We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel

3.0 of 5 112 - 114 Bridge Street, Worksop S80 1HT, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    103
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
25
162
9
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (291)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Held our Christmas lunch get together here. Very smart hotel, nicely decorated and welcoming. Round Tables were beautifully decorated with Christmas crackers and napkins. The portions of Turkey were extremely generous and the glazed vegetables delicious. There was a private bar so no need to leave the function room to get drinks. After desert they even served coffee with cream... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel looked lovely and nicely decorated with the xmas trimmings. We ordered our food and the waitress was very pleasant and the rest of the staff were smiling all night. We were given warm nibbles to eat while we waited for our food which didn't disappoint. The food was piping hot and very tasty. The homemade puddings were even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I read a review and thought I would test for my group of passengers. The hotel was clean and had a very good aire about it. The food was to a very good standard and the staff were welcoming and friendly. Overall s very good experience. I am a coach tour driver who needs good reviews to take my groups... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the great review we are really pleased that the whole party enjoyed there stay and i must say it was a pleasure having them all stay with us. We do everything possible to ensure that your stay is made comfortable from start to finish. We hope that we can welcome you back with another tour. Thank... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

food is excellent but Thé bar maids ara awfull.the rooms are clean.the otel is middle of Thé city.the Otel is so silent.no smoking rooms are very good...........................................................

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review for your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. The hotel is in the centre of Worksop and all our rooms are non smoking which keeps them fresh and clean. We hope to welcome you back in... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here while on a business trip. The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable and was good value for the money spent. Staff are polite and the service was of a good standard. Worksop is very quiet during the week - I found a good pub (White Lion) if you turn right out of the hotel and go past... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we made it as comfortable as possible for you while you were away on business we try to give people that home from home feel. All rooms are cleaned and maintained to a high standard... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

with worksop not that big you not got a lot of choice, I think theirs 30 or so rooms of various choice. stayed here in 2010 for the first time and been almost every year for the 80s concert. amazing deals on rooms and food, with help your self breakfast. nice little quirky places to sit in around the bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass all your comments on to the rest of the team. We hope that you will continue to stay with us when you come to the concerts at Clumber park. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here last night whilst on a visit to Worksop. We had a ground floor room in an extension attached to the main building and adjacent to the car park. The room was well appointed and comfortably warm and the SMART TV on the wall was a surprising feature. Breakfast was taken in the bar area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the great review we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you witnessed the staff will do whatever possible to ensure that you have everything that you need and make your stay as relaxing as possible. The smart TVs are a very popular feature as you can do many things on them.... More 

London
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
99 hotel reviews
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was once a coaching inn to which additional rooms were added over the years. That would explain the rather complicated layout with many doors, corridors and side stairs. That also adds to the character of the place. Some areas, notably by the main staircase, do need a bit of refreshing though overall the hotel appears to be kept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is a old coaching inn and yes does have many doors and corridors. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme which is due to be completed within 12 months Reception and the stair way area has just commenced.... More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

4th stay this year as it's always lovely. Friendly helpful staff. Rooms always clean. Fantastic cooked food . So close to Sherwood Forest and clumber park is well worth a visit . Will defo check in again . Well done to the staff .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, It is brilliant to hear that you keep coming to visit us and to know that we are definitely doing something correct. We do everything possible to ensure that guests have a great and relaxing time while they are staying with us. I will pass all your comments on to the rest of the team and we look forward... More 

Lytham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I must have got a bad room after reading these reviews. I didn't think it was worth the money. I stayed here after visiting friends before catching a flight. I found it really disappointing. The bathroom floor was dirty, with a pile of hairs behind the door. The old, brown lino didn't help the feeling of clean, nor did the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, i am very disappointed that you didnt have a pleasent stay and it was not what you expected. All feedback forms are passed on please accept my apologies that you have heard nothing i will ensure that you are contacted regarding your stay with us. I can assure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel

Address: 112 - 114 Bridge Street, Worksop S80 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Worksop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Worksop
Worksop Best Western

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (168)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (80)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (17)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay