We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown & Thistle

Bridge Street, Abingdon OX14 3HS, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown & Thistle
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Crown & Thistle
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
18
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed just one night, but was impressed with this newly-restored hotel/b&b. The staff are delightful -- the receptionist changed my room without hesitation when the room I was put in was too cold due to the heating not working. The chap looking after breakfast couldn't have been more helpful. The room was comfortable and quiet, despite being on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here recently, the room was a little dark but apparently they cannot install overhead lighting. The room was very nice, although had no view and a very noisy aircon unit outside the window, no chance of opening the window unfortunately. Very nice bathroom with bath / shower. The breakfast was great, very attentive staff, well mannered and the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hi rhproper-job, I’m really pleased that your stay with us was a success. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and for flagging up which issues you thought were a problem as well as things we did well. It really helps us pinpoint our weaknesses which helps us improve – for example, I’ll definitely make sure to... More

Port Moody, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had nice two night stay here in September. Staff were all very pleasant and helpfull, rooms have all been recently remodelled to a comfortable level. The location could not be better, downtown is right out the front door as well as miles of walking trails along the Thames River. A very tasty breakfast was included. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hi Sailorjohn2014, We’re delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast in the morning, perhaps on your next visit you can sample some of the other delicious menus we have on offer – we’d love to hear... More

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice place to stay in centre of Abingdon. Restaurant and bar all separate buildings split by a courtyard, makes the overall place a great experience. Rooms are of a high standard as the whole place has gone through an extensive refurbishment. Stayed in room 6, 4 poster bed, roll top bath and separate shower-room. Only complaint that lighting in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hi Ragg51, It’s great to hear that your enjoyed your time with us, and it’s great that you’re a fan of the new refurbishment. As you may have read from other reviews, due to the age of the building and that it is a listed property, it makes it difficult for us to install overhead lighting – however we like... More

Cardiff, Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here 2 nights B & B. Lovely welcome by all staff. Hotel has recently had a refurbishment to good standard. All areas clean & fresh. Excellent range of dishes for breakfast. Comfortable bed with extra pillows. If needed iron & ironing board, mini fridge with chargeable extras. Bathroom - roll top bath with over bath shower and toiletries. Only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hi Morgan, We’re pleased that you had a lovely stay with us, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I’m sorry that the steps were an inconvenience during your stay, thank you for raising this as an issue. In future we will be sure to mention them upon booking. We hope you’ll be back to visit us... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had another great meal in the restaurant this evening. A lovely atmosphere in the refurbished restaurant on the Crown and Thistle. A wide range of dishes, with generous portions, backed with very helpful and polite service. The food was delicious. A great selection of real ales. This place keeps earning a return visit from me, and would also recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hi Fiona, It’s great to hear that your meal with us was a success! I’m so pleased that you’re a fan of the refurbishment. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, it’s so wonderful to hear that we have provided you with a consistently high service and it’s so motivating for the whole team to see reviews like... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed 3 nights in room 16 which on the face of it was a very nice room, but VERY DARK. So much so that we asked reception for another light/lamp as we couldn't see inside the wardrobe; we just had to feel our way around. We had one balck lampshade and one beige eiher side of the bed both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hi SJM18, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I have looked into the lighting situation and we are going to order some more lighting fixtures – unfortunately we are unable to have overhead lighting due to the listed nature of the building, however we are looking to get around this. Thank you for raising this as a... More

Southminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped overnight here and had a meal for famil and friends. All in all I couldn't fault the service, food, and quality/cleanliness of the room. The reception staff, manager and the person who dealt with everything over the phone could have not been more helpful. At the end of the evening I heard nothing but compliments from the family &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hi Ross, Thanks for your lovely comment, it’s really wonderful to hear that your stay with us was a success. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed our selection of craft beers! Perhaps on your next visit you can sample some of our gorgeous cocktails too? We’d love to hear what you think! Looking forward to seeing you again soon, The... More

Acton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
66 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here for a business dinner and to stay for one night. I had room 1. This was the darkest room have had anywhere. So dark that even in the morning there was not enough light to see to pack and I was very careful to try to keep my things together so that would not miss packing anything. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hi MikeBirdman, I’m so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Unfortunately, due to the age of the building we are unable to put main room lighting in the rooms, however we will look into other ways we can get around this. I’m sorry that the air conditioning system seemed confusing, now you’ve raised this with us... More

Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

One night stay with my daughter and her two friends - teenagers. They had a room for 3 and I had a lovely room to myself. Beautiful decor and very comfy. Very small change I'd make to my room would be the windows opening. Not sure why they didn't! Food was great and all the staff were friendly and welcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hi Warwickshirejoolsy, I’m so pleased that you had such a lovely stay with us, thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. Thanks for the tip about your window, we’ll definitely look into this! Although all the rooms are kitted out with air conditioning and heating in order to make sure they’re all the right temperature, we... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Crown & Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown & Thistle

Address: Bridge Street, Abingdon OX14 3HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown & Thistle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown And Thistle Hotel Abingdon
Crown And Thistle Abingdon

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay