El Dorado Hills, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall I had a good stay. The place is obviously an older building so there are a lot of steep stairs and oddly placed doors. The breakfast was good and so is the restaurant and pub on the ground floor. Nice location in Faringdon with a short walk to Folly Tower and All Saints Church. Windows facing the street have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

all i can say £90 quid is over priced for what it is. We declined breakfast because we had food poisoning the last but time we stayed. They refunded the last time Dec 2013. But theses greedy lot didn't. Slightly hounded for the fee for the night, we paid next morn. The impression we got, is that the feeling that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Wow, love this place! Myself & my partner stayed overnight at this lovely friendly inn. Nothing was to much trouble for the lovely friendly hard working staff here. Stayed in room 3, large lovely and spotless. Met up with family there on the Sat evening, 5 of us in total, all had dinner, puds & drinks, what more can I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Hotel is very old so rooms were quirky shaped an very very uneven floors. We were made very welcome and staff were all very friendly. The breakfast was nice and plentiful though it would have been nice to have been offered a second hot drink and for fruit to be available. Hotel age and quirkyness aside the room and bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

We had a great stay, location is perfect, room had large flat screen tv and sky tv even with movie channels which you don't get it many hotels. Lovely breakfast served with a proper coffee! Staff couldn't be more helpful run by a lovely family. We had carvery too which was fantastic lovely fresh food with a great selection. It's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rostrenen, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Yes the hotel is a little worn but the relatively new owners are working on this and as it is privately owned no doubt costs are limiting speed of progress. However the family and staff are very nice and helpful and all meals are good and very satisfying And remembering it is in the heart of a small town it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

One of the friendliest hotels I have ever been to staff were very pleasant and the food was incredible... sky and large flat screen TV were a cracking touch.. speaking to the owners they mentioned the new beds were comfy and boy were they right! I highly recommend... Thank you for a great stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Good food. Good Scotch. Comfy mattress. Open fire and an amazing breakfast. Staff were very friendly. Clean and tidy with tons of character Charlie was nice too. Lovely town to walk around close to lots of little shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

I agree with other travellers about this hotel. Dirty, shabby and expensive for what you get. Plug sockets hanging off wall, bath stuck together with white tape. Sash window not closing properly. Landlady very unpleasant and dressed shabbley in jogging bottoms and slippers. Would never return and would advise all my friends not to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
EddieGravestock, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

This Review is incorrect the Person who stayed did not write this review . The lady ,daughter and her two dogs in question stayed with us from Oct 14 to Dec 14 with no complaints what so ever in fact we did her a favour as she arrived with no where to stay her house had fallen through we agreed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities