We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Hotel

13 Market Place, Faringdon SN7 7HP, England
Hotel amenities
The Bell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Faringdon
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Anna P Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
25
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel is very old so rooms were quirky shaped an very very uneven floors. We were made very welcome and staff were all very friendly. The breakfast was nice and plentiful though it would have been nice to have been offered a second hot drink and for fruit to be available. Hotel age and quirkyness aside the room and bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

We had a great stay, location is perfect, room had large flat screen tv and sky tv even with movie channels which you don't get it many hotels. Lovely breakfast served with a proper coffee! Staff couldn't be more helpful run by a lovely family. We had carvery too which was fantastic lovely fresh food with a great selection. It's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rostrenen, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Yes the hotel is a little worn but the relatively new owners are working on this and as it is privately owned no doubt costs are limiting speed of progress. However the family and staff are very nice and helpful and all meals are good and very satisfying And remembering it is in the heart of a small town it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

One of the friendliest hotels I have ever been to staff were very pleasant and the food was incredible... sky and large flat screen TV were a cracking touch.. speaking to the owners they mentioned the new beds were comfy and boy were they right! I highly recommend... Thank you for a great stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Good food. Good Scotch. Comfy mattress. Open fire and an amazing breakfast. Staff were very friendly. Clean and tidy with tons of character Charlie was nice too. Lovely town to walk around close to lots of little shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

I agree with other travellers about this hotel. Dirty, shabby and expensive for what you get. Plug sockets hanging off wall, bath stuck together with white tape. Sash window not closing properly. Landlady very unpleasant and dressed shabbley in jogging bottoms and slippers. Would never return and would advise all my friends not to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
EddieGravestock, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

This Review is incorrect the Person who stayed did not write this review . The lady ,daughter and her two dogs in question stayed with us from Oct 14 to Dec 14 with no complaints what so ever in fact we did her a favour as she arrived with no where to stay her house had fallen through we agreed... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

And for the money we paid it was ok....the place just needs some love and care...room was clean and tidy but obviously had seen better days.broken window pane covered with tape and no shower gel were just a couple of obvious minuses,but we had a good nights sleep and breakfast was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Stayed with my wife for a family reunion. We loved the Olde world charm of the rooms this 18th century Hotel is def haunted! Staff were exceptional food was excellant Fresh cooked to order breakfast real chefs specials plus a family Sunday carvery suberb value we love it will def return in the new year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

The two members of staff that were running the place when I stayed there for 2 nights in early November were very friendly, but I'm afraid the room I had was very poor to say the least. It was a single room, with no wardrobe or railing on which to hang clothes. The sash window was broken so it couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Forres, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I have never stayed anywhere as cosy & yet elegant as The Bell Hotel. The staff are fantastic, the owners Mark & Ali went that extra mile to look after me following a family bereavement. My room was spectacular, with a view over the Market square. The food goes beyond delicious to the sublime & the prices are so cheap.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question