We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Upper Reaches Hotel

3.0 of 5 Thames Street, Abingdon OX14 3JA, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Upper Reaches Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Upper Reaches Hotel
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    47
    47
    31
    27
See reviews for
23
75
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (193)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here recently, for the third time, on a business trip. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good in a room with a large water wheel. The hotel comprises of an older building with more modern extensions. In previous years I have had very large rooms, this time it was a bit smaller but fine. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ksjohnson123, General Manager at The Upper Reaches Hotel, responded to this review

Dear UnfortunateFursey, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am please to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and are a repeat guest, sorry you had problems with the wifi. I often see Kingfishers fly over the Millpond, in front of the Hotel. Their striking colour is quite beautiful. Hope to see you again... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having booked weeks in advance for a table in the restaurant for a family birthday luncheon, we were disappointed to discover that not only had they no record of the reservation but they couldn't even guarantee being able to serve us. Moreover the staff really didn't care very much about it either. It's a shame as we had read many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ksjohnson123, Manager at The Upper Reaches Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony O, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your recent visit with us. Unfortunately, after having spoken with all the team there is no recollection of any birthday party luncheons in our Restaurant? The only party we have had turn up with no reservation, turned out they actually booked elsewhere! and after a few telephone calls... More 

leicester
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for just one night and had it been for more I would have cancelled (something I have rarely done). Upon arrival the location was great and I was looking forward to my stay. The reception I got was fine, and my room upon arrival didn't seem to bad. Looking closer I noticed quite afew hairs in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ksjohnson123, General Manager at The Upper Reaches Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JoLeicester, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent stay with us. I can assure you that we take all guest comments and reviews very seriously. I'm sure you will have noticed the waiter that served you was wearing a 'training' name badge. As... More 

Stoke on Trent, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I arrived for what was around my 7/8 stay at this hotel this year yesterday evening having actually paid £10 more than my previous visits but considered this reasonable given I like the location (near to my work) and it's (usually) comfortable albeit very old fashioned in places. I had been to the gym and was looking forward to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ksjohnson123, Manager at The Upper Reaches Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StokeMark_9, Than you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us. I have checked back on your reservation to see if we made a mistake with your room type, however we did not. As per your booking via booking.com I see a single room was reserved and that is what was allocated to... More 

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Please beware this is a great location, the restaurant staff is nice and helpful, even though a little inexperienced, but it stops there. The venue is really tired and in desperate need of investment and more professional management. Looks much nicer on the outside, than inside. The basics of good hospitality are neglected, atmosphere is lacking, bedrooms are very modest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ksjohnson123, General Manager at The Upper Reaches Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johny G, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor. We have a unique hotel with a traditional stone building (dating back to the Abingdon Abbey) with more modern interiors, offering comfortable and affordable rooms. Right in the heart of the small market town of Abingdon. As with all hotels there is an ongoing... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Well it's a shocker! I was kind of hoping for shabby chic but it's just plain shabby. i was too tired to complain so thought I would just go to bed but the bed has a depression in the mattress the size of a large cushion. Impossible to sleep in. The window frame was rotten and the room smelled of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ksjohnson123, General Manager at The Upper Reaches Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ginny K, I am sorry to hear that you were not happy during your recent stay with us. And that you don't like our furniture. Perhaps not too everyone's tastes, but I'm not expecting you to take it home with you. As for the beetroot broth, perhaps not to your tastes. It was a quite night int he Restaurant,... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

We booked the restaurant for Sunday dinner after eating here many times in the past. On arrival the first impression was very tired and shabby. We entered reception and were greeted with a "yes" no hello, no smile and no welcome. We then were taken through to the restaurant where no table was prepared they said they didn't know it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ksjohnson123, General Manager at The Upper Reaches Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Danpash1, Thank you for your recent review. All guest feedback is very important to us and highlights any areas we need to focus on improving. I am please to read that you had frequented the restaurant 'many times in the past'. I am sorry thing were not up to scratch on this visit for you, Unfortunately when your booking... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

I stayed here for several nights in October 2014. It was a disappointing in several ways. firstly the kettle had such a short lead that the only way to use it was to put it on the floor. Secondly the TV didn't work which took two hours to get someone to look at it for me. Thirdly I asked for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ksjohnson123, Manager at The Upper Reaches Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beryl L, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent 2 night stay with us. However, I would like to point out that you were offered an extension lead to plug the kettle into one of the many sockets in the room, but you declined the offer. Also you did not wait 2 hours for... More 

Oxford
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The word character can conjure up a number of images - sometimes it can be a euphemism for old and tired but this is not the case for the Upper Reaches. Old it is but it certainly is not tired. The hotel is at the end of Thames Street which is a left turn off Bridge Street if you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ksjohnson123, General Manager at The Upper Reaches Hotel, responded to this review

Dear UKTraveller054, Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Upper Reaches Hotel. i am please to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided you with everything you expected. We look forward to welcoming you back the the Hotel in the future. Kind Regard K Johnson More 

Plymouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This hotel flatters to decieve. Looks good until you get inside,Rooms tired. Mattress had dips and lumpy. Food very poor. Dirty and dated bathroom. Would not stay again, too many other nice hotels which are better value for money nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Upper Reaches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper Reaches Hotel

Address: Thames Street, Abingdon OX14 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Upper Reaches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Upper Reaches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay