We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

4.0 of 5 Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    43
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
45
79
3
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
ENGLAND
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The heading says it all, stayed for one night when visiting Retford, chose the Hotel because of its good reviews and it certainly lived up to its reputation...very friendly service, was upgraded to a suite, which was very good of the hotel. The room was amazing, Jane Grey number 29. Can highly recommend, very spacious and tastefully decorated, both furnishings... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

What a fabulous way to start my day, thank you!! We consistently strive to offer a warm, natural, friendly and professional service and it's incredibly rewarding when our guests voice their appreciation. We are so fortunate to have such a beautiful hotel and restaurant and we really enjoy sharing all we have to offer. I hope you will visit us... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Attended for a family wedding on a beautiful sunny autumnal day in October. The ceremony was set in a lovely cosy room. The grounds are simply stunning for photos. The food was well presented and tasty. The rooms were clean spacious and comfortable. A great place for any special occasion

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm delighted you enjoyed a family wedding at Ye Olde Bell Hotel recently and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our hotel is indeed a great place for a special occasion.....for any occasion in fact!! We hope to see you again. Kind regards Kate Firth More

Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came to olde bell for a wedding on a Saturday, as we were travelling down in the morning we needed an early check so we could change for the wedding after quite a drive. No problem and the room was ready for is at 1 when we arrived. We quickly went to our room and we weren't disappointed, an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Wow...thank you so much for such a fabulous review, I'm thrilled you had such a great stay. It was a beautiful day, the weather being the icing on the cake so to speak! I think our gardens are at their most stunning in the autumn, an absolute blaze of colour, I'm delighted you got the opportunity to enjoy them. I... More

Blandford Saint Mary, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visiting family we decided to go here for a meal and we were not disappointed, the food was fantastic and the service was very good I would recommend anyone to visit this place.when we are back in the area we will make a point of visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to dine with us recently when you were visiting family, I'm delighted you had such a great experience. I appreciate you taking the time to write a review, feedback is always so valuable...we can't get enough of it! Look forward to seeing you back very soon. Kind regards Kate Firth More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a short stay but lovely.great food also especialy the deserts.great thanks mike,sheszzs and matt!they are greatest people.great service!thank for everything you 've done!you all have been soooo great!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ye Olde Bell and taking the time to write a review. Mike, Cheryl and Matt will be thrilled with your comments, hope you visit us again very soon. Kind regards Kate Firth More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One relaxing night in a great room; slept so well and got so much work done too. Dinner was beautiful with proper professional service. Stunning building with lots of history. Wish I had time to wander more. Also wanted to have massage but no time. Gym looked great too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for such a great review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ye Olde Bell. Next time you visit I hope you make time for a massage....definitely an experience not to be missed!! Look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kate Firth More

Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having travelled from N W Scotland, I needed somewhere to stay for the night. Got to the Olde Bell, no problem getting a room, a couple of beers followed by an excellent supper - Scallops on Black pudding with a pea puree; Monkfish tails (lots) on pea risotto; pear tarte tatin. A decent Chenin Blanc (could only find an oaked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm very pleased we provided a suitable 'pit stop' for your journey from Scotland, thank you for sharing your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I'm delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kate Firth More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Great hotel with a whole host of great features. Old style rooms with plenty of space and all amenities you normally expect in a nice hotel. The food, both at the bistro in the evening and the breakfast was outstanding. The staff are all very welcoming and helpful. Only minor problem was the curtains did not block out enough of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us recently and for taking the time to write a review, it is greatly appreciated. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and I will be happy to share your comments with the team. Hope to see you again!! Kind regards Kate Firth More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

My Husband and I first visited Ye Olde Bell whilst looking for a venue for our 2012 wedding. We visited 3 other venues and Ye Olde Bell was a place we had past before but had never actually been inside. The day we visited we fell in love immediately. We took one look around the Bradgate Suite and knew this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I can't thank you enough for this Cindy, comments like yours remind us all why we work in the hospitality industry, it brings such rewards!! We're very fortunate to have such a beautiful hotel which just keeps getting better due to the continual support and vision of our owners. I'm also incredibly proud of the team who consistently deliver a... More

East Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Usually food and service at charity events is mediocre, but at last Fridays charity ball congratulations to the management and staff at Ye Olde Bell, food hot and very tasty good starter main and sweet. The only disappointment tepid coffee and tasteless but only a minor complaint. Staff very good and attentive. A great atmosphere and enjoyable evening well done... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for attending a Charity Ball at Ye Olde Bell Hotel recently and for taking the time to write a review, I'm delighted you enjoyed the food, service and ambiance, we had some fabulous feedback and a considerable amount of money was raised for the charity. There's a tale to tell about the coffee....... we had had a new... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Barnby Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bell Hotel And Restaurant
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant Barnby Moor, Nottinghamshire

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay