We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Markham Moor Inn

Old Great North Road, Markham Moor DN22 0QU, England (Formerly Markham Hotel & Restaurant)
Markham Moor Inn

22 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the third time we've stayed here. Stay Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday for their wine and dine offer. £100 per couple for a three course meal, with wine and bed and breakfast. The food is amazing, such good quality, beautifully presented. We had the smoked chicken and citrus fruit starter with a mustard dressing, followed by pork belly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solihull, United Kingdom
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here overnight to attend a wedding in Tuxford. Very welcoming allowing us to have room early enabling us to change into our wedding clothes. Room lovely on 2nd floor with large bathroom. Tea/coffee in room. Comfortable bed. Everywhere spotless. Full English Breakfast included very tasty. Lovely dining room. Sorry couldn't stay for lunch. Went out of their way to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We walked in without booking and asked for a table of 3. The lady behind the bar said a group of ten had just come in and it might be some time. After a little negotiating she said she could sneak us in before them but only if we had the special which was a meat and potato pie. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Over the last 6 years I've stayed here on numerous occasions but not that often recently. It's a welcome return! Fantastic staff, great food, comfortable rooms and a lovely country pub atmosphere. Laura and her staff provide a warm welcome to all👍👌

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

Whilst staying locally for a short break we called in here for a pre dinner drink and were very pleasantly surprised with how nice it was. Lovely decor and friendly staff. We decided to stay for an extra night and booked on at the inn. The room we had was spacious and comfortable. The evening meal was excellent and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. George, Canada
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This is an old stage inn off the Great North Road. It is fully modernized and was a pleasure to stay in. Parking is easy, the rooms were clean, well appointed, and spacious. If you come, stay for dinner. Food is really very very good, and the full English the next morning impressed all of us, including the lady who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Visited the area for the weekend for a family birthday. Booked into this pub as we were eating here in the evening and thought it would be convenient. Rooms were a lovely size and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty. Also got a special offer for eating in the restaurant making the whole stay very reasonable. Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Looking for B & B between Lincoln and Retford, I came across the Markham Moor Inn with reasonable rates and a wide choice of accommodation to suit most families. Rooms are available as singles, twin, doubles and family rooms. Some are without en-suite all have good tea and coffee making facilities. A full English breakfast is available and is included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a one night stay here, arrived early evening, on our way North. The staff were very welcoming. The room was fine, comfortable and roomy. We didn't eat, just a drink, had an early night. Breakfast was good, served by a very pleasant lady, no complaints from us. We found it just what we wanted for our stopover. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Recently went for family meal and was very disappointed by the customer service received. We were greeted by the head waiter who had no personality and was very matter of fact. We preordered the meals and one starter was missing. We were told it was our fault and definitely not their mistake. We were not sure who made the mistake... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura H, Owner at Markham Moor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very disappointed that our customer service failed to meet your expectations. Nevertheless, there are several issues with your review that we strongly disagree with. You were served ALL food items which you had pre-ordered in good time. You had forgotten to order one of your party’s starters but this mistake was promptly rectified, the additional food... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (3)
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (8)
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question