We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Chesterton hotels

Bignell Park Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   near Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1UE, England
Hotel amenities
Bignell Park Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bignell Park Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chesterton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Coolberryhawk Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    78
    52
    29
    19
See reviews for
26
129
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (242)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Within the catchment area of Bicester village, not even a 4 star hotel, but prices at over £140 per night and not to include breakfast. Service is poor and the hotel lacks any warmth of customer care. Although we enjoyed our stay it needs more customer care and attention to detail, the £14.95 breakfast was poor value for money and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Westo
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a Christmas lunch for a family gathering of eight people. The hotel made us feel very welcome by setting out the table with a festive theme. There was a good choice on the menu and we ordered in advance of the day. The food was good and the portions generous and many of us had the traditional menu.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Bignell Park Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your lunch, finding the food of a high standard, and the staff welcoming and professional and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Myself , husband and another couple went here over the weekend for a relaxing break, we had booked using a wowcher offer, on arrival very pleased bed room was very nice and clean, booked for diner the first night as part of the deal we were given £50.00 per couple towards food, we did not have a starter as they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel. I am pleased that you found the accommodation clean and of a high standard. It is disappointing to note that you were unimpressed with the quality of the food on offer. We have a very varied A la Carte menu designed to cater for all... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

My husband and I plus our little dog George had a lovely time at the Bignell Park Hotel. The room was very clean, lovely atmosphere with the wood beam ceiling a very enjoyable comfortable room. All the staff were fantastic, always on hand to help with anything you needed - from front of house (Julia and Dorian) to the cleaning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel and for the wonderful feedback you left. I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay (room, food and grounds), and found the staff to be both professional and friendly, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We had an amazing afternoon tea, with a variety of well filled finger sandwiches, a selection of delicious cakes, warm scones, cream and strawberries. This all came with a pot of hot tea. I would highly recommend going here, the staff were very friendly and welcoming and I think you will enjoy it too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Bignell Park Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and found the staff to be welcoming. Our Afternoon Teas are extremely popular amongst local residents (advance booking is required) and are served in the Oaks Restaurant with all sandwiches, pastries and scones made on the... More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

My partner and I had a fantastic stay over Halloween weekend. Nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were fabulous. Dinner on Halloween night was scary to say the least. The food was incredible. All waiting staff were dressed up but the younger girl dressed in a nightdress carrying a doll and walking in a trance-like state was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel, and your wonderful comments. The restaurant staff decorated the Restaurant especially for the Halloween weekend, and dressed accordingly on the 31st. It was a touch which was greatly appreciated by our guests who thoroughly enjoyed their 'surprise' experience, and I'm sure the staff will be... More 

1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

The level of service was great even though we booked this 2 night break through Wowcher and received great discounts. Lovely relaxed 2 night stay in beautiful surroundings. Staff friendly and helpful, food delicious. Only one problem our voucher included a 30 minute spa treatment for two. When we called to book we were told they had been fully booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially the food and friendliness of our staff. Our junior Suite is a large room with an adjoining conservatory and very popular with guests and am pleased that you... More 

Daventry, Northamptonshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Stayed for one night 19th September, the room was tired, had not been cleaned properly, the lampshades were full of cobwebs, the venetian blind was broken so could not be opened, the bathroom was also tired and in need of update. The staff were pleasant, however when I informed the manager of the issues with the room on checking out,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel, and providing feedback upon departure. Please accept my apologies for the lack of housekeeping standards in your room. As I explained when you checked out, it is unusual here to have lapses in housekeeping. I did also mention that I would look into it, which... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chesterton hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We booked ahead at the restaurant for a birthday cream tea, upon arriving though we had to wait for about 20 minutes while a member of staff faffed around asking the chef what was happening. We were not offered drinks and considering the place was dead, the fact we weren't approached by any of the numerous staff in 20 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Bignell Park Hotel. Please accept my apologies for the level of service you received for your Afternoon Tea, and the fact that it spoiled your special occasion - this is not the standard we aspire to in invariably attain. I have discussed this with our Restaurant Manager and... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Stayed for1 night September 6th and would find somewhere else next time I visit the area. Someone had already used our room, bed crumpled and pillows used. There was a small amount of rubbish in the room bin and a trace of fresh blood on the bathroom bin. Obviously, there were people in before us but decided to leave.The shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience to yourselves caused by the room not having been serviced when you checked in. I have not received your letter of complaint, but would certainly have replied had I done so. As you quite rightly state, the room... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bignell Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Park Hotel

Address: near Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bignell Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bignell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Park Chesterton
Bignell Park Hotel Chesterton, England, UK

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay