We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Stannersburn NE48 1DD, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Pheasant Inn
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Blackpool, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Pheasant Inn is perfectly located just a few minutes’ drive from the south end of Kielder reservoir. It maintains much of its 16th century inn character whilst being homely and comfortable. Rooms are in an annexe next to the main inn building that look to have originally been old farm outbuildings. Our room was simply furnished with white furniture... More 

Helpful?
Thank Worslesr
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us and we hope to see you again! More 

E.lothian
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night prior to our sporting activities the following day. We ate Dinner in the bar, which was well served and presented. The rooms were well appointed and had all you required, and also excepted our 4 legged friends. I am usually critical about a Restaurant / Accommodation being an Ex Hotelier.....but on this occasion there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank northerngolfers
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback and kind words. As an ex-hotelier you will also appreciate how hard it is to maintain a good standard and to ensure all customers enjoy their stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your first experience of the Pheasant Inn and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good accommodation with delicious breakfast. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. We look forward to another visit. Have recommended the Pheasant to friend, making special mention of the lamb and the steak pie

Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
Robin K, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, so pleased to read that you enjoyed your break and the food. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

Morpeth
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We love this place, and visit as often as we can. The staff are so lovely, so friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are lovely, and beds really comfy. Plenty of storage for clothes etc. All en-suite shower. TV and ethernet free internet in room, free wifi in bars and restaurant. Breakfast lovely, great selection. Fruit, cereals,... More 

Helpful?
Thank jvmerlin
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you once again for your heart warming review. It is always a pleasure to welcome our regular customers back again. We are aware that we are only as good as your last visit and never take it for granted. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our second stay at this beautiful Inn was all we knew it would be. It has everything you could possibly want for a relaxing stay. The hospitality is outstanding, the food is superb and the setting is beautiful. IDEAL location if you are planning to visit the Kielder Observatory. We were two couples and we were delighted to be the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoodsons
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks to the Goodson's for taking the time to leave a review of Garden Cottage together with the Pheasant Inn! Great to hear you enjoyed your New Year's break and we are obviously delighted with your kind words and positive feedback as you were our first residents in Garden Cottage. We are hoping that for longer stays, the flexibility... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first visit but it will not be our last. All the staff were very friendly and alongside the excellent food and a clean and tidy room it made for a fantastic time to this part of the world.Well worth a visit even if you just have a pint of their well looked after beer. We went to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the observatory team are a very enthusiastic crew. Hope to see you again. More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

Arrived here Friday and checked in before going to the observatory. The staff were always friendly and very helpful. Our room was lovely and had an amazing view. Food was very nice along with the roaring fires and baileys. We will definitely be back as its the best location for a complete get away.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl A
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, next time you need to escape we hope to see you. More 

Au, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

A lovely family welcoming inn. Warming real fireplace and the lamb is amazing 😋 the bar staff are super friendly and lovely. I need to come back here in the summer to appreciate this beautiful hidden location. My parents brought me here for the first time in the worst weather conditions ever ! Sticky toffee pudding is to die for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pepe W
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review. We do appreciate you struggling to get here for lunch in perhaps the worst weather we have seen. Hope you were able to get through the floods on the way home. Thanks again. More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Nice tidy place,ample safe parking,room was very comfortable.evening meal was very tasty,only downside there was no children's menu.The bar was nice and warm and full,Real ale added bonus!Good breakfast menu.

Helpful?
Thank IanBisset
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to leave us a review. delighted you enjoyed your break. When the weather is like this a cosy night in the bar some good beer and the fires on is a good idea. Although we don't have a children's menu as such we will always offer small portions of most dishes on the blackboards. Thanks again. More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

Arrived at The Pheasant Inn after a long day driving up to the Kielder Observatory to try and see their "Aurora (Borealis) Night " but being unwell and missing the Northern Lights ...we were not in the best of spirits..........BUT Lovely Welcome from the Staff, beautiful, cosy, warm Bedroom.. and then a lovely Dinner in their Restaurant... Food was wonderful...... More 

Helpful?
Thank BabsandJim
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . Great to hear you enjoyed stay and hope to see you again when you make the move North. Thanks again More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stannersburn
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
0.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
0.0 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay