We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel

3.0 of 5 112 - 114 Bridge Street, Worksop S80 1HT, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    101
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
25
162
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (287)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here while on a business trip. The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable and was good value for the money spent. Staff are polite and the service was of a good standard. Worksop is very quiet during the week - I found a good pub (White Lion) if you turn right out of the hotel and go past... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

with worksop not that big you not got a lot of choice, I think theirs 30 or so rooms of various choice. stayed here in 2010 for the first time and been almost every year for the 80s concert. amazing deals on rooms and food, with help your self breakfast. nice little quirky places to sit in around the bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here last night whilst on a visit to Worksop. We had a ground floor room in an extension attached to the main building and adjacent to the car park. The room was well appointed and comfortably warm and the SMART TV on the wall was a surprising feature. Breakfast was taken in the bar area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the great review we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you witnessed the staff will do whatever possible to ensure that you have everything that you need and make your stay as relaxing as possible. The smart TVs are a very popular feature as you can do many things on them.... More

London
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
98 hotel reviews
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was once a coaching inn to which additional rooms were added over the years. That would explain the rather complicated layout with many doors, corridors and side stairs. That also adds to the character of the place. Some areas, notably by the main staircase, do need a bit of refreshing though overall the hotel appears to be kept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is a old coaching inn and yes does have many doors and corridors. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme which is due to be completed within 12 months Reception and the stair way area has just commenced.... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

4th stay this year as it's always lovely. Friendly helpful staff. Rooms always clean. Fantastic cooked food . So close to Sherwood Forest and clumber park is well worth a visit . Will defo check in again . Well done to the staff .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, It is brilliant to hear that you keep coming to visit us and to know that we are definitely doing something correct. We do everything possible to ensure that guests have a great and relaxing time while they are staying with us. I will pass all your comments on to the rest of the team and we look forward... More

Lytham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I must have got a bad room after reading these reviews. I didn't think it was worth the money. I stayed here after visiting friends before catching a flight. I found it really disappointing. The bathroom floor was dirty, with a pile of hairs behind the door. The old, brown lino didn't help the feeling of clean, nor did the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, i am very disappointed that you didnt have a pleasent stay and it was not what you expected. All feedback forms are passed on please accept my apologies that you have heard nothing i will ensure that you are contacted regarding your stay with us. I can assure... More

Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

did an overnight stay here with groupon.A character hotel clean rooms and a very nice meal.Worksop is a quiet town with not much going off,but we did find a nice pub 200 yard away where we joined the quiz night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel, the hotel is a very old coaching inn so has some beautiful original features. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal all our food is locally sourced and freshly home cooked. We hope that we can welcome you back for another... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel as a B&B package as we were to attend a function in the area. The hotel check in was quick & easy. The room was spacious & clean, bed was soft, but comfy (we are used to firmer mattress but slept weel regardless!) the view from the room was of the street outside, so I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. When you first arrive we make check in as easy and quick as possible as sometimes people have travelled for a long amount of time and we know they like nothing better than to start relaxing,... More

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on a groupon voucher for 2 nights for our anniversary so was a bargain , rooms lovely and spacious and clean , breakfast was a good choice ,was well presented and of good quality ,location fantastic it's right in the centre ,staff friendly and polite. The one problem we had was that on our first night we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave us lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. The groupon offer that you stayed on is a brilliant deal and great value for money. I have spoken with the night porter that was on duty that evening and also the duty manager. They had... More

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

fantastic place to stay, people are friendly and professional .I also think that it's going value for money here too,cannot wait to come back again,cleanliness is also of a good standard too we have stayed here when visiting friends and family and have never left feeling disappointed with our stay xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the lovely comments we are very pleased that you enjoyed everything about your stay. It is always nice to hear that guests want to return. I will ensure all your comments are passed on to all of the team. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel

Address: 112 - 114 Bridge Street, Worksop S80 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Worksop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Worksop
Worksop Best Western

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (168)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (80)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay