We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Cuthbert's House

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
192 Main St. | North Sunderland, Seahouses NE68 7UB, England
Special Rate
Celebrate with us!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Cuthbert's House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St. Cuthbert's House
Rate this Hotel

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
357
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (464)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (192)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (140)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from our first visit and we were delighted with this place. Communication before our weekend visit was excellent; several emails confirming bookings, advising me of which room might be best and then reminding me of the date with directions and updates on roadworks en route. This helped ensure our break was well planned and all questions answered before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

Thanks for your comprehensive review. It's good to get feedback about things which we pay a lot of attention to, like pre-arrival communications. We're pleased you enjoyed the concert too, and hope that you will return! More 

Guisborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second visit to St Cuthbert's House. This time the reason was to see an acoustic guitar player, Tony McManus - who played two inspiring sets, in the lounge area of the house. Wonderful evening and relaxing stay. A place to put on your list, if it is not fully booked!

Was this review helpful? Yes
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your return visit - and the music! Thanks for your review. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second stay at St Cuthbert's House and it did not disappoint. Jeff and Jill had set the bar high last time but our expectations were met and surpassed. Everything about St Cuthbert's House is first class and it is clear why there are so many awards from the hospitality industry in the lobby! A big thank you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

Great - so pleased you enjoyed your return visit, and we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

This was our fifth visit to St Cuthberts House and the second Valentines weekend break. Peter says I shouldn't write a good review for St Cuthbert's House because if too many people know what a spotless,comfortable, relaxing and fabulous place this is, we won't be able to go anymore because it will be fully booked all the time. Jeff and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

It gives us real encouragement when guests want to return, and it's so lovely to have you back so regularly! Valentine weekend is always a special occasoin, and we're glad you enjoyed it again. We'l always do everythign we can to fit our regular guests in! ;-) Thanks for your review. More 

nottm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We had a short break with Jeff and Jill in order to see the area; what a most warm and welcoming couple. On arrival they helped us find and booked for us the most beautiful restaurant and a local pizzeria which was also good. The B&B itself is beautiful; a converted chapel with all its history and quaintness we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for your review! More 

Bisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Having never visited Northumberland we wanted a good base to explore the area. What a treat we were in for. Jeff and Jill Sutheran had a wonderful warm welcome for us at St Cuthbert's House. The rooms are warm and welcoming with very comfortable beds and stylish bathrooms. The extensive selection of local bottled ales available in the main sitting/... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. The best compliment you can pay us is to return - but to book your next stay before you leave, having extended the present one, is up there with the best! We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Jeff and Jill's renovated church. We felt very much at home and enjoyed the delicious breakfast in the morning. Room upstairs was very comfortable and quiet but do not expect any views to speak of. The location is in a quiet little village with a few restaurants - Jeff was happy to make reservations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Lovely place to stay, clean tidy room with everything you need and the breakfast was delicious with local produce, could not have been more welcoming even for just our one night stay for a wedding. Lovely people and would definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

We're pleased you enjoyed your brief stay, and hope you'll come back! More 

Ayrshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Only managed one night but would have loved to stay more. Our host and hostess were very welcoming. Everything you could need was at hand. Nothing seemed a bother and breakfast was delicious. The building itself had amazing ambience but do not expect magnificent views. Local eating was super.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

We're pleased you enjoyed your short stay, thanks for your review. More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

What an amazing location, beautiful room, delicious food and fantastic, welcoming and helpful hosts! We loved everything about both St Cuthbert's and Seahouses. Not only will we be back but we are planning on bringing two sets of parents too ! You couldn't ask for more. Thank you Jeff and Jill for such a great holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We look forward to seeing you again - with parents in tow :-) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question