We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Barnby Moor hotels

Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
83%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnby Moor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Craig M Oxford, United Kingdom
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    42
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
43
77
1
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel with a whole host of great features. Old style rooms with plenty of space and all amenities you normally expect in a nice hotel. The food, both at the bistro in the evening and the breakfast was outstanding. The staff are all very welcoming and helpful. Only minor problem was the curtains did not block out enough of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us recently and for taking the time to write a review, it is greatly appreciated. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and I will be happy to share your comments with the team. Hope to see you again!! Kind regards Kate Firth More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Husband and I first visited Ye Olde Bell whilst looking for a venue for our 2012 wedding. We visited 3 other venues and Ye Olde Bell was a place we had past before but had never actually been inside. The day we visited we fell in love immediately. We took one look around the Bradgate Suite and knew this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I can't thank you enough for this Cindy, comments like yours remind us all why we work in the hospitality industry, it brings such rewards!! We're very fortunate to have such a beautiful hotel which just keeps getting better due to the continual support and vision of our owners. I'm also incredibly proud of the team who consistently deliver a... More

East Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Usually food and service at charity events is mediocre, but at last Fridays charity ball congratulations to the management and staff at Ye Olde Bell, food hot and very tasty good starter main and sweet. The only disappointment tepid coffee and tasteless but only a minor complaint. Staff very good and attentive. A great atmosphere and enjoyable evening well done... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for attending a Charity Ball at Ye Olde Bell Hotel recently and for taking the time to write a review, I'm delighted you enjoyed the food, service and ambiance, we had some fabulous feedback and a considerable amount of money was raised for the charity. There's a tale to tell about the coffee....... we had had a new... More

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I found this hotel quite by chance as we had plans in the area as part of my husbands birthday celebration and what a find it turned out to be. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. Every member of staff was completely charming and went out of their way to ensure that our visit was perfect. We stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, I am delighted you have now discovered Ye Olde Bell Hotel. I will pass your wonderful comments on to the rest of the team and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kate Firth More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our wedding here in May and everyone is still saying how wonderful the event was and see the earlier review of the one of the Guests that was there too Since the wedding we have been back with friends on the off chance of having an evening meal and again that was absolutely a delight. Kate and her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Ye Olde Bell Hotel as the venue for your wedding, I'm delighted you had such a special day and your guests are still talking about the experience!! I'm sorry your honeymoon wasn't all you'd hoped for but delighted you've chosen us to create some more memorable moments. Thanks for taking the time to write a review,... More

Beckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called in for lunch. The place has a good reputation locally so we wanted to try it. We were not in any way disappointed. Fantastic meal and great service. The trainee manager who served us couldn't have been more helpful. It was all damn near perfect. The decor is like something from an Agatha Christie novel,very olde world and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent lunch at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our trainee manager Ben, will be delighted with the feedback as will the rest of the team. I hope you visit us again soon. Kind regards Kate Firth More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Given it was bank holiday weekend and the hotel had weddings going on in every corner it was an 'ok' stay. All the staff were lovely and helpful. We had dinner in the bistro which was lovely. The wifi was free and worked well on multiple devices. The big disappointment was breakfast. It was served in the room used for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following a recent stay at Ye Olde Bell Hotel, your feedback is invaluable. I am sorry you were disappointed with your breakfast, usually such a lovely meal but obviously not on this occasion. I have discussed your comments with the team and we will do our utmost to prevent a... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My Husband and I had our wedding reception here on the 2nd August 2014. Kate the hotel manager was absolutely fantastic with the planning process and on the day itself was professional, caring and extremely helpful. Despite the rain Kate and all the staff ensured that we and all of our guests were having a great time. Luckily the sun... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm thrilled you had such a fabulous day, it was an absolute pleasure to look after you throughout the planning stages and on the day too! Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we were delighted with your comments. I have to say your cake was one of the most unusual ones I have ever seen......just perfect!... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a very enjoyable meal at Ye Olde Bell: excellent food and good value too (including the wine). I had what has been disparagingly called a "pot pie" by another reviewer. It was a top crust steak and ale pie - quite usual in good restaurants - which was delicious. It was well worth waiting 30 minutes for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us recently for a meal in the St Leger Bistro by the Bar and for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your meal, particularly the pie! I can appreciate your comment regarding the noise levels, the bar can get quite busy and I'm grateful this has not deterred you from visiting... More

McLaren Vale
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a lovely old English Country Hotel. Not cheap, but worth it for the excellent ambience. Our room and bathroom were really beautiful, with everything of high quality. Our dinner was excellent, as were the staff who looked after us, and breakfast was the same. A most comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to Ye Olde Bell Hotel, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. I'll be sure to pass your lovely comments on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Kate Firth More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Barnby Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bell Hotel And Restaurant
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant Barnby Moor, Nottinghamshire

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)