We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Barnby Moor hotels

Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
82%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Barnby Moor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Kat11235
  • Overview
  • Reviews (200)
  • Photos (74)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (35)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    41
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
43
74
1
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Given it was bank holiday weekend and the hotel had weddings going on in every corner it was an 'ok' stay. All the staff were lovely and helpful. We had dinner in the bistro which was lovely. The wifi was free and worked well on multiple devices. The big disappointment was breakfast. It was served in the room used for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Husband and I had our wedding reception here on the 2nd August 2014. Kate the hotel manager was absolutely fantastic with the planning process and on the day itself was professional, caring and extremely helpful. Despite the rain Kate and all the staff ensured that we and all of our guests were having a great time. Luckily the sun... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very enjoyable meal at Ye Olde Bell: excellent food and good value too (including the wine). I had what has been disparagingly called a "pot pie" by another reviewer. It was a top crust steak and ale pie - quite usual in good restaurants - which was delicious. It was well worth waiting 30 minutes for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
McLaren Vale
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely old English Country Hotel. Not cheap, but worth it for the excellent ambience. Our room and bathroom were really beautiful, with everything of high quality. Our dinner was excellent, as were the staff who looked after us, and breakfast was the same. A most comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to Ye Olde Bell Hotel, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. I'll be sure to pass your lovely comments on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Kate Firth More

Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After hearing lots of good anecdotal reviews of the Old Bell we were looking forward to meeting old friends for a meal on the 8th August. Arranging to meet them in the bar we ordered two drinks. A medium white wine and an orange and tonic water. For these we were charged twelve pounds. Staggering back in shock we seated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, I am so sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your dining experience. I would consider the prices of our wine and drinks very reasonable, we have a wide range of wines available by the glass from £4.40 (175ml) for our delicious house wine to £8.30 (175ml) for our finest Chablis.Quality soft drinks... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good hotel. Staying as working local superior to a premier in and much better prices. Excellent food and free wifi lovely little bonus. Gym very basic but ok for a couple of nights and nice to see staff who remember drinks orders and friendly Over all great little hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

What a lovely, heart warming review, thank you so much! Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Kate Firth More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great stay for a wedding, bit pricey and breakfast alittle too busy for the restaurant at times but great rooms and amazing grounds. We'll be back soon...................................................

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm delighted you enjoyed the wedding you attended recently and thank you for taking the time to write a review it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kate Firth More

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visit here on the 2nd august for our very close friends wedding it was amazing! We were given a free room upgrade and the room was amazing. This us a perfect venue for a wedding. We would defiantly recommend it! The breakfast was really nice you can order what ever you like! The rooms were quite expensive but for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Quite a headline...thank you very much!! I'm delighted you enjoyed the wedding and had a great night's stay, we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Kate Firth More

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely old hotel and a great wedding venue but too noisy to sleep! There was noise from the garden until the early hours and the creaking floors in the corridor and the room above made it impossible to sleep! Such a shame as the hotel and grounds are lovely and I couldn't fault the bedroom and bathroom. The breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Ye Olde Bell Hotel for a wedding, I genuinely appreciate your feedback. I'm so sorry you had difficulty sleeping, garden rooms are usually lovely and quiet but obviously on this occasion a few guests decided to party in the garden until quite late. I'm sorry... More

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Once we had arrived, having taken an hour to travel one mile due to an accident on the A1 we were greeted at the hotel and shown to a very large,well decorated old fashioned themed room ,with a modern bathroom.the bed was comfortable. The only complaint we had was the room was very warm and we could not sleep due... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your very detailed and constructive review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant. I'm sorry you had difficulty sleeping due to the warm weather, we're just not used to it are we? It'll soon be autumn and I can light our gorgeous log fires again, definitely worth another visit for... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Barnby Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bell Hotel And Restaurant
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant Barnby Moor, Nottinghamshire

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
17Th century hotel now passionately restored throughout by local owners to AA 4-Star and combining history with contemporary style. Sheer luxury everywhere with rich fabrics, chandeliers, antiques and period features. Individually styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all with flatscreen TVs and contemporary bathrooms with walk-in power showers. Lounges with real log fires in winter and smart Garden Terrace Bar for summer drinks and dining al fresco. Trendy Restaurant Bar 1650 and rich ambient St Leger Bistro-by-the-Bar with extensive menu. Hotel Fitness Centre and hair and beauty treatment salons. Just off the A1 and on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire and Yorkshire - ideal for Sherwood Forest, Lincoln Cathedral, Nottingham Castle, Chatsworth House and Doncaster and Southwell Races. Just 5 minutes from Retford Mainline Rail Station and close to Robin Hood & East Midlands Airports. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
57

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer