We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    167
    57
    22
    14
    8
See reviews for
57
93
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We've been here a lot the last couple of years, trying a bit of everything - initimate dinners for a couple of us, the Pizza and Prosecco evenings for a girly night, a larger table in the restaurant for a birthday celebration and most recently - our wedding. I cannot speak highly enough of the setting, the staff or the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great laid back dining for a Friday evening in the Ledger Bar. We took my mum as part of her birthday and didn't want to go to anywhere too fussy but wanted a good standard of food. The menu was perfect (in fact the same as the main restaurant) and we opted to eat in the bar so it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Sunday lunch is excellent. You couldn't ask for anything better. The starters and the mains are well presented and cooked to perfection. The roast sirloin was so tender and cooked and carved by a chef who knows his onions. The deserts are mouth watering, which and what do you choose. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Sunday lunch is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you, I'm delighted you enjoyed your lunch with us recently and I appreciate your feedback. Sunday lunch is probably my favourite service of the week, lots of regular guests as well as new ones makes for a great atmosphere, add in rare roast beef and that stunning dessert trolley, its got to be a winner!! We hope to see... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we have just spent an enchanting day and night at ye old bell, the wedding reception was spectacular, the staff were very friendly and very helpful, food was excellent, room was lovely and clean and very comfortable ,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the long journey north to experience a wedding at Ye Olde Bell Hotel, I'm delighted you had such a fabulous time. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the team who all work so hard to realise the dreams of all our brides and grooms. We sincerely hope you will visit us again... More 

Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We took my parents for Christmas themed Afternoon Tea here last December, they enjoyed it so much that we decided to treat them again, for Father's Day, to the traditional Afternoon Tea. We arrived at 3.30pm on Friday afternoon, the table was already laid for us, with crisp white napkins, beautifully folded and a collection of quirky vintage crockery. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, it really is appreciated. Afternoon tea is so incredibly popular at the moment and a perfect way to celebrate Father's Day, I'm delighted you all enjoyed it so much. In fact your description has really made me feel a bit peckish......I think I'll nip to the kitchen and... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we booked the ye old bell to stay overnight as we had been for a meal previously and had a realy good time.It was our 40th wedding anniversary so a special time,on arrival we were met at the reception by a very pleasant young lady who told us we had been given a upgrade to the LADY JANE SUITE it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

40 years of marriage is clearly worth a celebration, thank you for choosing Ye Olde Bell Hotel for the occasion and for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your upgrade to the stunning Lady Jane Suite, it really is a beautiful room, very elegant yet supremely comfortable. Thank you also for your lovely comments regarding... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really lovely place, great service and fantastic if small groups. Xmas do was dreadful, food cold and small portions with dreadful service. Price was over other local restaurants so expected more, sadly failed to deliver. Such a shame really. Needs to improve on large group bookings for food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review recently, I'm really sorry you found our Christmas party offering disappointing, we had such great feedback from so many of the parties I'm not quite sure what when wrong for your own event. We always strive to deliver the same level of service for large numbers as we do for... More 

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 1 night with a couple of work colleagues. Very pleasant stay even though the hotel was fairly busy. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Ate in the bistro and the food was very good. I would recommend Ye Olde Bell.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted you found the team so accommodating and you enjoyed our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Kate Firth More 

Retford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Four friends for a meal Thursday evening 25 June. Despite the hotel being busy with a wedding reception, we had a lovely meal in a great atmosphere with very attentive and charming staff (Mike and Gabbie). We thought the service may have been slow because it was so busy but we were wrong. Our meal was very well presented, two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Great review, thank you very much! I'll be sure to pass your lovely comments on to the team, especially Mike and Gabbie who I know will be thrilled. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the food, I had that rack of lamb myself last week and it was indeed delicious! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Kate Firth More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I arranged for champagne afternoon tea at ye olde bell as an alternative hen party for myself and 21 other family members & friends. The staff were excellent, from the moment I called to book they couldn't do enough to help. The rooms and the gardens here are beautiful. A great time was had by all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

What a lovely thing to do for a hen party, I'm so pleased you all had such a great time! I hope the wedding is fabulous and please come back and visit us soon with your new hubby. Kind regards Kate Firth More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay