We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Markham Moor Inn

Old Great North Road, Markham Moor DN22 0QU, England (Formerly Markham Hotel & Restaurant)
Markham Moor Inn
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Over the last 6 years I've stayed here on numerous occasions but not that often recently. It's a welcome return! Fantastic staff, great food, comfortable rooms and a lovely country pub atmosphere. Laura and her staff provide a warm welcome to all👍👌

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

Whilst staying locally for a short break we called in here for a pre dinner drink and were very pleasantly surprised with how nice it was. Lovely decor and friendly staff. We decided to stay for an extra night and booked on at the inn. The room we had was spacious and comfortable. The evening meal was excellent and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. George, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This is an old stage inn off the Great North Road. It is fully modernized and was a pleasure to stay in. Parking is easy, the rooms were clean, well appointed, and spacious. If you come, stay for dinner. Food is really very very good, and the full English the next morning impressed all of us, including the lady who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Visited the area for the weekend for a family birthday. Booked into this pub as we were eating here in the evening and thought it would be convenient. Rooms were a lovely size and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty. Also got a special offer for eating in the restaurant making the whole stay very reasonable. Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Looking for B & B between Lincoln and Retford, I came across the Markham Moor Inn with reasonable rates and a wide choice of accommodation to suit most families. Rooms are available as singles, twin, doubles and family rooms. Some are without en-suite all have good tea and coffee making facilities. A full English breakfast is available and is included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a one night stay here, arrived early evening, on our way North. The staff were very welcoming. The room was fine, comfortable and roomy. We didn't eat, just a drink, had an early night. Breakfast was good, served by a very pleasant lady, no complaints from us. We found it just what we wanted for our stopover. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Recently went for family meal and was very disappointed by the customer service received. We were greeted by the head waiter who had no personality and was very matter of fact. We preordered the meals and one starter was missing. We were told it was our fault and definitely not their mistake. We were not sure who made the mistake... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura H, Owner at Markham Moor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very disappointed that our customer service failed to meet your expectations. Nevertheless, there are several issues with your review that we strongly disagree with. You were served ALL food items which you had pre-ordered in good time. You had forgotten to order one of your party’s starters but this mistake was promptly rectified, the additional food... More 

Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Well this was a surprise , a must try this hotel, the food is something else, very well presented and excellent quality. Staff very friendly, will definitely go again. Rooms very comfortable. Don't under estimate this venue , it's not just a pub, I recommend booking the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lunch and breakfast very good, accommodation homely and very comfortable. Staff very friendly and efficient. Varied menu, dining room well laid out. Large garden and patio area, child friendly. Would have no problem in booking this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Millpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place was recommended to us by a member of staff at the nearby Travelodge who were fully booked when we needed overnight accommodation and we are so glad they did. The room was beautiful and immaculately clean. Crisp white bedding and thick fluffy white towels. Beautiful! A lot of thought, time and effort has gone into making the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question