We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Barnby Moor hotels

Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor DN22 8QS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
84%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Barnby Moor
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    34
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
35
66
1
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I treated my friend to the special Easter chocoholics afternoon tea, I can describe it as nothing short of fabulous! The food was indulgent and delicious and the service was first class! Would recommend everyone to treat themselves! I eat here often and am never disappointed but especially loved this little treat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We love dropping into the bar for a drink on a Friday after work. The staff are charming and attentive without being obsequious. The bar meals are tasty and large. And the atmosphere in the bar is friendly and homely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at Ye Olde Bell on several occasions for Business and I really cannot fault this hotel. As other guests have commented, the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. I have eaten in both restaurants and they both offer delicious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following a number of visits to Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, it is greatly appreciated. I'm delighted you have always been made to feel so welcome. I'm very proud of the team who have a natural ability to offer warm hospitality, they are always very happy to share our... More

Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last night (28th March 2014) we visited the restaurant at Ye Olde Bell to celebrate my parents golden wedding anniversary, there were seven of us in total and we all had an absolutely fabulous time. From the second that we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome by the obviously extremely well trained and experienced staff. Their friendly, attentive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Simply Perfect! Really doesn't get any better than that, thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I read your comments to the team at our morning meeting and it was lovely to see them swell with pride......makes it all worthwhile. Delighted you are planning your next visit soon, we look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards Kate Firth More

Basildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My Mum treated my Sister and I to another overnight stay at this lovely friendly hotel. The 3 of us have stayed on several occasions and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. The service in the restaurant is excellent. We did not have our evening meal here on this occasion but breakfast is most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us again and taking the time to write such a wonderful review, I will ensure your comments are passed on to all those concerned. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Kate Firth More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have stayed here again recently after a long time staying elsewhere. I travel to the area regularly on business. I was surprised to find my room had been somewhat "spruced up" compared with when I last stayed, and it really was a surprise as there was not much wrong with the hotel before. The entire experience is very relaxing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review following your recent stay at Ye Olde Bell, I'm delighted you returned after staying elsewhere for a while. Thrilled we looked 'spruced'......we have an ongoing, thorough maintenance programme and strive to keep everything to the very highest standard. Thank you for the lovely comments about our confident and knowledgeable staff, I am very lucky... More

Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

we came across this gem of a country hotel while we were driving back to yorkshire. We stopped off for a drink in what i think was called the Leger bar. The atmosphere was really welcoming and friendly and although it was really busy, the staff couldn,t have been more helpful, especially the guy behind the bar who was called... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your impromptu 'pit-stop' at Ye Olde Bell, I'm delighted you have discovered Ye Olde Bell Hotel! It's a fabulous place to break a journey being only minutes from the A1. So pleased that Paul kept you entertained, he's a really interesting guy and although he's not been with us... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have stayed at this country hotel a few times now and always enjoy my stay, it has a warm welcoming atmosphere. The rooms are beautifully decorated, have comfortable beds and are lovely and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful and the restaurant has a great food and a varied menu. Its in a nice country location, but close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I can't tell you how grateful I am when our guests take time to write reviews, the feedback really is invaluable. I'm delighted you have enjoyed your visits to us, the hotel is indeed ideally situated to enable you to discover this beautiful area. You so must treat yourself to some time in the spa next time you come, Lizzie... More

Bourne End, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was late arriving at the hotel and needed a good night’s sleep but was given a room on the road side, and as a result of poor secondary windows (unable to close them fully), was woken up very early by the traffic. The room itself was fine, the bed comfortable and the breakfast nice but for me sleep is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were woken early when you stayed at Ye Olde Bell Hotel recently, you may be delighted to know that we have just completed installation of excellent secondary glazing to the few rooms on the front of the hotel. However, if you are a light sleeper please don't hesitate to ask for one of the many rooms situated... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Was not expecting to have to pay a 'Discounted Rate' of £130.00 for B+B to stay in what is essentially the 'Middle of Nowhere' in Nottinghamshire. Insult was added to Injury with the Hotel insisting that a £40.00 non refundable deposit was made with the initial booking...Also payment for the balance was 'taken' on 'Check In'. Not too sure where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following a visit to Ye Olde Bell Hotel which I read with interest. I'm delighted you enjoyed the Black Tie event and found the food excellent, we have a great kitchen brigade who consistently deliver. I am very pleased that you found our bedrooms of a high standard too, albeit a little disappointed that you... More

Been to Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bell Hotel And Restaurant
Ye Olde Bell Hotel
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant Barnby Moor, Nottinghamshire
Address: Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor DN22 8QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Barnby Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Barnby Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful 17th century original stagecoaching inn now passionately restored throughout by local owners to AA 4-Star and combining history with contemporary style. Sheer luxury everywhere with rich fabrics, chandeliers, antiques and period features. Individually styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all with flatscreen TVs and contemporary bathrooms with walk-in power showers. Lounges with real log fires in winter and smart Garden Terrace Bar for summer drinks and dining al fresco. Trendy Restaurant Bar 1650 and rich ambient St Leger Bistro-by-the-Bar with extensive menu. Hotel Fitness Centre and hair and beauty treatment salons. Just off the A1 and on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire and Yorkshire - ideal for Sherwood Forest, Lincoln Cathedral, Nottingham Castle, Chatsworth House and Doncaster and Southwell Races. Just 5 minutes from Retford Mainline Rail Station and close to Robin Hood & East Midlands Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.