We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Stannersburn B&Bs / inns

The Pheasant Inn

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Stannersburn NE48 1DD, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Pheasant Inn to your Saves list
The Pheasant Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
93%
Ranked #1 of 1 Stannersburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
N0rthumbrians NORTHUMBERLAND
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    51
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
39
185
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (301)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
NORTHUMBERLAND
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I can not understand the reviews about poor food at the Pheasant. It has always been perfectly cooked and I have to have a small portion on a Sunday so that I can accommodate one of the delicious puddings. Through the week menus are equally as good. Lasagne to die for. A ggod and varied menu :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner wanted to go to Kielder for his birthday so I was tasked with finding a B&B for his present - I liked the look of the Pheasant so much that we went away for the night before rather than the my partner's actual night birthday as they were fully booked (his birthday is tonight - a Saturday). From... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time to leave your review it takes time and effort to write these and it is appreciated . I am delighted you both enjoyed the birthday treat. We look forward to welcoming you again. More

Middlesbrough
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I have just returned after a 2 night stay for his 50th birthday. We had a fantastic time and cannot praise this place enough. From check in, to check out every thing was perfect. All the staff are so friendly and welcoming especially Karen. Robin the owner is such a nice guy too and we had the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. Delighted Gary enjoyed his birthday weekend, 64 was a good vintage. I am fortunate to have some great people to help me run the Pheasant and Karen is a real gem. I enjoyed our chat and will continue to search for the secret behind the perfect fried egg. Till the next time thank you... More

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just had our 3rd visit to the Pheasant Inn staying for 3 nights and it was just as enjoyable as the previous ones, the food is always good as is the service, yes it gets busy but what do you expect when the establishment is so popular. Relaxed dining I would call it but booking in the busy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you once again for taking time to leave a review. Not everyone posts reviews even when they have had a wonderful time and that's fine, but we do appreciate those that do. We look forward to welcoming you back. More

Worthing
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had booked this Inn for 2 nights as we were touring the area and visiting the Observatory. We can't recommend the Pheasant Inn enough! Rooms spotlessly clean, food just what was wanted, served piping hot and just on time as we finished the courses. There is a great choice of drinks available, especially if you like Scotch - too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive experience. It is so rewarding to know when guests have enjoyed their stay and that they appreciate all the work the staff put in to ensure each and every customer's holiday is a memorable one. Thanks also for choosing the Pheasant Inn for your short break, we hope... More

Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

To begin with it wasn't a warm welcome but we stayed as we had searched for somewhere that served a Sunday Dinner next to where we were staying, it looked promising from the outside and advertised Good Food! I was slightly put off by the price I was paying for a Sunday Dinner which was £13.95 but I don't mind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Firstly I would like to make it clear that you dined with us on a Sunday evening given that the price was £13.95. Our Sunday lunch price is £10.95 for the Sunday roast. I am disappointed that you feel that you were not offered a warm welcome but as you have not provided any reasons... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Even a 1 for service is too good , abysmal service from the moment we walked in , we wanted a table for 4 , bar staff looked at us as if we were from Mars , told that one table was reserved for someone who likes to come in and use his iPad , and another table was reserved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are extremely busy at the moment serving between 60 and 70 diners each evening and unfortunately if you have not made a reservation, on many nights we simply are unable to offer you a table. Having spoken to the girls, I have established that you had not made a reservation, but you were in... More

London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We toured Northumberland and stayed in 4 hotels during the week and this was the overall best one. It is a traditional farmhouse converted into a country pub/hotel in 1985 with at least 8 rooms to my knowledge. It is family run and is all the better for it. Walking in to the bar is a pleasure just for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time to review the Pheasant, delighted you enjoyed your time with us while touring Northumberland. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

This is our fourth time here. 28th and 29th August. 2014. As good as ever. Very friendly and efficient owner and staff.Comfortable rooms overlooking a lovely garden courtyard. Great food with an ever changing menu. Breakfast too was excellent, will be back for sure. Blair Thomson, Anne MacDonald. Glasgow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review great to see you back again. More

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is a great little pub to stay in if you want to walk or cycle around Kielder Water. The food was excellent. We booked in for bed and breakfast and they automatically reserve you a table to eat in the evening if you wish. e ate there both evenings, food was excellent. Staff were friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave your review, delighted you enjoyed your break with us. More

Do you own or manage The Pheasant Inn?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Stannersburn NE48 1DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Stannersburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Hotel Stannersburn

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Pheasant Inn

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby