We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Stannersburn B&Bs / inns

The Pheasant Inn

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Stannersburn NE48 1DD, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Pheasant Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Pheasant Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Stannersburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Christine H London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    53
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
39
197
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (315)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

After visiting the inn to dine many times over the past 27 years we finally got to stay the night and were not disappointed. Room (4) very comfortable, beds excellent and bathroom immaculate. Have been in a lot worse accommodation in so called 'top' hotels. Bar so traditional and cosy with gleaming brasses. Had a very enjoyable meal (sea bass... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here overnight because of a visit to Kielder Observatory. Rooms are all in converted buildings to side of inn with pretty garden court yard. Bedroom comfortable and bathroom well fitted but both looking a little tired now as seem to have been refurbished some time ago. Food all good home made fare and excellent real ales. Staff very friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review. delighted you enjoyed your night with us. Hope to see you again. More

Newcastle
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only stayed one night (sadly) but a really enjoyable experience. Warm welcome, lovely, comfortable room, great menu backed up by delicious food beautifully cooked and presented by friendly and helpful staff. Good wine list and some excellent local beer. Oh, and the surrounding scenery is pretty stunning too! We will definitely be back - providing not too many people have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review. we are always pleased to hear a guest has enjoyed their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. More

Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a week here and could have stayed a year! A very warm welcome to this inn with good accommodation (comfortable beds and excellent facilities). A splendid menu with plenty of choice from foods excellently cooked and served - all washed down with good quality wines or ales. Brilliant atmosphere amongst diners. Great place for visiting Kielder Water, Kielder Castle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review, delighted you enjoyed your stay. The observatory goes from strength to strength with ambitious plans for the Planetarium and a one metre telescope which means you will have to come again. Thanks again More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well we have heard so much about this place. We had to visit and right from the start were made clear we were the ones doing them the favour. "We are very busy you know!!!!" Mmm. I think with that attitude it might be short lived. Some lovely folk in the place. Interesting menu. Nothing earth shattering. My son had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review all feedback is welcome. Firstly I am disappointed to read that you didn't feel you received a warm welcome and we apologise for that but I honestly believe this is one of our strengths. Your comments are in the main positive. "Good but not as good as they think they are" would seem to suggest... More

Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We did only visit here for a meal and not a stay - unfortunately . We had been glam ping in the area and was advised to try this little gem . It was a unique English pad with fabulous things to look at and the food blew us away . A must x

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. Great to hear you enjoyed your evening with us and I hope you enjoyed your break glam ping under the stars. More

Jarrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Having spent the day walking around the reservoir and up to the observatory ,we were welcomed by Robin and shown to our room.It was warm and welcoming ,the bed was perfect and the bathroom was modern clean and quality toiletries were provided. We enjoyed an exceptional dinner ,washed down with some perfect real ale and the restaurant/ bar team made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. More

Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We booked for two nights as part of our tour of Northumberland. The hotel forms part of the hamlet of Stannersburn and is well located for Kielder and surrounding attractions. Talking to other guests many are regulars who like the friendly atmosphere and location. We were very, very, impressed with the friendliness of owners and staff and the very high... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for you review, sometimes I like to take a little longer to respond to reviews that may be a little more critical so I can be more objective. I'm pleased you found the Pheasant so friendly and welcoming, we have a great team who try so very hard to ensure you enjoy your stay. We are a small... More

northumberland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We decided to have a short break before Christmas and booked the Pheasant Inn because we wanted an overnight stay at Kielder. we arrived and found very helpful friendly staff. we found our room was immaculate, clean and a good size. bathroom was immaculately clean with nice shampoo accessories etc. Towels all fresh and clean. Bed was incredibly comfortable and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It's always nice to hear from our guests that they have enjoyed their stay. Hopefully we can welcome you back sometime in the near future! More

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of August/beginning of September. Great room, warm, comfortable with a massive bed and en suite. Lovely little touches with the shampoo, tissues and delicious biscuits which were replaced as required. Fabulous meals, beautifully cooked by Robin. Peaceful and beautiful surroundings, cannot praise The Pheasant and it's staff highly enough. Booked after seeing it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robinkershaw, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Hello Bikers, many thanks for taking time to leave us a review. Delighted you enjoyed your break with us, look forward to seeing you again. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Stannersburn NE48 1DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Stannersburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Hotel Stannersburn

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Near The Pheasant Inn

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby