We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

4.0 of 5 Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    47
    20
    11
    8
See reviews for
47
81
3
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (221)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
There are newer reviews for Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

To celebrate our wedding anniversary, my wife and I decided to have a weekend break at the Ye Olde Bell and can honestly say what a pleasure it was. The staff where pleasant, tentative and polite, the receptionist could not do enough for us to get us settled into our room. The meal we had that evening was wonderful, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I am delighted you enjoyed your wedding anniversary celebrations at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I'm incredibly proud of the team, they all work together and strive to ensure all our guests have a wonderful experience. Feedback such as yours makes all that hard work worthwhile.......thank you! We look... More

Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Olde Bell Hotel is like a second home to me I have stayed there on a regular basis over the last ten years and witnessed the vast improvements by the present owners over the last few years. This hotel is second to none for value, comfort, great food and very friendly efficient staff who make your stay special. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you....always a pleasure to have you stay with us. You will have seen some phenomenal changes in the past 10 years and now with the unending support of wonderful private owners the hotel continues to improve and flourish year on year. Thank you for your loyalty throughout the transition period and I hope you continue to enjoy this fabulous... More

sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Sunday morning, the day after a family wedding at the hotel. We did not stay at the hotel but returned to join family members who had, for breakfast. A big mistake! The Full English Breakfast at £16 was far too overpriced for the quality of this hotel. The service was appalling; reheated sausages from the BBQ the night before and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the hotel for breakfast, I am so sorry you were disapppointed with the quality and service and hope you will accept my sincere apology. I am also very concerned that your feedback was not passed on to me at the time, please be assured I have... More

england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Visited on Thursday for pasta and prosecco as advertised in local press, only to be told by two members of staff that it was 'pizza and prosecco', as I don't care for pizza we ordered from normal menu, which was delicious. As we left, on the advertising board outside there it was, pizza or pasta and prosecco, on Thursdays, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant. This has been a very popular promotion and eventhough all members of the team are thoroughly briefed you were obviously given incorrect information for which I am very sorry. We definitely offer Pizza or Pasta and Prosecco every Thursday either on the... More

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On our visit to the UK we chose to enjoy a family lunch at the Ye Olde Bell restaurant. The quality of the service and the food were both of a high standard. With a group of 8 ranging from 8 to 86, everybody was very pleased with their respective meals. Having enjoyed two weeks of Italian restaurants it certainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I hope you had a good trip back to Australia, thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to share your experience. I'm delighted you had a great lunch, pizzas are one of our latest ventures and I've loved all the necessary sampling to get them just right!! I'm sorry your wine was not quite cold enough, I'll... More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed last night with a friend was warmly greeted by a lovley lady at reception on arrival. A young lady gave us a tour of the suites at the hotel she was very helpful and just couldnt do enough for you Our room was amazing to say the least we had dinner at the hotel excellent service from Adam our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments following a recent stay at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant. I really do appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased you were well looked after, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kate Firth More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on the evening of a wedding so thankfully got our room at a reduced price, which was still far to expensive. The small room had only a small window to open on one of the hottest nights of the year, the widow in the bathroom was painted shut. Unfortunately for the other guests who's room looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following a recent stay at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, I am so sorry there were aspects in which you were disappointed. Our rooms are all very unique ranging from pretty 'cottage' style to elegant high rooms with leaded windows to stunning suites, something to suit all tastes I feel. If only you had... More

Retford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Having arrived promptly for our 7:30pm reservation we chose to go straight to our table. Food menus were provided within a few minutes, but the wine list had to be requested. Only after our food order had been placed were we informed that the kitchen was very busy and there might be a wait for our meals. Indeed we waited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had a disappointing experience in our restaurant recently and I hope you will accept my sincere apology. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am grateful for all feedback as it is invaluable in assessing and striving to improve the standards of service we offer. It is very rare that I... More

New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I went to a wedding at this delightful inn. Stayed several nights and was most pleased with the decor and the quality of the traditional English fare, Yorkshire pudding and Roast Beef were done to perfection as well as their pâté that tasted almost like Foie Gras. Try beer especially brewed for this inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Ye Olde Bell Hotel, I'm delighted you enjoyed our 'Yorkshire Hospitality' at the wedding you attended. Thrilled you enjoyed our locally brewed 'Barnby Moorish' it goes down a treat on the terrace in the sunshine. Hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.... More

York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked the hotel in February and in the book confirmation, i was told my room would be available from 2.00pm. We arrived at 3.30 and that when it started to go wrong, she couldn't find us on the system, I gace name and then booking number, obviuously didn't believe me, as she asked to see my phone and scrolled through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Ye Olde Bell Hotel. I'm sorry your visit didn't have the best of starts, we do our utmost to ensure all rooms are ready for a 2pm check in but it is obvious on this particular day it was not the case. Often our guests... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Barnby Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bell Hotel And Restaurant
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant Barnby Moor, Nottinghamshire

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay