We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Chesterton hotels

Bignell Park Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   near Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1UE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bignell Park Hotel to your Saves list
Bignell Park Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
58%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Chesterton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Alannajane123
  • Overview
  • Reviews (225)
  • Photos (21)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (49)
  • More
true
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    74
    50
    26
    19
See reviews for
23
120
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a deal on wowcher thought it was absolutely amazing, lovely staff, the food was devine...hotel manager was lovely, chatty and very helpful! Treatments in the salon were very good and we wished we could of stayed longer...will definitely visit again, also very close to bicester village and oxford shopping centre 12 miles away!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More

Storrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself is OK - food average and staff pleasant. However when a fire alarm sounded at 10.30 pm the staff on duty at the time seemed unsure of the drill. The manager was called some 10 minutes later. It was decided that that alarm had been triggered by someone smoking in one of the rooms. However the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel. I am aware of your email to our Head Office. The reason for the lack of a reply is that I have been on annual leave, and have only just returned to work. Below is a response to the Fire Alarm incident which you have... More

Travelers are raving about these Chesterton hotels

1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good hotel. Food was amazing, especially the Wednesday Tapas night. The wowcher deal was very good value. Bar prices were reasonable. The staff were friendly and helpful. But they didn't have much knowledge of the local area. Of course Bicester Designer Outlet is just round the corner (by car)

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the Tapas which we serve every Wednesday evening, and look forward to welcoming you back to Bignell Park Hotel in the near future. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel; very quiet, the food was excellent (both evening and breakfast) and beautiful location. I wish I could have stayed for longer! Looks even prettier in reality than on the website. However, get breakfast included if you are considering it - very expensive if you only want a small meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including both dinner and breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More

Turriff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 1night and had 2rooms the upstairs room was really hot and when we asked for a fan to cool it down was told they had only one and someone else had got it. The other room was very dark even with all the lights on the bathroom had only a half roll of toilet paper and one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bignell Park Hotel. I am pleased to note that you found your room to be very clean. We put towels in the rooms for each guest - on this occasion it would appear that the fact that there were 2 people in the room had been overlooked, for which... More

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Over priced and shabby, breakfast £14.95 raw cheap sausage and toast burnt bits scraped off, greasy, bugs in the cranberry juice. When asked was everything ok l said the breakfast was not good the lady on reception just said oh!!!! Hairs in the bathroom and only one towel for two sharing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Bignell Park Hotel. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. I have discussed the problems encountered with the Head Housekeeper and Reception Manager who have advised me that the issues have been addressed. More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were disappointed with No air conditioner & no fridge. We were not advised that there will be a wedding which took over the relaxing areas of the hotel. Garden setting were nice but were not able to use them. The room was large but need to be updated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bignell Park Hotel. I am pleased to note that you found your room to be large and comfortable. We do not have air conditioning in the hotel (and do not advertise that we do), Similarly with fridges which are not supplied in the vast majority of hotel bedrooms. We... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had eaten here many years ago whilst attending our daughter's graduation from University and decided as in the area to stay overnight. The hotel is in need of some updating - especially the bathrooms. The food was ok but breakfast was a Monday morning and there was definitely a Monday morning feeling to the food presentation and service!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bignell Park Hotel. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay, but were disappointed with the breakfast. This has been discussed with both the Head Chef and Restaurant Manager who have taken steps to eradicate the problems encountered. When back in the area, we hope you will... More

Lilongwe, Malawi
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked this hotel through Secret escapes and on first look seemed a great deal. our communication from the hotel was poorly presented and written and sparked a bit of concern. The hotel is in need of a major refurb lots of chipped and worn paint flooring needing replacement all sorts of unused furniture piled in cubby holes and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bignell Park Hotel. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, and felt the hotel to be sub-standard and poor value for money. Like all hotels, we have an on-going program of refurbishment which is completed over a period of time. Our gardens are a combination of formal... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed for one night at this hotel in transit. There was a warm welcome from the staff and we were directed to our spacious room with a four-poster bed. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. Because the hotel was so quiet that evening there was only a window of 30 minutes for booking a table in the restaurant. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bignell Park Hotel. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay, including dinner and found the staff to be polite and welcoming. Please accept my apologies for the breakfast service - this is not indicative of our usual high levels of service, and the Restaurant Manager initiated... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bignell Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bignell Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Park Hotel

Address: near Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bignell Park Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bignell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Park Chesterton
Bignell Park Hotel Chesterton, England, UK

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel: A charming Oxfordshire country hotel, a wedding venue and award-winning restaurant. Our twenty-two bedrooms are all individually styled, Bignell Park Hotel combines charm and character with first-class facilities. Situated in the peaceful village of Chesterton, just minutes from the M40 motorway yet with unbroken views across the countryside, you could not be further from hustle and bustle. Catering for both the corporate and leisure markets, our service is unobtrusive yet always attentive... For both business and pleasure, Bignell Park is the ideal location as a hotel. Only 2 miles from Bicester Village Outlet Centre, the perfect location for relaxing with a glass of wine after a hard days shopping. At Caparo Hotels, we believe that business should be a pleasure and peaceful pleasure is the best regeneration. English heritage: Situated in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside and enjoying magnificent views, the Bignell Park Hotel offers quality hotel accommodation and is the perfect location for exploring the very best of English heritage and beauty. So whether you join us for business or pleasure, we think you will want to stay at the Bignell Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
22

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bignell Park Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer